We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What a difference two years can make"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Middletown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"What a difference two years can make"”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I raved about this place two years ago and was happy to visit again. However, I agree with the other recent reviews. I was somewhat disappponted because the hotel didn't seem to have - I don't even know what to say - the same owners were there, and they were friendly, but that was about it. It seemed a little run down & kinda uninviting. My husband & I had driven down from New York for my sister-in-law's funeral. I was happy to leave when another relative offered us lodging.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killiangrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
6
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The web page was very misleading. The staff was friendly and helpful, but didn't feel safe staying here. Will try to find somewhere else to stay when we come back to Lake Wales. Some of the pictures must have been taken at an earlier time, because it needs a lot of revamping to look like what the pictures make it look like.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Wales hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very disappointed! Reviews and pictures seemed to be good but very misleading - big mistake. We arrived late and stayed overnight with a group. Uneasy feeling and didn't feel safe even though the doors were locked (front door and sliding glass door). We didn't sleep well. The bed was lumpy and the sheets were thin and worn not crisp clean feeling. To top it off, the bathroom shower didn't spray only streamed water which was brown but eventually cycled through clear water. Didn't eat the breakfast the free contential breakfast. When leaving, I discovered that the hotel allowed extended stay (long-term room rentals) which added to my uneasiness. :( Tennis courts overgrown. Landscaping overgrown around pool area. I'm sure the hotel back in it's day was nice but now it's old and run down.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavballmomteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was very inexpensive and AAA discount but the positive first, AC cold, good door locks. Now the honest Mattress shot, hello Palmetto Bug, and the breakfast was exactly described below. The people were very friendly and it was busy with Workers. Probably try somewhere else and spend more next time There was no Best Western nearby.

Room Tip: Did not see any lake / Forsale sigh just south of Office / Rooms at back are very quiet, but you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaDelrayDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We flew to Orlando to pick up a car. Green Gables Inn came up on a Google search for hotels near Lake Wales, where the dealership was located. Reviews looked good, but after being there, I think the pictures posted are quite old. Unfortunately I don't have new ones to add. The staff was very friendly and the pool was nice, as well as a mini fridge and a microwave in the room. The room was, as someone else said, "mediocre". I usually avoid Super8 motels, and the room here at Green Gables was close to a Super8. The continental breakfast was lame (think Otis Spunkermier muffins, bagels, and room temperature cream cheese). That being said, you tend to get what you pay for, and a hotel with a swimming pool 10 minutes from Disney for only $66 a night is a good deal. :-)

Room Tip: The block of rooms away from the pool has a nice view out the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjShrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The front desk staff was friendly but the room itself was only mediocre. Wi-fi was very unreliable, but staff were helpful when trying to get it to work again (tho' it did not). Would look into other places to stay instead of here next time. Had a roach in the bathroom but realize that could happen anywhere down south. We heard from locals that the adjacent Sizzlin' Restaurant is very good but we did not go there. This place is neither a resort nor lakeside (note that the website lists it as both).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

It is a nice hotel.
The hotel mangers were VERY nice.
Very pleasant surprise - the coffee was excellent.
Cool benefit. You can bring your fishing gear and fish right there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Wales
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
27.6 mi away
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Wales
2.8 mi away
Budget Inn Lake Wales
Budget Inn Lake Wales
#4 of 9 in Lake Wales
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017

Property: Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017
Address: 21380 Hwy 27, Lake Wales, FL 33859-6852
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017 Lake Wales, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing