We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I don't know where to start. Ok, here we go. (1) when I checked in I was told by the front desk that I have to put down a $200 deposit (mind you after paying in full for the hotel) or else I can't check in. (2) I got charged $10 a day for housekeeping, I was there for two wks and I only had housekeeping in my room ONE TIME. Yes, only ONCE. (3) the so called kitchen was terrible. Small and terrible. (4) we couldn't use the toilet except for peeing cuz it was clogged at all times. (5) The sofa bed was awful. The sofa itself was ugly, rundown, just awful. (6) everything in the bar was EXPENSIVE I paid $5 or $6 for a sprite, and mind you they don't take cash everything was billed to your room. The only good thing about this place was the laundry cause it was FREE!!! All you needed was your own laundry detergent.

Room Tip: In my opinion, the only good rooms were the suites with the two or three bedrooms, the two baths, an...
See more room tips
Green Features: Read everything before booking it. The pics are not enough.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

We are sorry that that was your experience. We try hard to communicate all Resort fees and deposits with-in your conformation letter as well as our web site. Please let us know how you made your reservation so we can insure that information is communicated correctly.

We are always happy to address any cleaning and maintenance concerns through our 24 hour customer service department. I was able to verify that our soda drinks are $2.00.

Thank you for the review,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    715
    342
    165
    160
See reviews for
1,112
504
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My MIL booked 2 separate 3 bedrooms for our family of 10. The rooms were nice but I wasn't a fan of having my children so close to the door. We didn't spend much time there as we were busy with Disney World and Seaworld. We did manage to catch a magic show the first day which the kids loved and dinner. The last day was spent by the pool which is nice. There was a lady set up selling FAKE Michael Kors bags. I assume the resort is aware they are fakes and don't care. The grounds are nice and the 4th of July celebration was fun. Overall this place is nice but I wouldn't buy anything from vendors by the pool.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gnatc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and the surrounding property.

We look forward to your return,

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

As we checked in we found that their was a descrepency in our room type that we originally requested when we called Wyndham for vacation planning. I had 8 people in my party with 6 being children and the front desk attendant "Amanda" was extremely helpful and managed to get us a room that could fit my whole family. The premises were awesome and great for children, we appreciated the convienence store, and we loved the bouncy house set-up for additional play for our kids. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for the nice review. We are very happy to hear that Amanda was able to help you with your reservation and you were happy with your stay. The comfort & safety of our guests are of the utmost importance to us.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This "so-called" cashless resort ended up nickling and diming us with ridiculous charges that are nornally free at reputable resorts.

Despite the $200 hold on our credit card, several things could not be charged to our room.

$10 (borrow a game for the day)

$5 (5-7 minutes of internet use at the business center - 2 computers in a hallway)

$5 (to play 2 sub-standard arcade games!!)

$20 (Arts and Crafts!!)

$10 (fees for activites on the resort that are normally free)

Adults are allowed to smoke in the family dinner area (dining patio) next to kids and toddlers while flies attack you and your food.

There are no real restaurants/dining options at the resort, so unless you like fried frozen food options (chicken fingers, fried frozen fish or greasy egg rolls) you are stuck loading up on the limited Gift Shop items that are conceniently overpriced.

When I spoke with a manager (Michael), he said he was sorry but he did not feel there was anything he could do to make our stay more pleasant. He said that's the way they do business and felt the resort did nothing wrong.

The time share center offered me gifts, cancelled my appointment then offered me a consolation gift card that required me to pay up to $100 in dining to receive $25 - $50 back. How is this an incentive or gift?

The manager offered me a late check out so I could apparently torture myself more at this resort.

I will never stay here again. It is a money pit. The front desk management does not value their guests. The resort contracts out certain services which forces guests to pay fees or otherwise be inconvenienced.

If you are used to reputable time share resorts and their amenities, do not stay here. Run for the hills.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MADESQ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good afternoon MADESQ2,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your information. It is important to us that our prices are competitive and our guest are satisfied with our services. We do require a $200.00 deposit at check-in which should have been communicated when you made your reservation. The $10.00 deposit for games should have been refunded when you return the games and we do have the stuff a bear activity is $20.00 with an available $5.00 coupon inside the activity guide. All other arts & crafts are $5.00 and all pool side activities are free. We do offer wireless internet at no charge if you bring your computer, if you wish to use the business center computer there is a charge.
We will certainly review the remainder of your concerns.
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was staying at this resort for the first time and was greeted by welcoming, friendly faces. During my one week stay, I was due to have to change rooms three times. The manager, Sobiesky Toro, made it possible for me to stay in my same room the entire time. This was a wonderful beginning to my vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tehara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you Tehara H for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that your accommodations worked out so well and we will pass on the compliment to the manager, Sobiesky Toro.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and i went to Star Island for our honeymoon 7 years ago. We come back every year because this place is THAT amazing. We love Star Island for all its many activties, pools, good drinks, and amazing staff. Everyone is soooo polite and helpful, and not to mention that this place is gorgeous!!! We just got back from spending almost a week here and I never want to leave. Believe me, whatever you're looking for, you will find it here.

Room Tip: I absolutely love the jr suite with the jacuzzi. The bed if HUGE with mirrors and a huge jacuzzi rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieBoop07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you SuzieBoop07 for the great review. Happy Anniversary to you and your husband and we are very happy that you enjoy spending it at Star Island! Yes, we have many wonderful activities for you to enjoy. I will pass in the nice compliment to our staff members.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and the supervisor in the front desk Sobiesky was there always to help us out with any inconvenience.
THe outdoors are beatiful, as the room we get with the jacuzzi beside the bed.

I recomend this resort !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanRic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you JuanRic0 for the nice review. We are happy to hear that you had good service from our employees and Sobiesky at the front desk. We will pass this information on to the managers. We will look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing