We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the reviews!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is our third time at Silver Lake (we alternate between here and Orange Lake-due to timeshare agreement) and obviously read up on all the reviews and not quite sure how some people had the experience they write about. Arrived for a 4.30pm check-in after flying from the UK. Very polite and friendly front desk staff - passed over all information and sent to 'concierge' desk for parking pass. Asked if we wanted to join the timeshare breakfast, offered passes, discounts etc but said we had it covered and with a friendly goodbye that was that-no pressure to join in or attend and not a peep heard from them. Arrived at 2 bed apartment on 5th floor of 1800 building and though we'd been warned about building work was a little concerned to be facing the building site but room were so lovely that we stuck with it. Beautifully appointed rooms, modern lounge/dining area with flat screen TV. Full kitchen with washer/dryer. Large master suite with hot tub, double sink area and separate shower area. Apartment was for 6 so had more than enough supplies - these were replenished during the mid-week clean, which was complimentary. Very clean and tidy throughout, furnishings all seemed new. Truth be told, builders did start turning up about 6.45am but since this was the time we were getting up (to be at parks for opening) it didn't matter - all we heard was the occasional reverse beeping from lorries and certainly not enough noise to warrant complaining. Resort is nicely laid out with an excellent second exit that leads to a back route to Disney. We used a smaller, more quiet pool which suited us but on occasion walked through main pool area which had a nice bar and seating area. Though not used we loved the fact the resort had a cinema and games room...I believe there is a gym but since my holiday consisted of a daily portion of pancakes that was last on my mind. On check out staff were once again friendly and polite. Though this doesn't have the 'show' or sheer size of Orange Lake it really is just a point or two away from being pretty much near perfect. Well worth going to and I highly recommend the resort, facilities and staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herts-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    415
    135
    70
    62
See reviews for
750
257
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Silver Lake was awesome! Like a hidden gem... you cannot see it from the road (192) and if you didn't know it existed... you wouldn't know it was there! The room was FANTASTIC! Big with full kitchen and living room. Like a home away from home. With the beautiful greenery all around.. you wouldn't even know you were in the heart of Central Florida! It is very relaxing and peaceful... every staff member I encountered were nice, friendly and professional. They offered a variety of activities and many more than most other resorts I have stayed. The pool was great... with music and activities and the cabana bar was so convenient and offered so much more than the usually "tiki bar". I would highly recommend Silver Lake Resort... as it is sort of a hidden secret with everything you need right at your fingertips... plus you are nearby everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, NB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We visited this resort for one week (May 9 - 16). As a family of 6, we are used to cramped quarters when staying at hotels and resorts. Fortunately for us, Silver Lake has 3 bedroom suites that accommodate a family of our size very comfortably.

We booked our accommodations using an RCI certificate that we purchased online. The cost of the certificate is just under $200. When we booked, we took the upgrade to the 3 bedroom suite at an additional cost of just over $200, making the total cost of accommodations approximately $400.

As I stated above, the accommodations were incredible. The suite was on the ground floor of the 80 building, and while we were concerned about the security of being on the ground floor, it was never an issue. The suite was laid out in such a way as to have you enter a door from the corridor, and enter an entryway consisting of two other locked doors. One soor led to a spacious two bedroom suite, consisting of two self-contained bedrooms with king sized beds. One bedroom had an ensuite bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and a shower. The other bedroom was accross form a second bathroom with a normal tub. There was also a large sitting area and a full kitchen. The second room was a one bedroom unit with a kitchenette and a bathrrom as well as a sitting are. Both rooms contained a pull-out couch which increased available sleeping capacity to a comfortable 10 people.

The location of the resort is directly off of route 192 in Kissimee. The property backs onto Disney Animal Kingdom and is approximately 10-15 minutes from other Disney properties and 20-25 minutes from Sea World and Universal properties.

Check in was relatively painless, though we had to wait 2 hours for our room to become available (4:00 PM is check in time). We were stopped at the security gate when we arrived, but were able to proceed to the reception center immediately after they confirmed our reservation.

There were many activities available for the kids (and the adults) daily. There are multiple pools on the property (we stuck mostly to the main pool). There is a large entertainment center with video games, a TV and supervisory staff. There is a movie theater which runs movies twice daily (5:00 and 7:00 PM). There are tennis and basketball courts as well as shuffleboard. A list of activities is provided and is updated in the entertainment center.

The one downside to the entire vacation was the timeshare presentation. I understand the because we used RCI to book the vacation, there is an expectation that we would indulge the timeshare presentation, but this went over the top. We were told that there was breakfast served, and that we should bring the kids (ages 10-17). Breakfast was a selection of cereals and cold bagels. Once we had a bite to eat, the presenter made it clear that the kids were a nuicance and he put the run to them, so that we could have his full attention. This started a 2 hour session of the most fundamentally flawed economics lessons that I have ever been privy to. After being told over and over again that since we take family vacations, we HAD to buy into this property, and that since the resort was 85% sold out, they did not need our business, so we were free to decline (but for two hours we could not get the presenter to give us even a ballpark figure to see if we could even consider it). When the talk finally turned to the investment committment, it became clear that we could not afford the 43K procetag. After bringing in the closer, we firmly declined the offer, and we were, in my estimation, escorted out of the room by an angry presenter, who made it clear that we had wasted his time (No sh%$ sherlock, we told you that before you started!!). We did recieve two discounted park passes for our time.

All in all, this was a great home base for our family vacation. The central location was ideal, and the accommodations were perfect for our large family. There were no surprises at check in and no unexpected charges at check out. I highly recommend this resort for your family or couples vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maritimer_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just wrapped up a very hot week in the Orlando area. The pools were lovely and not very crowded as we were there during an off week. The grounds were very well kept and the housekeeping and maintenance staff very friendly. Overall it was a nice property and we would return without hesitation.

However...
~The check in process was quick and easy, but once they directed you to Guest Services, you could feel the undertone of the timeshare sales effort. I had read about the pressure to attend a free (sales pitch) breakfast and opted to steer clear of it. We received one written note and two phone calls reminding us of the free breakfast. We were not interested in buying so no matter the discounts they were willing to offer at local theme parks, we did not attend.
~The housekeeping and maintenance staff get around the resort on golf carts. I had a problem with the fact that during the day they parked in all the prime parking spots near the front doors of the various buildings. That just didn't seem right as guests shouldn't be made to park in the next parking area over.
~Most parking spots around the reception area and the main pool were all reserved for the resort staff. This I found particularly offensive as they put their staff ahead of their guests. What happened to staff parking lots away from the main guest areas? Once again, they were making their guests walk.
~We were in the 800 building away from everything at the end of the hall. Our view was of the back gate, Sherberth Road and a big Disney parking lot. But it didn't matter as we were not there for the view from the condo. However we were placed next to a big family who then had more family across the hall. Since these suites share main doors and break off into A & B units inside...we heard them coming and going at all hours...loudly. Babies crying, kids screaming, doors banging, parents yelling. It would have been nice to not be sandwiched between these two families who were there together.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room, away from the construction happening on Black Lake Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverwood521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We reserved a one bedroom (sleeps 4) but barley 2 people can move in this room. Bathroom was very small, you couldn't even but a toiletry bag on the counter. No room to place even one suitcase. We asked for another room but could not be accommodated unless we spent an additional $350 per week. Had other family members who booked after us and got decent rooms. No one was willing even to TRY to help us. Just smiles....and "I'm Sorry" I asked for customer surveys and got 2 separate cards that were not related. They really didn't want me to rate this place??? In a nutshell, it all depends on the room you get. Make sure that you can change if you get one of these "booby prize" rooms. If there is a way in advance to see the type you room you are getting, it would be to your advantage.

On the positive side, tThe pool was very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get room 1861 B !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy123456789014218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked a 2 week stay. Had a one bedroom/full kitchen. It was great. The resort had a lot to offer. to both adults and kids. The staff was excellent. They were very helpful and always friendly. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were there for a girls getaway. The resort was very nice, clean, great pool and the apt. was very convenient. Full kitchen, washer, dryer, jetted tub, separate shower. Can't say anything bad about that. BUT....if you came here to go to Disney and do not have your own transportation, it is not the place for you, unless you want to be on a time schedule and spend lots of money on transportation. They do have a shuttle that comes at a specific time and takes you to Epcot or Universal. From there you have to find your own way to the other parks, and you have to find your way back to a specific spot at a specific time to get back. That means, we missed the end of the day laser light show at Universal, among other things. We had to take a taxi to walmart to get groceries ($44 EACH way). Also to go to a restaurant, another taxi. So, my point is, if you stay there, planning to do the Disney thing, rent a car = it will be cheaper.

Room Tip: would recommend the 1700 or 1800 building if you have kids and want to be by the pool. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
6.2 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
4.0 mi away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
6.0 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd, Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Southall Travel, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing