We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel poor lobby staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Lake Mary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

A lovely clean modern hotel with great facilities. The front desk staff however were poorly trained they did not realise as a Goldmember I was entitled to free breakfast in the restaurant . On another occasion i was initially reluctantly offered 500 rewards points Equivalent to 1/40 of a nights stay when I had a disturbed night due to noise This offer I found derogatory. One bonus however was Kathryn you works in the concierge lounge She has fantastic customer care skills and really looked after guests she was a true asset to the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tincityzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Hello TinCityZoo,

Thank you for the honest feedback from your last visit to our hotel
and I truly appreciate the information about the confusion on Gold
Member benefits at our hotel. Of course we can't speak to the specifics
since we dont knoow when you were here , but would welcome the opportunity
to contact you personally so we can resolve the misinformation in the future.

Feel free to email me personally at bruce.skwarlo@marriott.com.

Also I will pass along your kind comments about Kathy's fantastic customer
care skills in our concierge lounge.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

My recent stay at this property was a good experience. I had a great corporate rate so I can't complain that I did not receive a King Size bed. The room was spotless and spacious. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. It is clean with a very nice lobby area. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I did not frequent th onsite restaurant. I did frequent the bar however and there is a bartender by the name of Lindsay who was great and quite fun to be around.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisinBobfromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

CruisingBob,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was helpful & friendly.
I will make sure that Lindsay our bartender is recognized at our next staff meeting
for going above and beyond, that's what Marriott is all about!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is very pretty pulling up to it and inside the common areas. The hotel rooms are another thing, upon checking we were given a corner suite, decent size room and at a quick glance seemed nice. After spending sometime and un-packing things we noticed that the duvet was filthy. Hair on it and not from your head, the mattress iteself was hard and lumpy. They changed out the duvet for us with no concerns. Bathroom was very poor condition. The shower head had so much calcium buildup on it that it was turning green. The shower curtain was not long enough to stop water from getting all over everything and the towels had seen better days.
I would highly recommend finding another hotel in the area, this Marriott doesnt even deserve a fairfield inn on the marque.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Wick1979,

Thank you for the honest feedback and I can assure you that we
take your comments very seriously and will address this today!

Thanks to your observations we can immeadiately place this room
out of service for the appropriate repairs and assure noone else will
experience these problems. Please accept my sincere apologies
and if you would like to contact me direct, I would personally like to
speak with you and assure you this will not re-occur.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, CHA
General Manager
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed at the Marriott during our recent stay. I was very pleased with the property. I was able to get a good rate and the property is very clean, Nice clean rooms and the service is A+. Would recommend this propert to friends and family and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

DennisM,

Thank you for the A+ review from your recent stay at the Orlando
Marriott Lake Mary! We truly appreciate you allowing us to host your
family on the next visit to the North Orlando area.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family last Thanksgiving. The hotel was a bit pricier than the ones I usually stay in, but it does have a lovely interior. Their Christmas decorations were up and they had a beautiful tree decorating the lobby. The staff was also very friendly, especially the barista who worked at the Starbucks down stairs. The rooms were average. They were the typical Marriott style with nice beds and furniture. However not all of the lamps in our room worked properly and from certain angles you could see old stains on the wall.

The toilet, however, was the real issue. When we first came in, my aunt went to use the restroom and noticed that the bowl was stained. We commented on it to room service and they pointed out that the red ring was likely due to rust deposits. Granted, rust build up is likely to happen, but in a nice hotel like this you'd think they'd pay closer attention to details like that!

Other than that, the trip was fine, although the fact that there was no continental breakfast bothered me. There was a breakfast buffet in the lobby, but it was $13 a plate. The on site Starbucks was a better option, but you couldn't really get a full meal from it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newstarr411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Hello Newstarr,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent visit to our Hotel.
I was happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the Holiday decorations
but was disappointed that you experienced a problem in the bathroom.
Thanks to your feedback we have corrected the issue so nobody else
will be negatively impacted!
I will also make sure our Barista is acknowledged for her very pleasant
level of service.

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I am a platinum with Marriott, which is their highest level. I have never seen a property with such awful beds. Also the fitness center faces the sun in the afternoon, and there are no drapes or shades on the floor-to-ceiling windows. I could not even begin to work out in there because of the blinding sun.

Will NEVER stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

DavidK,

Thank you for the comments from your recent visit to our hotel
and I truly appeciate the feedback.

Our recently renovated fitness center does not have draperies
as those were removed and deemed old fashioned! Since I have
not heard negative comments that the sun has been a problem
I will certainly look at some different options that may be available.
I am sure the time of year and day must have played a large role
with the winter setting sun. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.

Your comments about a less than satisfactory bed will be investigated
but since this review is anonymous I would love to have you
email me personally so I can correct the issue in your exact room.

Please let me know if I may "Make it Right" on your next visit to Lake
Mary! And as a Gesture of Good Faith I will personally make sure you are
upgraded to the best room available and will guarantee the bed will
be up to your standards. A Marriott Platinum Member deserves a Platinum
Experience!

Hospitably Yours,

Bruce Skwarlo,

General Manager, C.H.A.
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

bruce.skwarlo@marriott.com
407-995-7004

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and made our most recent visit in late November 2012. The hotel remains a beautiful property and a friend who also stayed there at my recommendation the same weekend commented how wonderful the hotel was. The only negative to me that was not evident on prior visits was the fact that rooms with two beds contained doubles rather than queen sized beds. King bedded rooms did not offer a sofa bed so we had to double up since there were three of us in my family. This made for a poor night's sleep and I guess prior visits were either solo or two person visits since we never ran into this issue. My suggestion thus is to look elsewhere if you have a family of 3 or 4 but definitely stay here if there is 1 or 2 in your party.

Room Tip: Avoid the double bedded rooms if you have three adults in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Orlando Marriott Lake Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

SilverStar092,

Thank you for staying at the Orlando Marriott Lake Mary last month and for your
positive comments about the numerous visits to our hotel.
I was excited to hear you rated us as "wonderful" in past visits but of course
completely understand your preference towards having a King Bed in your room
as well.

Next time you need a King Bed with a sofa bed please feel free to contact me personally
and I will do whatever I can to get you an upgrade if possible. If not we have a lovely
Residence By Marriott right next door which can also accomodate your bed needs as well!

Hospitably Yours.

Bruce Skwarlo, C.H.A.
General Manager
407-995-7004

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Mary hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Mary at Colonial TownPark
0.3 mi away
The Westin Lake Mary
The Westin Lake Mary
#6 of 12 in Lake Mary
697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Lake Mary/Orlando-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Orlando North/Lake Mary
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Orlando Lake Mary
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lake Mary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Marriott Lake Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Marriott Lake Mary

Address: 1501 International Pkwy, Lake Mary, FL 32746-4708
Region: United States > Florida > Lake Mary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Mary
#9 Family Hotel in Lake Mary
Price Range: £117 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orlando Marriott Lake Mary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated Hotel in August 2011! Top Guest Service Award Winning Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orlando Marriott Lake Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary Hotel Lake Mary
Marriott Lake Mary
Lake Mary Marriott
Orlando Marriott Lake Mary Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing