We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for Legoland Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay for Legoland Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent one night at the HI Express in Lake Wales for my daughter's Legoland birthday trip and a visit to Bok Tower. Although Lake Wales doesn't have a ton to offer (we drove to Winter Haven for dinner), the hotel was just right for our needs. Check in/out was quick and efficient, room was nice and clean, beds were super comfy, and the free hot breakfast was very convenient. The hotel is a quick 5 minute drive to Legoland and close to Bok Tower too.

The online rates seemed a little high to me, so I called the hotel directly to ask about FL Residents rate and was offered a Legoland rate instead. Since breakfast was included, I think we got a pretty good deal, but it's definitely worth calling for a lower rate.

Room Tip: A very few rooms allow pets, so if that's an issue, be sure to make a note on your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    54
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
106
31
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel was very clean and modern. The breakfast was very good.. We only stayed for one night as we were going to Legoland and then onto Disney. Prices are decent as well. If you are a priority club member on points its 10K which is a great value. I even received a small goody bag for being PC Platinum (bottle of water and some chips). No big deal but nice to receive some recognition.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tribal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed with my 7 year old son for a quick getaway trip to the nearby (5 miles away) Legoland park. Hotel was fairly new. You could walk to Home Depot, Kohls and a Publix (strip mall) easily. Beds were fluffy and very comfortable. Multiple pillows with various firmness. Mini refrigerator (a bit noisy) and microwave included in the spacious room. Nice assortment of decent quality toilettries. Bathroom was well sized and very clean. The bfast included in the rate was your typical bfast: 4 cereals, scrambled eggs, pancakes, bananas, bagels, milk, juices, etc. Not bad to get you going. Staff was warm and receptive. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was doing a photo shoot in Lake Wales and this was one of the hotels suggested by the crew. I have stayed at other Holiday Inn Express Hotels and was satisfied but NEVER blown away like this! I had a non-smoking room with two queen beds (comfy!) a microwave and refrigerator. Everything there was brand new and in immaculate condition. I was pleased to see that they had a pool and a fitness center. The eating area was a pretty good size. You didn't feel like you were right on top of each other.

Nearby there were great eating areas and plenty of stores to suit all of your needs. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decatur ga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is minutes from Legoland. The staff is very nice. The beds (simmons beauty rest grand tourville) are so wonderful. We booked the king suite and it was comfortable for 2 adults, one child and one small dog. I checked the rates and adjusted as the date neared and saved money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed for 2 nights, 3 days. I was lecturing at a conference nearby the first two days. Afternoon the second day my family met me and we spent day 3 @ Legoland. The property was very clean. Very minimal noise from other rooms, hallway and outside (I am extremely sensitive to extraneous noise). The bed was wonderful as were the pillows. Numerous pilllows on the bed - half marked "soft", half "firm". The kids were more than fine on the pull out couch. The room was one large rectangle w/ bathroom. Adjustable A/C worked well on the digital unit (a must for me). I stayed on the first floor near the lobby & front door and slept like a baby, almost no noise after 10pm. The ceiling was unusually high; unsure if that's due to being on the ground floor. The bathroom was solid; standup large shower w/ good pressure and adjustable shower head. The toiletries are unusual; nice cinnamon smell I've never encountered in a hotel. No closet but an alcove with a rod and hangars which I used for suits and shirts (it was fine). Good sized flat screen TV, I would have liked HBO or Cinemax. There is a DVD library in the lobby which rent for free. The staff was extremely responsive. Of note, I was allowed to checki in early. I loathe the ever later & later check in times at many hotels. I requested 3rd floor thinking it would be more quiet. Thankfully I was steered to the first floor b/c I was informed a small college athletic team was staying up there. I ran into the team the next day and they were shockingly respectful and well mannered. Breakfast was varied and plentiful: scrambled eggs, white sausage gravy and large, fresh biscuits, round sausage, cereals, breads, pancakes, milk, coffee, juice, fruit. Not an Embassy Suites breakfast but close. The "gym" was two treadmills, stationary bike and stairclimber - no weights but fine for a short trip. I inspected the pool, it was clean but a little too cool to use in Central FL in November. We took the kids to the new Imperial Lanes; a very large, new bowling alley and game room attached to the mall 5 minutes away (they loved it). The first night when I was alone I just got a sub from Publix. The second night we all ate at Chili's. There is a Home Depot on one side and a Kohl's on the other, but not uncomfortably close. The locals in the area are pleasant, more so than Orlando city. It was quaint to drive past orange groves south of Lake Wales on my way to lecture. I recommend this hotel without hesitation to business travelers, families and couples looking for standard, non romantic accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have previously lived in this area of Florida for about ten years in the 90's. At the time there were not many good quality choices for hotels in the greater Winter Haven - Lake Wales area. Now there are. Since my children still live in the area, I do come down regularly and stay. This was my first visit to this hotel and I was impressed. Maybe because it is fairly new, about two years old, that everything seemed fresh and clean. It is ideally located midway between the new Legoland and Bok Tower. Today about twenty years later there still are only a couple of places I would stay in this area....this hotel...and the nearby Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Wales
4.6 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 mi away
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Auburndale Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bartow
Hampton Inn Bartow
#1 of 3 in Bartow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
Address: 2953 Ridge Way, Lake Wales, FL 33859-6805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express - Lake Wales is a brand new 82 room, interior entrance, hotel that offers a hassle-free guest experience, that will make you feel like you are visiting home instead of being on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales n - Winter Haven Hotel Lake Wales
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing