We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gator's Dockside

Gator's Dockside
Ranked #22 of 125 Restaurants in Lake City
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Located in a shopping center, Gator's is a little hard to find if you are from out of town. It has a nice sports bar atmosphere, very clean, and friendly staff.
The food seemed typical sports bar food with wings and burgers, but they had some sandwiches and salads not so typical of the bar scene. I had the Mahi Mahi sandwich with a side of coleslaw. It was delicious! The mahi was cooked and seasoned well. The coleslaw had cranberries added and did not have that strong vinegar taste that made it enjoyable.
I would def make this a stop next time I am in the area around lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Bar Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place defiantly has the atmosphere of a sports bar. We went in on a relatively quite night. No big sporting events going on. It was still a little loud. The food and drinks were good. Service was good too. We will defiantly try it on football night!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KelceyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort White
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Gator's Dockside is basically a sports bar. The wait staff is friendly and attentive but the food is nothing special. It is not one of the better restaurants in Lake City, the food was only average. I ordered the Monte Cristo which was "just okay" and the steamed veggies were very bland. My husband ordered a sandwich (pastrami I think), not very memorable - the sandwich was small but the plate was loaded with French fries. If you like to drink alcohol and don't really care about the food it'd be okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patriciasA1472WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namibdon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food;a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We recently went to Gator's Dockside for a family celebration, rather later than normal. The wait staff did a super job getting our food to us in a timely fashion. The waitress even remembered two of us from a previous meeting visit. The food was excellent. The prices are a little elevated for what you would get at similar places, but the quality and atmosphere make it worth the extra costs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank namibdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food....Best service ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We went 2 times with in about 8 days once on each visit to Lake City. the first visit I left my baseball hat and didn't know I left it. The next week I looked everywhere for it and couldn't find it. That day I went in a the same waitress said did yall leave this. I am so thankful that she put it up and we went back. LOVE the boneless wings and onion petals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gator's Dockside also viewed

 

Been to Gator's Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing