We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Old Florida.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catfish Johnny

Catfish Johnny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
367 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A taste of Old Florida.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch two days with friends in town to fish on Lake Pannasoffkee. Most of the food is fried, but you get plenty for your money , and it is very tasty. One of the neat things about this restaurant is the back room, which is open on Tuesdays for a jam session of local musicians. Spend some time looking at all of the pictures of famous entertainers who have either eaten there or played there. Pretty impressive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Villagesre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    56
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
181 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We went to another restaurant and it was closed and someone told us about this place. My wife and I had the butterfly shrimp and it was made with fresh shrimp and was great. The place is a little out of the way but we will go back. Lots of people eating there which always a good sign.

Helpful?
2 Thank FJSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

had a great time on our tour catfish delish, good child menu, good food, good service great place to have lunch after Tom & Jerrys airboat tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will be back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have eaten here several times. The wife really enjoys the catfish fingers. I love the 1/2# hamberger, only $4.99. We both love the fried perch, all you can eat $9.99, with fries and hush puppies. The thing we like best is the Key Lime pie, none better, anywhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had heard about Catfish Johnny's restaurant for some time and were anxious to get some "down home" fried catfish. The food was disappointing, the service was good, and the restaurant was typically decorated as a down-south fish camp. All of the ingredients for a great catfish dinner was there EXCEPT the quality of the food. The catfish tasted like it was frozen for a very long time, the fried oysters were soggy, un-appetizing and generally tasteless. Overall a disappointing outing with friends. Oh, yes... the hushpuppies were heavy with grease. I guess it all depends on where you are from and what you are used to eating... If you are from up around The Villages, try Sam's Seafood near Lady Lake. Atmosphere is not that great, but the food is much better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Navigator414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catfish Johnny also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing