We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Lake City
SC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was really looking for a Holiday Inn Express in the area but had to settle of a Holiday Inn. They have free breakfast at HI Express. The facility seems a bit older as there was rust on on parts of the bath room wall and the toilet seat was way loose, reported that to management on checkout. The other thing was they played elevator music all night long, even though we were on the 4th floor could still hear it. It really should be turned off at night. Went down to see what they had for breakfast decided to go else where. Asked one of the staff where the best breakfast where locals go and she suggested Shirley's. If you have to pay for breakfast make the best of your money count, plus there is a Cracker Barrel with in walking distance. Other small gripe, at Holiday Inn Express there is free coffee in the lobby, but not here. And the coffee in the room is not worth the effort. On the positive side, the bed was a good one, so got a good night's rest then headed out for breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuesdayWednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! While we are not a Holiday Inn Express, we do enjoy offering full-service amenities such as our bar and lounge and room service. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    101
    74
    27
    21
See reviews for
124
78
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice clean hotel easy to find right off the Interstate. Easy to see from highway and lots of food choices nearby including Cracker Barrel, Denny’s, and all the usual fast foods. Ruby Tuesday restaurant is located next to the hotel, but not connected, so bring your umbrella in rainy weather.

Reserved online and asked for a quiet location. Hotel staff were very nice and upgraded me to a 6th floor corner end-room that was very quiet. The room space was divided by a bathroom in the middle to create a bedroom space and a living room space. The space was large, with a design that was similar to many Embassy Suites. This hotel has an open-atrium-design, so noise from the public areas on first floor can become a loud problem. There is no internal restaurant, and the tiny little bar area closed at 9pm on the night I was there. The Ruby Tuesday next store had very few evening customers.

There was a breakfast buffet area on first floor serving limited morning hours for a set fee. There is almost zero parking in front of the hotel. The large parking lot is to the end of the building, and involves a long wet walk to the front door when raining. There are two elevators…one at each end of the atrium of the building. They are very slow and do not work very well. The one on the right side is so slow that a woman waiting on the fifth floor gave up waiting and walked up to join us on the 6th floor left side to ride down to the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors to get away from the open public areas on the first floor and the noise they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do serve a limited dinner menu in our bar and lounge, but as you correctly pointed out, there are also several restaurants within walking distance. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This is the 4th time we have stayed in this hotel over the past 5 yrs. The last visit was 2 years ago and I had no complaints. This time, however, you can tell it's lost it's bang.
The smell in the lobby was over bearing.
The wifi only works if you stand by the door of your room.
There were dirty spots on the hand towels
Bed is sagging in the middle of both beds

I come here for business and family close to the area, but may try another hotel for my next meeting.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SalindaHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. I hope you give us another chance to wow you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WARSAW
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Liked our room, but you had to pay for breakfast. Not what I expected. Smelled like dog pee in lobby. The room was very nice and clean. I would stay for an over night but no longer. There is really nothing more to say.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed your room. Your valuable feedback will help us improve our hotel for future guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay, were upgraded to corner suite and ate next door at Ruby Tuesday. Good location, close to highway and we really just needed a place to sleep after a long day on the road. Fake plants could be changed and dehumidifier used!

Room Tip: Visit your room first before saying yes for the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed your suite! Thanks for the valuable design feedback. We're always trying to improve in order to serve our customers better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel needs some attention. At Check in with a Hotel.com coupon the rate for weekday stay was higher than weekend nights...hello shouldn't that be the opposite? The room had a musty smell. The front desk does not recognize HIE reward members. The hotel charges for breakfast and they have a small bar area and cafe. Menu prices seem high to us. There is a Ruby Tuesday right next door which offered some great food. There is also a Cracker Barrel in the adjoining area. We had a room without any special amenities, no frig, no microwave. This Holiday Inn seemed over priced to us for what was offered.

Room Tip: You do hear the Interstate highway traffic, we were put on the 4th floor facing the area. So you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrdie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Byrdie122,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your the quality and amenities in your room as well as with the recognition afforded to our valued IHG Rewards Club Rewards member. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was def not the nicest H.I. we've stayed at and could use some updates. For example, the numerous fake plants, "tiki bar" inside? And the odor in the halls and rooms. The pool was well kept and clean, but lacked towels and tables and chairs. We opted to eat at the ruby tuesday next door and enjoyed a decent dinner and drinks. The next morning we ate at a nearby IHOP that served delicious breakfast. The restaurant and bar area left something to be desired in the hotel, but the surrounding area has a lot to choose from. With some attention to detail and a few minor updates this HI would be excellent. Overall, I wouldn't recommend, but I wouldn't discourage a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandBenHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear JenandBenHan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you find our rooms well kept and clean and location convenient. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#11 of 24 in Lake City
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
Address: 213 SW Commerce Dr, Lake City, FL 32025-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lake City, the Freshwater Capital of America! As the gateway to Florida, we welcome you with southern hospitality and invite you to experience award winning accommodations and service at the Lake City Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites! As Lake City s finest hotel, we offer 127 finely-appointed rooms including 42 suites in a completely non-smoking hotel! We offer the corporate and leisure traveler flexibility, convenience, comfort and a host of amenities including an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness center, cardio aerobic equipment and a business center. We are located in a central location at I-75 and US Highway 90, which allows you to visit many attractions: Wild Adventures, Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park, Ginnie Springs, Itchetucknee Springs State Park, Olustee Battlefield, Stephen Foster Memorial, Suwannee River and many other state parks. Whether your travel to Lake City is for business or for pleasure, our professional staff and luxurious surroundings will greet you with the comfort and southern hospitality you desire. Additionally, we offer each guest a complimentary copy of USA today, free local calls, guest laundry facility and high speed internet service with wireless internet service available on all floors. Relax...we are waiting to welcome you to our home sweet home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lake City Hotel Lake City
Lake City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing