We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with how new everything seemed and the cleanliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Ranked #105 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 23 February 2010

There were many pleasant surprises from how new and modern the room appeared and especially how very clean everything was. There appeared to be quite a few families staying near the room where we were but we never heard any noises from outside or from adjacent rooms. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and professional and was quite impressed with the help they were offering another guest who appeared to be having some difficulties with other aspects of their trip. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to family, friends, and colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

My wife and I brought our son to Kissimmee to visit Disney World. The Best Western was an incredible value with comfortable and clean rooms, many amenities, and a friendly and helpful staff. In particular, I would like to thank the concierge who guided us to the Green Meadow petting farm on a day my son napped too late to get full value from Disney. He had more fun at the petting farm than he had the previous day at Disney. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbhoy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

we arrived 10:30pm tired and exhausted from driving for 2 days from ny to enjoy our stay in florida. Only to be awakened by screaming children in the next room. The hotel staff could careless. Security was called. The children still wouldn't quiet down. I asked to be moved to another room at 1:00am. Poor service. I would never stay here again. We left after 3 days. The bathrooms were dirty. Dirty tile floors. Cleaning service was poor as well.This hotel tags on every little hidden fee to your bill. They don't live up to hotel coupons either. They fight with you over false advertising. The heating system smelled like mildew. We had to shut that off in order to try to get some sleep. The breakfast for$9.00 is a rip off. This hotel isn't worth the money. On the way home we stayed at the holiday inn express. Great price,great service, very clean rooms. I will book with this hotel forever!!!! They know how to take care of their customers in everyway. This hotel needs to take a lesson from them.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poohspoohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The Pros were the proximity to Disney, price, and amenities. Cons were hidden costs, dripping noise in ceiling (tick tick tick), no fitted sheet, replenished coffee and cream only after requests, mold in bathroom (ceiling) and cracking caulk, not many outlets, under bed had many dust bunnies, and miniature golf course was ragged.

Cons explained: I got this room for $175/wk (21/night) off of Priceline. But there was a hidden hotel fee of $3.50/night for “amenities”. This is becoming a more and more common trend, and I think hotels should be “outed” for it. They use their pools, spas, golf courses, and internet to woo your business as part of the nightly rate, and then tell you, after the fact, that those things, while on property and pictured with your booking, are only included at an extra cost. So, we ended up with $25 (equivalent of an extra night) in fees for using the internet for a few hours and the mini golf course once. Not to mention that we paid Priceline’s “fees and charges” that were supposed to be for the hotel’s “fees and charges” only to be charged more “fees and charges” upon arrival. And don’t get me started about the airlines’ “fees and charges.”

It rained, and there came a dripping noise in the ceiling. The maintenance folks said that’s because a roof drain runs between the rooms at that location. It doesn’t really matter when you’re trying to sleep after 10 hours at Disney. Water torture is water torture.

Another trend: no fitted sheets. So, if you toss and turn in the night, you end up sleeping on the surface of a mattress that god-knows-what has happened on, with a wad of sheets and blankets under your breaking back. Does it break a hotel to have a fitted sheet?

The miniature golf course might pass a little time, but it’s not likely to be anything you play more than once, due to its aged condition and peeling surfaces.

The rest is no big deal.

The pros explanation: This place has a backroad that goes straight onto Disney property after about a mile (Sherberth). It’ll take you right near Animal Kingdom Lodge. It’s about 10 minutes from the Disney lot to the hotel parking lot. LOTS of good eating nearby. In good weather, there were a lot of things to enjoy at the hotel: heated pool (no hot tub), paddle boats and golf, etc. And like I say, for 21/night, it was a 4 star at that rate! Walgreens is right next door, too, for chips, lunchables, toiletries, etc.

Overall, a great stay for the rate, but if I paid more than $35/night for the stay, I would have been really disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movinmikec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed for two weeks and have found it a great place to use as a base for visiting Disney. All the staff have been friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and warm (it was cold outside some days). The shuttles to the theme parks were good although a return at lunch time may have been useful. Also very close to a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expatalicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We did not know anything about this hotel before arriving, so alittle anxious about our stay. We had nothing but pleasant surprises all the way. We actually extended our stay a couple of times. The hotel has 3 pools, all clean and warm. Tike bar is open everyday except when it rains, there is also a bar in main lobby that opens every night at 5:00.
Very nice breakfast buffett every morning for $8.99. We found the service to be excep-
tional. This is not a Ritz,or high end hotel and I am not writing this review as if it was, it
is our believe that the hotel for the value is wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We're not super fastidiuous, but we've stayed in many luxury, four- and five-star hotels. However, for our teen daughter's frequent field hockey tournaments, we usually stay in a Best Bestern. We're at BW Lakeside now for her nat'l. tournament at the Disney Sports Complex 8 minutes away. The location couldn't be beat, plus because I'm in the Best Western Rewards program, two of our nights are free (the remainder of this trip and one more stay will entitle us to more free nights).. Granted, this is not the Taj Mahal -- towels are a bit more threadbare, only one pillow to a person (although our request for another one each was qucikly accommodated). The Housekeeping staff and Front Desk staff couldn't be nicer. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and despete the honky tonk of the highway strip out front, pleasand to look at. The heated pools are larger than your typical hotel pools, and for a cool February week, not bad to swim in -- but brrrr.. . watch when you get out. I would have killed for a hottup or jacuzzi!

Only lament is that they skimp on the toileteries and other amenities (no tea, only coffee in room) and the, cherrfully vibrantly colored bedcoverings show in the website photos have been replaced by drab, blackish/blue ones - not great for putting one in an "I'm getting away from the cold, cold north" feeling. (which may be depressing later if we're stuck in our rooms, as we've just heard there's a tornado watch for tonight.) However, we come to this tournament every year and will probably stay here again - in fact we stay at Best Western'sfor all of our daughter's far-away tournaments, both in Fla., Calif., and Pennsylvania.because of good price/value and bonus nights (what's the point of getting cushy romantic room if you're sharing it with your child!). We'll save the fabulous B&Bs and inns for a romantic getaway. I've heard others lament about the bed size at the Best Western Lakeside, but I guess it really deepends on how large you are. My husband and I slept comfortablly in full-size bed, but we're on the thin side (although what woman doesn't feel she couldn't do without losing a few pounds?!). We do have to admit that as nice as it is to have a large vanity outside the bathroom, they have definitely skimped on the bathroom size itself, making it a little dicey when changing, etc. (as we were traveling with teenage daughter). We were also in the older of the rooms, and did detect a musty smell at fist. Fortunately I anticipated that and brought a small contrainer of light linen scented air freshener, which took care of the problem; later, as air conditioner kicked it, the musty smeel .disappeared.

We were also sorry breakfast wasn't included free, as is growing more customary.. We just wanted a light breakfast of tea and perhaps toast and yogurt. We definitely are not the type to benefit from a 51-foot buffet! (In contrast we loved the Best Western in Lancaster, where we were served an above-average breakfast for free. But perhaps the 51-foot buffet is a good deal for those who could eat all that food and not gag.

Beware if you're not into kitchy -- there's lots of garish gift shops along the stretch of highway near the hotel. We didn't find the prices that great for the stuff offered, but got a kick over it -- especially the one whose facade forms the shape of a gian mermaid.

Food choices at restaurants are "fat, fatter and fattest." You're not going to find a Whole Foods around here, or must else in the way of healthy food choices. There is a supermarket of sorts down the road, where we purchased fruits, light cheeses and crackers. Wish there was a place selling decent herbal teas.

Dining out: So far, had one dinner at Black Angus - husband and dauther had NY Strip state (not the cheap - $10.00 -- house version which, we understand, is a tougher than shoe level, but the $17.99 12 oz. variety. I had chicken that sounded promising -- I supposed to be covered in sauteed spinach, but what I got was chicken breast topped with glopply cheese and specks of green tha I suppose were spinach flakes. I couldn't eat it. Also, mashed potatoes seemed to be from the box, so stick to rice of baked potato. I suspect all of the restaurants are in that category or in the false food category. If you plan to dine out or take a boat ride, or whatever, do ask the front desk for a coupon book. There are discount coupons everywhere except for the 'Disney Parks - which we' done and seen a few times aleady.

Tonight we're going to see if we can order a pizza from on location Pizza Hut on site and ask for extra tomatoes and basei topping and NO cheese -- it's actually quite good and in eliminating the cheese, you're eliminating most of the fat.

Hope this is helpful. Keeping our fingers crossed for tornado to pass as we have a 7 p.m. game to play, rain or shine.

Things to do: If you're looking for a welcome reprieve from the whole Disney think (and we definitely are) taking an airboat ride out of Kissimmee is something we hope to squeeze in. We also thought we'd visit old town Kissimmee, which seems to have an old-time carnival atmosphere and shops, restaurants, etc. he beaches -- Daytna and Cocoa Beach -- are about 45-100 drive from here. We're hoping to wake up early Sunday morning to find a good spot to view shuttle launch at 4:30 a.m. Sunday, assuming we could swing it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJTravelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
2.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#34 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,221 reviews
5.1 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#98 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Resort & Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#38 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#30 of 155 in Kissimmee
801 reviews
4.7 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites Orlando
Roomba Inn & Suites Orlando
#108 of 155 in Kissimmee
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingate Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingate Lakeside Resort

Address: 7769 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1727
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingate Lakeside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maingate Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingate Lakeside Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Hotel Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Kissimmee
Best Western Kissimmee
Best Western Lakeside Florida
Kissimmee Best Western
Best Western Lakeside Orlando
Maingate Lakeside Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing