We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience with manager (Doug)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Island Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible experience with manager (Doug)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

I have traveled all over the world to various hotels and never once have I had such a bad experience. I have been to several Marriott's which I love, as well as various Sheraton and Wyndam properties. This property is a decent property but fairly old looking. The only thing that I enjoyed was the karaoke. Very amusing as well as entertaining. Loved it, Loved it!! However, after I returned from my trip I recieved several charges on my credit card that were not authorized by me. I contacted the manager Doug and he informed me that there was a cleaning expense. (Well why am I paying maintenance fees?) I think that they just wanted to steel money! Buyers be aware. I am filing a law suit because it is the principle of the matter. Hopefully they will learn there lesson not to do this to anyone else. I would not recommend this resort to my dog. Although I had an unfortunate situation the rooms were pretty roomy. But that didn't matter once I recieved that surprising bill.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovely101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    712
    340
    165
    160
See reviews for
1,108
504
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

We have owned at Star Island since 1998 and we love it! After paying $1,200.00 for just a 2 queen size beds and bath in florida for a week it sucked!!!! . So that's when we bought at Star Island. We have A & B sides.
The last time we came it was new years eve 06-07 brought two of our daughters and 3 grandsons and had a blast and it was in the 70's & 80's the whole week!! Great location too!!! It's great for 2 or 10 people.
The only thing I wish they had is a kennel or something for your pets.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funinthesun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

Place was nice decor was typical Florida, florals and pinks etc. We had a 3 bedroom unit which I think was a lockoff unit. Tv in every room plenty of privacy not bad at all. Kitchen lacked storage space and the a/c was a little touchy but otherwise it wass nice. Resort itself had plenty of activities , a spa , food, etc.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Check in smooth and easy. Room fantastic. Appliances a little dated, but maintenance response super excellent.
Loved the two person jacuzzi in the room. I had to work a few days during our two week stay and the WIFI in the room was good and dependable and extended to the resort pool. Able to work poolside as long as the laptop battery stayed charged.

We booked our two weeks separately, and after contacting the resort a few weeks out, they arranged so that we stayed in the same condo both weeks. Not need to move was great. Good cleaning after the first week was free. Towel exchange mid week was free also.

We will go back to this resort over and over.

  • Liked — Great furniture, two-person jacuzzi, service response
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PatinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, IN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

This appeared to be a very, very nice place to stay. We had time to kill between checkout from previous lodgings to check-in at Star Island Resort, so they allowed us access to the pool facilities. In the few hours we were there, we were quite impressed. Lovely pool area, helpful staff, even the guests were friendly!! They announced activities and events numerous times for children while we were there, so it appears to be a very family oriented resort.

We booked through a travel membership club and had requested a full kitchen. When we arrived, our room only had a miniature microwave and mini-fridge. Because it was race week the resort was booked so we couldn't switch to a unit with a kitchen. Although the room was not suitable for our needs, it appeared to be clean and in good shape. Any complaints we had concerning our reservations were not with Star Island Resort, but with the travel membership club through whom we booked!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGtravelALOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield mo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

We traded our timeshare to stay at Star Island. I too was a little worried as I read some bad reviews after I booked the vacation. We were volunteering in Tampa at Super Bowl week, so we had to drive to Tampa everyday, it was well worth the drive staying at Star Island. Sure the accomadation look a little out dated but they were fine.(most time shares furnishings look outdated to me anyway). The resort was beautiful, lots to do, we were pleasantly surprised. We had no problems all the staff was very freindly. We had a small pond outside our room off the back deck, it was great, the ducks came up to see us everytime we were out there. We will stay there again!

  • Liked — jaccuzi tub
  • Disliked — a little outdated
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freebyrd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

Beautiful Resort. Star Island is like a little world onto its own. A private road in off a busy corridor and you come to a resort on an island away from the hussle and bustle. We liked the guarded entrance which makes you feel safe and secure in your own little world. Check in was fast and smooth. The villas are three stories so if you are not on the main floor you may have to carry your luggage up a flight or two (be prepared, or request main floor if you can) . Villas are very quiet, soundproofing is great, you can't tell anyone is in the same building as yourself. Our one bedroom villa is very large and spacious. Balcony with walkout from living room and bedroom. Very large jacuzzi partially surrounded by mirrors, shower stall on it's own, double sink area and then the toilet in a small room for privacy. Otherwise, the bath, shower, sink area are all in the bedroom. Bed is partially surrounded by mirrors, lots of drawer and closet space for two people for a one weeks holiday. Kitchen is well stocked for cooking and large dining room with space for six people. I liked the fact that we had a dishwasher, washer and dryer which cuts down on work. Spacious living room has comfortable furniture and with the walkout balcony that also has table and chairs helps to expand your living space.
The pools are beautiful and they have a great area for children to play and swim, even sandy playground with umberellas for parents to sit under.
Lots of programs during the day including making your own stuffed toy for a keepsake. Every night there is something such as a barbeque, pizza night, Italian food night, etc and they have karokee for people who love to sing or just listen, and of course they have happy hour. Something for everyone.
There would be no reason you would not feel comfortable and safe in this well organized resort. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank ptmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#23 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing