We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great everything”

Ray's Deli and Grill
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in Lake City
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Macclenny, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Huge salads with leaf lettuce - no iceberg here. Fries and burgers are some of the best in NE Florida. Super clean dining room and restrooms. Quick and courteous service always.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

While heading to south Florida, we decided to eat at Ray's because of TA reviews. What a neat place! Clean with fun decor and super-nice staff, Ray's has a great atmosphere and food. So-good reuben and fries and a yummy chicken ranch wrap with potato salad--such hefty portions!--were perfect for revving us up after a long day of travel. If we were locals, we'd eat at Ray's on a regular basis.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jblwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to the hype, but good food nonetheless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Visited twice in two days; one for lunch, one for breakfast. At lunch my wife ordered a cheeseburger with fries and I a Reuben with onion rings. The burger looked great and tasted good as well and my wife was impressed by the quality of the fries. My Reuben however, was disappointing. I couldn't taste or perceive the cheese until the last couple of bites and the thousand island dressing was overpowering. The sandwich was served on what appeared to be a generic slice of bread that while rye, it was mass produced like a total loaf of white bread. Add to this that the sandwiched was prepped in a panini press and not grilled and you have an underwhelming experience. The onion rings were likewise run of the mill but the doing sauce was outstanding.

Breakfast was much better; we both had the biscuits and gravy and a side of Ray's tater tots. Everything was served hot and the gravy was obviously made in house and quite tasty. The biscuits like the bread on my sandwich was generic in nature. The tater tots looked identical to the ones that Burger Kin
King sells and because of this, I deemed then over priced even though they were good. Atmosphere and service were outstanding on both occasions which is why I rated them 4 stars.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the detour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Traveling along Highway 10 and looking for a good lunch. Added only a few miles but was well worth the time loss. Business is super clean and wait staff was very helpful. 4 adults and 3 children and not a single complaint. This was truly a nice break from the cookie cutter eateries.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cscott37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great lunch here yesterday and came back for breakfast today. Best biscuits and gravy I've ever had! My wife had pancakes that were light and thin. Coffee was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank linwood14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's Deli and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Deli and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing