We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort! Tropical, lovely landscaping and finely appointed rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polynesian Isles Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polynesian Isles Resort
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort! Tropical, lovely landscaping and finely appointed rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Feels like you're in Hawaii as you walk through the complex. Then, upon entering the room, you find a gorgeous tropical flower centerpiece on a finely set dining table. It just gets better from there.

Fantastic huge room, kitchen, large screened patio / balcony, georgous landscaping throughout resort, very nice pools, 5 hot tubs throughout property. This was the best and certainly most "attractive" place we stayed in several years - better than many resorts we've stayed at in Hawaii.

Highly recommend you choose this over other properties in the area - it is not as close to Disney and amusement parks as say, Cypress Point - but the complex is more secure, and wow, what a nice place. Staff was polite and friendly also.

Only complaint: the very sad BBQ grill - just an iron grate for charcoal as you'd find in a city park. They should invest is some nice barbeque equipment.

Room Tip: Prefer the center buildings to the exterior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thearys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    241
    43
    17
    12
See reviews for
508
181
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

This place was great. I read most of the reviews before we left for Florida and they were good but of course you have a few people who have had a bad experience. Once we pulled up, there was a guard at the gate. I really like that feature. Someone is montioring the gate at all times. The check in was quick, no problems and they have a ton of activities planned for you. That is if you want to join in. We didn't just because we had a busy schedule. We were in Building 7, on the bottom floor, right across from the pool. Great location!! We booked our room through Expedia and got a great rate!

The room was great. Like home away from home. Very nicely updated, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room. We had 2 twin beds in one room and a king bed in the other. The jacuzzi tub in the master bath was awesome after long, busy days. We really liked having a kitchen. There is a super Walmart right down the street and we purchased drinks and pizza to make. Saved us lots of money! There are two pools on the grounds. I never actually saw the second pool and there were many hot tubs. We actually had one right out our backdoor! I really don't have a negative thing to say about the place. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kprieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Clean and very well equipped room, with comfortable beds, nice balcony, nice pools and hot tubs. Very nice and well maintained grounds/ Close and convenient to Disney, a bit further to Universal but still an easy drive. Able to do groceries nearby. Did not really have to fight any traffic. Over all impressed,especially for the value, with the accomodations.

Teen agers were happy with their own room and bathroom, the pools - and really the two pools are convenient to almost every room. We would like to give this a 5 except for the following:

Drawbacks - this is a time share, and we were pressured to attend a time share presentation upon arrival and in follow up phone calls.

No recycling what so ever and did not enjoy having to contribute that much garbage to the world.

With teens - the no WIFI in the room was an issue as they had to go to the clubhouse to use the laptop.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and 12 yo grandson stayed at Polynesian Isles the last week in April, 2011. Don't be put off by my "four stars". The only downside is to me it was off the beaten track. To compensate it was located between International Drive and the Rte 192 strip.
Check in was effortless, reservations made througth Expedia. After that I was directed to the desk across the lobby to get directions to local supermarkets since we rented a two bedroom condo with kitchen.
At this second desk I learned that this is actually a time share property. After a more or less pleasant 10 minute conversation where I made it clear we were not interested in a 90 minute presentation we went to our unit and were never approached again.
We had a two BR, two BA unit on the third floor (no elevators). It was beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped. It had a hair dryer (important to my wife) and beach towels for the pool. The master bath had a nice corner shower, double sinks and a whirlpool. We had a beautiful view of palm trees and tropical foliage from our screened deck. Right next to our door was a laundry room equipped with a free washer and dryer. Just across the driveway was our pool - one of two on the property. In the pool area was a hot tub, just the thing after a long day walking at the attractions, two tiki huts for shade, many comfortable lounges and, "super bonus" , restrooms.
Next to the pool area was a pond with a fountain and a very nice waterfall feature - all very tropical. By the way, I counted four hot tubs on the property, a small playground, shuffleboard and tennis courts.
The clubhouse has a few video games, a pool table and "super bonus" two free internet ready computers with free printing. We used these to print our boarding passes, thus saving check-in time at the airport..
If you're interested, they don' t recycle, everything goes in the dumpster. Maybe it's "single stream"?
There is a security gate at the entrance; you must stop and check in with the security guard. before proceeding.
Workers were everywhere, pruning and preening; the grounds and buildings were well cared for.
One minor disappointment to report. There were several tiki huts with barbecue grilles around the property. Unfortunately, to us anyway, they are all charcoal. There are no gas grilles.
We loved Polynesian Isles; we will certainly consider it next time we go to Orlando.

Room Tip: ***No elevators, try for the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We had the 2 bedroom villa - it was nice having the two bathrooms - made getting ready in the morning easy. You stay here to save some money due to the full kitchen - you can either prepare your snacks for the parks or enjoy a meal in your room -- free washer and dryer is very nice -- pool area felt like a resort, I have stayed on Disney property and no it is not as conv or as fun -- but this worked for us 2 adults -- a 24 year old and grandma. Beds are comfy, enjoyed the porch and hot tub and the pool is open till midnight! Rooms are dated, but had everthing you need. they are getting dy activities - build a bear - spa treatment - ice cream social etc. you need a car to stay here or taxi service.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texassun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We own timeshares in Maui and used our points to stay here. Everything was very clean. There are 2 pools that are open until midnight and very clean and convenient to the rooms. Parking was not a problem as in other resorts. We have stayed at their other resort, Grand Beach and like this one much more. Nothing wrong with Grand Beach, just this was more conveinent. I only wish they had elevators.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Let me start by saying what my guidelines for ratings are for these kind of places. We have stayed at many Marriott resorts in Orlando, Hilton Head, and Myrtle Beach. I rate them anywhere from 4-4.5 stars. This place is definitely not up to par to any of those, however its not all bad. Our room was on the 1st floor. First impression was that it was very dark not sure if it was because we were on 1st floor or not. No big deal, just turn all the lights on. Some parts of the rooms were a little worn and showed some age. Bathrooms were nice with a stand up shower and whirlpool tub in master and a tub/shower combo in other bathroom. Kitchen was nice and seemed stocked with about everything you would need to cook. There is a big table for dining for 6. Tv's were lacking. No flat screens and a 14" in master. Again, no big deal, but a lot of little things do add up. The bed in master was king size and very comfortable. The bed in other bedroom was only a double which could be an issue if it is to be used by another couple instead of kids. There is a free washer and dryer outside the front door that is shared with other unit on the same floor. The pool areas were adequate if not exciting. Both pools ranged in depth from 3 to 6 ft and were heated. There was a hot tub in each pool area plus 2 others. There is a 1 rim basketball court and 4 shuffleboard courts. Also a small playground. There are grills, but surprisingly, they are all charcoal. The gym is pretty pitiful for a place of this size. A treadmill, step machine, and a universal weight machine in disrepair.
One odd thing going on there is that the front desk is where you check in, but the rest of your requests go through someone else. Supposedly there is some kind of lawsuit in progress. Had 1 interaction with management and it did not go well. Upon check in we had 2 garbage bags and 2 packets of dishwasher detergent. Called on Wednesday to have more of each brought to unit and they said to stop by office and pick them up. They handed me 1 garbage bag and I had to ask for 2 additional so that I wouldn't have to comeback. They then said that the 2 dishwasher detergent packs were part of a welcome package and there is a 50 cent charge for any additional packets. I refused to pay it because we were required to put all dirty dishes in dishwasher and run a cycle to clean them upon departure. They gave me 1 packet free, but that says a lot about this place. Overall, if you can get this place for $79 a night as someone there said they did, it would be worth it. But, we exchanged our timeshare for this and it did not meet expectations. My guess is that anyone that rates this place 4 or 5 stars is either used to hotels or got it at a bargain price.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDAVIS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
9.8 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#23 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Isles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Isles Resort

Property: Polynesian Isles Resort
Address: 3045 Polynesian Isles Boulevard, Kissimmee, FL 34746-4702
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Isles Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Polynesian Isles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Polynesian Isles Kissimmee
Sunterra Resort Polynesian Isle
Sunterra Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing