We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EH!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #24 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EH!!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This resort had a nice campus and the lobby was okay! I do have to say that the pictures online are not representative of the true size of this resort! It makes you think that this is a huge resort while it really isn't all that large! The staff was okay but some of the desk personnel were quite confusing with their directions. It was okay but it wasn't terrible!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ListenToMe717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good Afternoon ListenToMe717,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback. Star Island does have flyers, at the front desk, with directions on them for coming and going to the resort. I apologize that the directions were confusing for all.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    773
    391
    188
    179
See reviews for
1,269
549
43
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DFW, TX
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just spent a week at Star Island, and was pleased with the experience. Smooth check-in, despite it being VERY BUSY. Staff was courteous and efficient. The B side rooms are very large and comfortable, with the exception of a TERRIBLE sleeper sofa, which no one can sleep on, due to the wafer thin mattress. Washer and dryer in unit is very convenient and woke flawlessly. However, the ice maker didn't work at all. Everything was immaculate, except that something had been spilled in the freezer and not cleaned. That was easy to wipe out, though. We were in building 18, and there was never a parking spot, when returning late from Disney parks. Had to park a few buildings away, but that wasn't really bad. People did smoke, outside their units. We could smell the smoke, when walking to the elevator. There was a drawer that was almost non-functional, but with as much storage as there was available, one drawer was not a big deal. I would gladly stay here again. After seeing some negative reviews, I was a little leery. It was a great relief to see just how nice this place was. We didn't make use of any of the activities, as we were at Disney, every day. We made a quick trip around to see everything. It is just as pictured on the resort's website, photo gallery. Our room was exactly as pictured. Not sure how people could be disappointed with this resort, unless other buildings are not like 18.

Room Tip: 'B' rooms are larger, have full kitchen, washer, dryer. Walls seem a bit thin. We were dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethKDfw_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you BethKDfw_Tx for taking the time to write a positive review. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the freezer and the parking situation.We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and visiting Disney. Maybe next time you will enjoy some of the activities at Star Island. :)

Thank you again,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimee
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wyndham Vacation resort has great customer service and employees. I booked a room online and when i arrived at Star Island i did not like the room. Sobiesky the supervisor was kind and helped me get another room. This is why i love Wyndham and encourage others to buy into it. Thanks Sobiesky for a wonderful experience at Star Island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you Priscilla P for taking the time to to write a review. We are happy to hear that Sobiesky was able to accommodate your request to change your room . I will pass on your kind words about Sobiesky to the managers.

Happy Anniversary to you and your husband,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

as soon as you drive in you can tell this is an upscale resort!!
our room in building 20 was huge. big enough for 10 adults!
WE HAD A clean and fully stocked kitcheN.
I CANT BELIEVE HOW PEOPLE COULD write NEGATIVE things about this resort.
we were most of the time at disney world but at night all the kids enjoyed the clean pool area which was opened until 11pm.
wifi was free fast and very convenient
master bath and bedroom was very elegant. the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: building 20 was away from the noisy pool and bar we had a beautiful view of a lake with ducks.
See more room tips
Green Features: the property was well kept and had ducks all over.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sag72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you sag72 for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the pool, WiFi and your accommodations.

We hope to see you again,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is my mom's 'home resort' and she isn't impressed, she feels it has gone downhill. We had to switch rooms the first was dirty. Then the second had no balcony, The bathroom smelled heavily of cigarette smoke and the room looked worn. The pool area was okay. Best thing about the place was the bar and its staff. They were awesome! They had a variety of activities throughout the day and drink specials that were actually affordable. Overall it was okay. We would stay again with Wyndham points ONLY if we couldn't find another resort using our points and we would ask to stay in a different building.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good Afternoon Christine H,

We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank you for making us aware as this is a non-smoking resort. We are happy that you did enjoy our activities.

Thank you again,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Star Island. The unit was clean and comfortable and more than large enough to accommodate 4 kids and 2 adults. The kids greatly enjoyed the amenities such as the tennis courts, mini golf, etc... I enjoyed the pool area that was pretty clean for the most part. My biggest complaints about the pool area is the slippery deck and rambunctious kids. There was no one to curb their behavior-not a parent or a staff member. At least I saw the deck area being cleaned while we were there because of people slipping as they walked around the pool- even in flip flops. The only unpleasant people I came across were in the gift shop. They were not wearing Star Island logo clothing so I am not sure if this is a privately run store but they were downright rude and extremely slow. Anther time I did see other employees in the shop wearing logo clothing so I am unsure of the situation in there but it was not pleasant.

With so much to do and such comfortable accommodations I would definitely look into returning here again with my family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you GatorGirl76 for taking the time to write the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the activities at Star Island. We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the slippery deck around the pool during your stay. This is certainly not our Star Island standards. We will have our maintenance team look into these issues to eliminate any future occurrences. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so.

thank you again,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I booked 2 nights for our anniversary weekend. At the time of booking we did not know that this was a time share property as there was nothing that stated it online. Upon checking we were told that there was a 90 minute presentation requirement and we needed to schedule what time was best for us to attend. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was just like the pictures online. No complaints about the room or the customer service provided. I did not like that the 90 minute presentation ended up taking up our whole Saturday afternoon. Needless to say the guy picked us up at 12:30pm and drove us to another resort in the Disney property and did not bring us back until 6:00pm. After being bombarded with their high pressure Sales Represntatives who would not take NO for an answer. We were really disappointed and would not go back to any timeshare resorts. We didn't even get to enjoy the pool or any of the amenities on the property. I would really have appreciated if they would inform you that this is a timeshare before booking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoto0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola R, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you loved our hotel accommodations. I am sorry about the misunderstanding in regards to the 90 minute tour, it is not a requirement for guests to attend this tour. I wish you could have spent some time enjoying all the amenities offered here on property. I appreciate your feedback as well and will be sure to share it with our Executive Management team to address this issue. I hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Paola Rivera
privera@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#152 of 339 in Orlando
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#17 of 152 in Kissimmee
596 reviews
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing