We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince of Wales Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Older Place”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It is being renovated, but that said the clientele is less than admirable. It is in a lower level neighborhood. I have friends stayed there and said they had an ok night. The druggies, sex offenders etc have been moved out. It is an in expensive clean place to stay. It is a short walk to the down town area for restaurants and shops. It is also close to the Train Depot. Not a running train. But a nice place to visit.

Room Tip: One of the renovated rooms and also check in early. Several rooms are long term rented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is an update of my previous post called Good Bargain. The current owners have not completed the update of the HVAC systems so some rooms are more comfortable than others. Since my trip down in December 2012, current trip April 2013, they have increased the price for a pet by $5.00 a night so my stay now cost $55 per night.

OK for short stay particularly with a pet and on a limited budget. I withdraw my suggest of considering Green Gables it has gone downhill. Also do not consider the other two motels in the vicinity of Prince of Wales.

Although old and not in the best of condition Prince of Wales is worth considering for those with a pet or on a very limited budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We needed a place to stay for 2 nights while visiting my new extended family. The online pictures showed a renovated room with a decent bathroom, mini fridge and microwave. When we arrived, there was no one there at the office to check us in. The "office" reminded me of the padlocked area in front of a pawn shop with only a small window to speak through. When the office person finally arrived about 15 mins later, they gave us a room that had not been renovated, and in a word it was awful. The TV did not work, the bathroom was dingy and dirty and the room was poorly lit and depressing. The AC unit was right next to the bed, and it had 2 settings...off and FREEZING. We were not surprised when we found bugs in the bathroom later, but we also found bugs in the BED. Ugh...what an awful night! The next day my boyfriend contacted the owner and respectfully demanded a different room. We were moved to a nicer one that more closely matched the online photos, but our previous sleepless night left us in a not-so-good mood. We did get an apology from the owner the next day, but he still tried to charge us the full price for both nights. Needless to say we did not pay for that first night, and we will not go back to that place. It is located on a very busy road, and the motel is split into 2 buildings on either side of that busy road. I think once the renovations are complete it will be a decent place to stop, but traveler beware...always ask to see the rooms before you trust the online photos.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Wales hotels

Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our typical stays are at Holiday Inn Suites, Hamption Inns or Comfort Suites, however since we have much travelling planned and we were not staying more than 2 nights we chose a smaller motel.
Older motel with clean carpet, bathroom and beds. The building we stayed in was a concrete building. The bathroom tile is clean but older. Flat screen tv. No blow dryers though the owners wife lent me her there was not outlet that would accomodate its use. We did have a phone in the room. There were a sketchy people walking by but nothing I felt threatened by and would not have stayed if we thought we our our children would be injured in anyway. Convieniently located. From the reports of others we knew visiting the area to go to legoland and staying at Howard Johnsons we were glad we picked it because we had clean carpet and they did not.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arena3jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The current owners have painted inside and out and upgraded the HVAC system in each room. I have family in area and stayed here off and on over several years and with several owners. I am a senior citizen on a limited budget and I like the price. My dog stays with me and she says it is ok. It is an older facility and the rooms are not large but ok for one or two people. Reasonable safe area of town. If you want a bigger, more modern place with a pool check out Green Gables on US 27. It is more expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here when we visited the Lake Wales area and were not impressed! The area is sketchy and a man knocked on our door asking for money to feed his dog though the animal was nowhere to be found. The room itself didn't even have a phone in it. Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaKitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Very bad condition, it is not a place to recomend, not clean, not services, Sorry.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Wales
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
25.3 mi away
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
14.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
873 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn Lake Wales
Budget Inn Lake Wales
#4 of 9 in Lake Wales
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Motel

Property: Prince of Wales Motel
Address: 513 S Scenic Hwy, Lake Wales, FL 33853-4833
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince of Wales Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Motel Lake Wales, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing