We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We did not know anything about this hotel before arriving, so alittle anxious about our stay. We had nothing but pleasant surprises all the way. We actually extended our stay a couple of times. The hotel has 3 pools, all clean and warm. Tike bar is open everyday except when it rains, there is also a bar in main lobby that opens every night at 5:00.
Very nice breakfast buffett every morning for $8.99. We found the service to be excep-
tional. This is not a Ritz,or high end hotel and I am not writing this review as if it was, it
is our believe that the hotel for the value is wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 2,564 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

We're not super fastidiuous, but we've stayed in many luxury, four- and five-star hotels. However, for our teen daughter's frequent field hockey tournaments, we usually stay in a Best Bestern. We're at BW Lakeside now for her nat'l. tournament at the Disney Sports Complex 8 minutes away. The location couldn't be beat, plus because I'm in the Best Western Rewards program, two of our nights are free (the remainder of this trip and one more stay will entitle us to more free nights).. Granted, this is not the Taj Mahal -- towels are a bit more threadbare, only one pillow to a person (although our request for another one each was qucikly accommodated). The Housekeeping staff and Front Desk staff couldn't be nicer. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and despete the honky tonk of the highway strip out front, pleasand to look at. The heated pools are larger than your typical hotel pools, and for a cool February week, not bad to swim in -- but brrrr.. . watch when you get out. I would have killed for a hottup or jacuzzi!

Only lament is that they skimp on the toileteries and other amenities (no tea, only coffee in room) and the, cherrfully vibrantly colored bedcoverings show in the website photos have been replaced by drab, blackish/blue ones - not great for putting one in an "I'm getting away from the cold, cold north" feeling. (which may be depressing later if we're stuck in our rooms, as we've just heard there's a tornado watch for tonight.) However, we come to this tournament every year and will probably stay here again - in fact we stay at Best Western'sfor all of our daughter's far-away tournaments, both in Fla., Calif., and Pennsylvania.because of good price/value and bonus nights (what's the point of getting cushy romantic room if you're sharing it with your child!). We'll save the fabulous B&Bs and inns for a romantic getaway. I've heard others lament about the bed size at the Best Western Lakeside, but I guess it really deepends on how large you are. My husband and I slept comfortablly in full-size bed, but we're on the thin side (although what woman doesn't feel she couldn't do without losing a few pounds?!). We do have to admit that as nice as it is to have a large vanity outside the bathroom, they have definitely skimped on the bathroom size itself, making it a little dicey when changing, etc. (as we were traveling with teenage daughter). We were also in the older of the rooms, and did detect a musty smell at fist. Fortunately I anticipated that and brought a small contrainer of light linen scented air freshener, which took care of the problem; later, as air conditioner kicked it, the musty smeel .disappeared.

We were also sorry breakfast wasn't included free, as is growing more customary.. We just wanted a light breakfast of tea and perhaps toast and yogurt. We definitely are not the type to benefit from a 51-foot buffet! (In contrast we loved the Best Western in Lancaster, where we were served an above-average breakfast for free. But perhaps the 51-foot buffet is a good deal for those who could eat all that food and not gag.

Beware if you're not into kitchy -- there's lots of garish gift shops along the stretch of highway near the hotel. We didn't find the prices that great for the stuff offered, but got a kick over it -- especially the one whose facade forms the shape of a gian mermaid.

Food choices at restaurants are "fat, fatter and fattest." You're not going to find a Whole Foods around here, or must else in the way of healthy food choices. There is a supermarket of sorts down the road, where we purchased fruits, light cheeses and crackers. Wish there was a place selling decent herbal teas.

Dining out: So far, had one dinner at Black Angus - husband and dauther had NY Strip state (not the cheap - $10.00 -- house version which, we understand, is a tougher than shoe level, but the $17.99 12 oz. variety. I had chicken that sounded promising -- I supposed to be covered in sauteed spinach, but what I got was chicken breast topped with glopply cheese and specks of green tha I suppose were spinach flakes. I couldn't eat it. Also, mashed potatoes seemed to be from the box, so stick to rice of baked potato. I suspect all of the restaurants are in that category or in the false food category. If you plan to dine out or take a boat ride, or whatever, do ask the front desk for a coupon book. There are discount coupons everywhere except for the 'Disney Parks - which we' done and seen a few times aleady.

Tonight we're going to see if we can order a pizza from on location Pizza Hut on site and ask for extra tomatoes and basei topping and NO cheese -- it's actually quite good and in eliminating the cheese, you're eliminating most of the fat.

Hope this is helpful. Keeping our fingers crossed for tornado to pass as we have a 7 p.m. game to play, rain or shine.

Things to do: If you're looking for a welcome reprieve from the whole Disney think (and we definitely are) taking an airboat ride out of Kissimmee is something we hope to squeeze in. We also thought we'd visit old town Kissimmee, which seems to have an old-time carnival atmosphere and shops, restaurants, etc. he beaches -- Daytna and Cocoa Beach -- are about 45-100 drive from here. We're hoping to wake up early Sunday morning to find a good spot to view shuttle launch at 4:30 a.m. Sunday, assuming we could swing it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJTravelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

we have stayed 6 yrs in hotel generally over Christmas for 3 weeks we are more than pleased . we ask to over look lake and they have always obliged staff very pleasant and helpful I have left money and jewelry out and never been touched with a note from cleaner to put in safe .rooms cleaned every day it is not the Hilton we will be going again in December with luck

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culwick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 14 days in January 2010. Hotwire had it rated as a 2.5 star hotel but this place is very nice and has a lot to offer for the low price. I stayed in room 242 and can't complain about anything with the room and the hotel overall. Cleanliness throughout.................. Overall, I would give them 3.5 stars :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoutMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Everything was pretty good. comfy beds, clean rooms, nice pool, they also have golfing. But the free shuttle to the parks run on a really bad schedule. for example we arrived at seaworld 45 min before it opens. keep this in mind when booking this hotel, you might have to rent a car or use a taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

For the price, it can't be beat. Have stayed here on our last four trips to Florida and will certainly stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank char42ru40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We booked through hotwire for 1 night and 2 rooms. Okay representative at counter okay ,the hotel was not properly cleaned. Now tale of 2 rooms.
First of all this hotel should not be 3 star at all but not more than 2 star.
Rooms 1: Okay ,very basic,bed,tv perched high on top of table underneath is closet kind thing which to our surprise next day houses refrigerator.This room managed to be as good as any 1 or 2 star room. I can't recollect but they don't have body lotions or other basic bottles.
Room 2: Basic like other room but had golden long hairs as gift for us under lamp on the phone.After 1st person took shower next day ,it choked and was full with dirty water so nobody else could take shower.

Location is very good to disney parks but you have so many other choices.

I complained to manager next day .Manager was very rude at the time of check out.He didn't even bother listening properly to me and apologizing for inconvenience caused to us and once I got done told me I am good to go.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udayverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
5.1 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#92 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,730 reviews
2.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Resort & Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#40 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,665 reviews
7.6 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#19 of 154 in Kissimmee
616 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites East Gate Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1727
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: £27 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando
Maingate Lakeside Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing