We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropical Palms Resort and Campground
Ranked #18 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A GEM!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We just got back from a weekend staying in a standard suite. We have stayed here before, but it had been awhile so I was a little nervous reading some of the reviews. Yes, the cabin was worn, but it was CLEAN, QUIET, and very COMFORTABLE! We had a minor problem with the stove top, I called the front desk and in 2 minutes, YES 2 MINUTES, there was already someone there fixing the problem. The people could not have been more accommodating. This place is a true gem, if you want an oasis in a busy, noisy city, this is the place to stay. If you want a 5 star full service hotel, go to the Ritz, otherwise your BEST BET is to stay at Tropical Palms Resort, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazeljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, General Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We continually look for ways to improve the quality of each individual's stay at Tropical Palms, and your comments towards this goal will be carefully reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    178
    97
    41
    74
See reviews for
482
112
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed a total of 7 nights. The first 3 nights were in a "premium" cottage #24. The first night we were greeted with palmetto bugs in the bathroom which resembled a small cockroach. The positive was the staff the next morning was quick to respond by spraying both inside and outside the cottage and we never saw another bug. The premium cottage was decent although there was no alarm clock or clock for that matter or radio. The couch was very worn and the unit was basically clean unless you started looking around the edges or under furniture.

Our stay took a turn for the worse when we had to move to a standard cottage #231. This was due to it being the only unit available when we booked. I had been told at time of booking that it was an older unit but was guaranteed it would be clean. It was indeed clean if you refer to the sheets and the bathtub but that is where clean ended. The unit was so bad that I immediately went back up and asked to check out but was quickly told that I had signed a form that I would get no money back. At $110 plus tax per night I couldn't afford to just walk away from it so we either had to end our trip early or suck it up which we did. Another clerk overhead me and at least attempted to find us another unit but nothing was available. She made note of all of our complaints but we never heard another word about them.

So why is the unit worse than sleeping in our tent? For starters the door lock had apparently been replaced and holes were filled with expanding foam which made us very uneasy from a security standpoint. Next, the carpeting was disgusting with stains. We never took off socks while there because of how gross it was. The sofa was dirty so we covered it with blankets just to sit down. The radio in the wall didn't work and actually hummed at all times. The bathroom wall had stains on them although the tub was at least newer and clean. The unit was painted a lavender purple and looked like something from the 1950's. The blinds on the door were broken and several fell off every time you opened or closed them. Outside the wood siding was falling off and one of the deck posts was loose and clearly a safety hazard. Overall, this was the absolute worst room I have ever rented. The Motel 6 we stayed in this summer in Bangor, Maine for $50 looked like a palace compared to this unit. I have posted photos from this unit so you can see that i am not exaggerating just how bad it was.

The resort itself is a nice campground that is well maintained and I would definitely have camped here in the future with our trailer but that fact that we were in essence forced to stay in a room that was unacceptable upon arrival is not the kind of place I will do business with in the future. In total we spent almost $1000 for lodging on this trip and it was the worst we have ever had and ruined our Christmas vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickMcCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, General Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We continually look for ways to improve the quality of each individual's stay at Tropical Palms, and your comments towards this goal will be carefully reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rented a cabin, was very good, staff are nice, location is excellent for kids.
Fun spot and old town within walking distance.
Good restaurants around area.
Pool area is awesome, good food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, General Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We continually look for ways to improve the quality of each individual's stay at Tropical Palms, and your comments towards this goal will be carefully reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hialeah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for a weekend in late December in a Platinum type cottage and had an overall good experience. Kitchen is nicely stocked, cabin was nice and clean. The three bunk beds were nice in first bed room. Queen bed in master bedroom was as bad of a bed as I've ever slept on, with no night table and barely enough space between bed and wall to get by. If you are used to charging your phone next to you, pretty much have to lay it on the floor. Activities were great and there's enough room to bike, play, etc. Location is excellent. No room service and internet is spotty at best. Overall it was a nice experience if you are willing to work past some nuances.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, General Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We continually look for ways to improve the quality of each individual's stay at Tropical Palms, and your comments towards this goal will be carefully reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our family has stayed here twice and will most likely make this our "go to" place from now on. The staff is always friendly (Ellyn in the front desk was extremely helpful in our check-in and check-out), the cottages are well equipped, the grounds are nicely maintained, the location is down the street from Old Town, plenty of restaurants, and a grocery store. Some cottages are pet friendly and have very reasonable pet fees when compared to what others charge, this was a big plus for our family as we were able to bring our dog along on this trip. The other thing we enjoy are all the activities planned. This time we enjoyed the golf cart parade and walking our dog around to see the entries for the site decorating contest. Made for a nice relaxing evening.

The only negative thing I have to mention is with the WIFI. It was non-existent and we were not able to log-in not even once during our stay. Although this was an inconvenience it did not ruin our trip in any way. We cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Standard cottages have the best rates but truly show their age. The premium cottages are worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, General Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We continually look for ways to improve the quality of each individual's stay at Tropical Palms, and your comments towards this goal will be carefully reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I have been camping here for over 20 years. Nice campground with good amenities and Great little Cafe with good food at decent price. They serve a very good breakfast on the weekend's. Most of the camp sites have lots of space, especially the back-in sites. Prices for campsites are a lot better than Disney's Campground ( about 1/2 the cost ). They also have cabins for rent that my in- laws stay in every year. Some of the cabins are pretty old, but management has been working on replacing them with new one so most of the cabins are quite nice at a Decent price. Some of the cabin's take pet's. The maintenance dept. is great, We asked for them to fix the cable hoping for next day and they came out that night in the dark to fix it ( the connection was back in the tree's ).

Room Tip: Looking for a place close to Disney without Disney prices this it! RV sites in the back are the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, General Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We continually look for ways to improve the quality of each individual's stay at Tropical Palms, and your comments towards this goal will be carefully reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My son and his gf were here last July for the vacation from England UK. Thought, take him to his first vacation, 20 years ago when he was 4 years old!..at the time , he called "Wendy Houses", I remembered, when we arrived, the builder just finished hammered the last nail! Talked about "fast cottage"..were the first people to stayed 2 bedroom cottages. I never experienced this kind of accommodation, apparently, left a good and happy memories with my 4 year old son ,at that time. So, tooked him back and gf to "Wendy Houses" for sentimental journey.. He was surprise, they keep the property well maintained, added more cottages. He loved the cottage,took some picture,
2 bedrooms cottage was perfect for us, clean, fully functional kitchen, nice deck where we had our breakfast. Good location. This is my 3rd stayed in this resort, I would recommend to my friends specially with children, fantastic place for family that's not to expensive. Will come back again.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms cottage are spacious and walking distance from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsGSM, Front Office Manager at Tropical Palms Resort and Campground, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Tropical Palms Resort would like to thank you for your kind words and positive memories. We at Tropical Palms Resort strive and work very hard each and every day to ensure all our guest have positive and remerable experiences as you have indicated. From the Tropical Palms Resort family to yours, we truly hope to see you and your family again.


Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.2 mi away
The Barefoot Suites
The Barefoot Suites
#31 of 152 in Kissimmee
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
0.5 mi away
Celebration Suites
Celebration Suites
#22 of 152 in Kissimmee
3,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Kissimmee/Celebration
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Palms Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palms Resort and Campground

Property: Tropical Palms Resort and Campground
Address: 2650 Holiday Trl, Kissimmee, FL 34746-4783 (Formerly Tropical Palms FunResort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Palms Resort and Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Palms Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Palms Resort And Campground Hotel Kissimmee
Tropical Palms Funresort Kissimmee
Tropical Palm Fun Resort
Kissimmee Tropical Palms
Tropical Palm Resort Kissimmee
Tropical Palms Resort And Campground Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing