We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel stay ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel stay ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was, without a doubt, the hotel stay I've ever had, and as a military dependent and a military member myself, I've stayed in quite a few hotels. The rooms are spotless, large, and tastefully decorated. We were right next to the elevator but we never heard a sound; I swear the room was soundproof! The staff, especially the manager Deanna, was friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was excellent. They even had fresh cookies ready in the evening when we returned! The hot breakfast the following morning started our day off right, and the hot tub was the perfect way to prepare for the long drive home. Country Inn & Suites now has a lifelong customer! I highly recommend them!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying with Country Inn and Suites in Lake City an award winner hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed our breakfast. Here in Country Inn and Suites we want our guests to start their day right!!! Our complimentary Be Our Guest Breakfast offers a variety of hot (bacon, sausage, eggs, waffles, etc.) and cold (yogurt, cereal, pastries, parfait, etc.) delicious options. At our hotel we have one goal, to treat guests like family. Thank you again for staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    126
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
241
129
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've been to many hotels growing up as a military dependent and as a veteran myself, but the Country Inns & Suites in Lake City, Florida, far surpassed any hotel I've ever been to! The room was spotless, the bedding divinely comfortable, and the staff really made us feel as though we were their number one priority. Deanna, the manager on duty, was quite friendly and really was outstanding in helping us check in and taking care of our needs. I highly recommend Country Inns & Suites!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Tracie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying with Country Inn and Suites in Lake City an award winner hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is conveniently located near I-75 and I-10 so we are a great hotel to stay at after that long drive. Also, most of the restaurants around us are within a mile from us and some are walking distance. Again thank you and we hope to see you again!!! Freshly baked cookies are waiting for you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The motel itself is OK. but a bit outdated. The bathroom was in dire need of remodeling. I read on here someone else talking about the "smokers room" on the 3rd floor. Of course, I was on the 3rd floor and sure enough, the hallway smells like a smokers lounge. I will give them 1 thing. It was one of the friendliest staffs I have encountered anywhere! Overpriced for what you get

Room Tip: If you ARE NOT a smoker, do not take a 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this property a few weeks ago. Easy check in, clean but small rooms (even suites), nice staff, indoor pool (big time chlorine smell) and good breakfast. Really the only negative is that they are stingy on their towels. We had a family of 4 staying in our suite. First day 2 sets of towels, 2nd day after speaking to housekeeping - 3 sets of towels, day 3 and 4 2 sets of towels. Had to rob the cart twice for more towels and shampoo. Other than that it was okay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying with Lake City's award winner hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We try our very best to accommodate the request of all our guest, guest satisfaction is our number one priority. Again thank you and we hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We always stay in the Lake City Country Inn and Suites on our way to Atlanta. The rooms are very large and always clean. The staff is always professional and helpful. The rooms are very quiet and the beds are comfortable. My husband has a bad back and he is very particular about the bed he sleeps in. There are several restaurants close to the hotel and they offer a 10% discount to anyone staying in the hotel. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lake City.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from I-95
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying with Country Inn and Suites in Lake City an award winner hotel. It is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is conveniently located near I-75 and I-10 so we are a great hotel to stay at after that long drive. Also, most of the restaurants around us are within a mile from us and some are walking distance. Again thank you and we hope to see you again!!! Freshly baked cookies are waiting for you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantonment, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We checked in late, about 9 PM with our 2 kids (7 and 1.5 years old) and were ready to get some rest after being in road. The hotel looks nice and guy at front desk seemed friendly, no complaints there. However, 3rd floor reeks of cigarettes and we had non-smoking room. When we walked in room it smelled clean, like strong perfume or air freshener. Once we got settled and laid down in the bedroom we noticed a stale cigarette smell. Not pleasant and not good but we didn't want to wake kids up to switch rooms. The front smelled ok where the kids were but I'm sure the strong perfume smell was camouflaging any cigarette smell. Will look for a smoke free hotel and will not be staying here again!! I would not recommend this to families who are smoke free! We are going to let front desk know when we check out bc this should be an issue. I saw other complaint on this website about same issue. Wish I checked before we came here.

Room Tip: Don't stay 3rd floor....smells like a bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Khari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know about the experience you had with our hotel, as an award winner hotel in Lake City we take all comments seriously. We try our best to satisfy our guest. I will definitely investigate further to make sure this will not happen again. We are deeply sorry about this. Thank you and we hope to give us a chance once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Tried to get a room at this hotel on our way down to Naples. When we went to check in, I asked the clerk if she would book a room and use our club carlson points. Her response was no, you have to do it yourself. She pointed me to the lobby computer and said to book it online. Couldn't believe she was standing 4 feet from me and couldn't book the room nor offered to help. She did not give me the login in to the computer, had to ask, did not give me the password, had to ask. meanwhile, instead of providing assistance she was chatting with her co-worker and ordering cheesy fries.. terrible customer service. One good thing about our visit to lake city, there are 6 hotels right in a row on 75 so just drove next door and stayed there. Price at Country Inn was over $117 a night, red roof inn, right next door was $72 and the service was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudia L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know about the experience you had with our hotel, as an award winner hotel in Lake City we take all comments seriously. We try our best to satisfy our guest. We will retrain our staff on how to handle situation like this, so this will not happen again.
Also, If you would like to use your club carlson points the procedure to make reservation is either booking online or central reservation (1-800 #). Unfortunately, here at the hotel our system is not set-up for Points reservation. Give us a call anytime so we could discuss this further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#11 of 24 in Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
Address: 350 SW Florida Gateway Dr, Lake City, FL 32024-3855
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lake City Hotel Lake City
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Lake City
Country Inn Lake City
Lake City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing