We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lady Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband & I were in Lady Lake to visit The Viilages and wanted a hotel near by. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, this hotel was top rated. I am not sure what hotel these people stayed at. We had booked two nights-Jan.6th & 7th at this hotel. What a disappointment! We were hoping to be close to the Town Center of Spanish Springs as stated in description of hotel but hotel is at entrance to get to Spanish Springs directly on a major highway and you really need to drive to Town Center.. The person behind the counter was friendly & efficient. We got our keys and proceeded to room and the elevator & hallways floors were wore & dirty. Not a good sign. We approached our room and there was a handwritten note taped to the key lock on instructions to open door. I looked at other rooms nearby and there were no other notes. I am thinking maybe there was problems with this lock.. Not a good sign. Entered room-very musty smell. Asked to see another room and that room smelled a little better but right next to highway-very noisy. Went down and ensure that we would not get charged for next night's stay if we cancelled it now. No problem. We paid for a king size efficiently suite and got a regular room with a small refrigerator and small microwave. The furniture in room was stained. The carpets were worn & dirty looking and I refused to walk barefoot in room. Bathroom was in bad shape-chips on bathtub and terrible chalking on bottom of tub. The door in bathroom would not stay open-had to prop with something from bathroom.. Even the plug outlet covers were dirty. Heater in room had many settings but only two worked-very cold or very hot. We did check the nearby hotels for future visitors and your best bet is the Comfort Suites across the street form the Holiday Inn. The entire hotel is being renovated and the rates are lower. The next morning upon checking out, I talked to manager to ensure we would not get charged for second night. I did offer him the opportunity to read this report and didn't want to read it and asked me not to post it. He asked me to let him make it right. He took me up to an upgraded room and when we opened the door, I was almost knocked out by the smell. He mentioned there was some water problems but told me they were taken care of. I told me I was not interested in staying in this hotel another night even if it was free. He asked me not to post report and I told him, I am not doing this to be mean, I just want to warn other visitors what I have experienced at this hotel. I work very hard for my money and thought I wasted my $130.00 at this hotel. We left without a reservation for the night but told my husband I would rather spend the night in rental car than here. The people who work here are very nice but Holiday Inn needs to spend some money updating their hotels..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hitops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murdock66, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear hitops,

First of all, I'm extremely sorry to hear about your stay with us. As you can see from our other reviews, our hotel provides great comfortable rooms and friendly service. However, I will definitely take care of the issues that you mentioned. I hope you would get another chance in the near future, and I would also like to thank you for your time.

Yours at hospitality,

David Murdock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We always stay here while visiting family in the Villages. Staff at check in is always nice and professional. Room is large and clean. Parking and internet are free. Microwave and fridge in our room with flat screen tv. Breakfast was better than a normal HEXP. Omelets one day, Scrambled Eggs with bacon and sausage along with biscuits and gravy. They are pet friendly for an additional fee, but worth it. Lots of grassy areas to exercise our dog. Walking distance to Spanish Springs square. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The management at this hotel is awesome the place is kept clean I can always tell a clean hotel by the windows if they clean the windows everything else seems to be clean. Allen and David do a excellent job. We stayed for over 3 weeks and got a great price with a free breakfast every day.

The location is perfect I highly recommend you stay at this Holiday inn express.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This HHI express is a little worn but still clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and breakfast was typical for this chain. We walked a couple of blocks to the city square where we found music dancing and lots of folks having fun. We will stay here again if only for its location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LoveHHIOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lovely big bedroom with comfortable king bed.

The room has a microwave, fridge, tea and coffee facilities and free wifi.

Also coffee and tea are available 24 hours in the reception area.

Hot free breakfast too which is a bonus.

Easy to walk into main street and the town square in the Villages.

If you stay and you have time - try to visit Silver Springs Leisure Park and do the glass bottom boat ride - it is wonderful and only approximately 30 minutes away.

You can hire golf buggy's too for approx. $17 a day to drive round the Villages too - great fun.

There is an outside pool that they say is heated but when we visited - 29 November it was too cold to swim in - this was a real shame because it was one of the reasons we reserved.

Free fitness centre and laundry facilities in the hotel too.

Room Tip: Not sure really - we had 207 which overlooked the car park so nice to be able to keep an eye on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScooterJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have been living out of hotels for the past 4 months now, while he is in the police academy. We have been to a minimum of 4 different hotels in different surrounding areas, and this is BY FAR the best hotel we have stayed at. We ended up staying there at least 4-5 different weekends. The staff is so friendly, helpful and really try to make you feel at home. The hotel is clean and very quiet and it has a great breakfast every morning. It is located a walks way to Spanish Springs Towne Square, which has a variety of restaurants and things to entertain yourself. Thanks to Dave for always making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDNNDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I usually never write reviews, but this hotel really went above and beyond with every aspect. Their staff was one of a kind, location can't be any better, and best of all...the hot breakfast bar puts that extra touch every morning (personally loved the pancakes & cinnamon rolls).

Was even able to rent a golf car nearby, felt like one of the villagers driving down to the square which is only like 2 blks away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lady Lake
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites The Villages
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites The Villages
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
2.9 mi away
The Waterfront Inn
The Waterfront Inn
#2 of 2 in The Villages
426 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chain Of Lakes Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages

Address: 1205 Avenida Central, Lady Lake, FL 32159-7725 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - The Villages)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Lady Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lady Lake
Price Range: £73 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel. Free full hot breakfast, free parking, free secured Wi-Fi throughout. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites The Villages is conveniently located in The Villages and within a short walk to Spanish Springs Town Square. Newly renovated lobby, breakfast area, Fitness Center and brand new mattresses, box springs and pillows in all rooms. 81 spacious rooms, all featuring refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, Hi-Def flat screen TVs featuring 60 TV channels, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. We offer a full hot Express Start breakfast buffet featuring pancakes. Our Lobby coffee/beverage station is available 24 hours per day. Best of all we are walking distance to the Spanish Springs Town Square where there are many fine restaurants, boutiques, and nightly live entertainment & dancing in the Town Square 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - The Villages Hotel Lady Lake
Holiday Inn Lady Lake
Holiday Inn Express Villages
Lady Lake Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - The Villages Florida/Lady Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing