We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I am not sure if BBQ is different in Florida than what I am used to in Texas, but my husband and I both were not impressed with the BBQ. I also ordered a baked potato and they were very skimpy with the toppings only a very small amount of butter and sour cream, no cheese or bacon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for the review, Kim T. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Let us help! Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details about your experience so that we may address the issue. We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Restaurant in FL every time over the last 20 years”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great Food, Good Value, Family tradition that all roads lead thru Lake City(when going South) and this is where we stop for Brunch or Lunch every time on the way south to the Eastside-Gulf beaches. Friendly Southern Service, real wood smoked BBQ with an array of sauces to please anyone. Can even buy sauces to take home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunny2862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUNTA GORDA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“More than ribs are hot!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We know and like to stop at Sonny's when we are in Lake City, Florida. Usually everything is good, but this time the air conditioning was not working. We thought about leaving but the staff turned the fans on high and that seemed to work, so we stayed. It seemed though that the staff had been working in the heat and that seemed to affect the service. Our appetizer didn't come until after our baby backs...the bread was cold and we weren't given any butter for our potatoes or a plate for our bones. Our waitress was concerned with our dissatisfaction and ended up not charging for our appetizer and giving us both free desserts. So, we both had too much to eat, but we were happy. As always, the ribs were great and we will stop again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank acry-artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We eat at this Sonny's location regularly. The food is consistently good. Sometimes the service is a little slow, but the food is always good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great ribs!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

They had a special all you can eat ribs for a very reasonable price. The meal was great and so was the service. The atmosphere was relaxing. Sonny's food and service is always great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyLakeCityFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing