We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old. Worn Out. Pretty Clean. Cheap. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

If you need a cheap (comparatively) place to stay in this area, this place will do. Expect a bed and a shower. Any more than that and you'll be disappointed. :-)

The breakfast is minimal. All carbs, no eggs or meat.

That's all I can say.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank GrampyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Ended up staying here because the 2 chain hotels in the area were full. Room was $95 and beds were very comfortable and clean. Definitely a older hotel but much better than most hotels in the Keys. I would definitely stay here again if in the area and the steak house directly next door was excellent and great prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishinsfl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our visit was for a race in Sebring, only hotel avail nearby. We booked 2 rms 102 and 120 and both a dump.
We discovered old stained blankets, old mattress, bd-pread -not clean, hole in bath door, mold on tiles.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1nsbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

When our WALLET DISAPPEARED from the room, the management immediately went into DENIAL MODE rather than investigate, or at least humor us and tell us that they would investigate.
We ended up filing a police report, just to force them to respond and to keep a better eye on their security, for the sake of future travelers.
According to the ratings on Hotels.com this dump does not even make one star!
Walking in to the room, there were hairs on the bathtub ledge, and the bathroom chrome was not clean. That is what was visible- imagine what was lurking.
The towels were grungy, the cute folding it in a bow could not hide it.
The state of the bathroom made the rest of the room kind of creepy since rugs and bedspreads conceal alot.
Breakfast: coffee styrofoam cups were 4 oz cups. Food was packaged fast food, no fresh milk- it was pretty lame.
But nothing was as bad as the management just shrugging off the missing wallet.

Room Tip: watch your wallet and maybe choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NurseJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

First impression i was weary. But when I walked into the lobby and it was super clean and smelled wonderful I knew it would be fine. The owner was super friendly and they have easy truck parking for any other driver out there. If you need clean, affordable, and a good breakfast. This is it. No signs of bugs and the pool was clean and nice to relax in.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Rather than go 3 more miles to the Holiday Inn (and 3 more miles back in the morning to our destination, Bok Tower Gardens), we tried Green Gables (and yes, the gables are even lit up at night in green neon). Pleasant management, quiet (after turning off fridge) but dark room at the back overlooking greenery, a bit old and musty, but 2 big pluses over many more expensive places: a window that opens and a bath plug that works. A bit of white paint, a couple more pillows, and we would gladly return. Good steakhouse next door.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NervousNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Im a truck driver which means i had to park in back lot...after walking in pouring rain to front desk the clerk was very accomidating...walked to room in pouring rain w baggage in tow only to find the room had noe sheets or blankets so he gave me another room. Upon entering the room now soaking wet i found a sandwitch in microwave. The bathroom towels were stained and the shower had luke warm water(turned hot water fawsett on only)...they were knocking on my door 30 minutes before checkout and when asked for a 1 hour extention they refused....i paid 70 bucks for 12 hour stay that was less than acceptable....never again. The pictures must be from 1980.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baldie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Wales
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
11.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
27.6 mi away
Westgate River Ranch Resort & Rodeo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bartow
Hampton Inn Bartow
#1 of 3 in Bartow
274 reviews
6.7 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
947 reviews
2.8 mi away
Budget Inn Lake Wales
Budget Inn Lake Wales
#4 of 9 in Lake Wales
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017

Address: 21380 Hwy 27, Lake Wales, FL 33859-6852
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake Wales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lake Wales
Price Range: £57 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - UPDATED 2017 Lake Wales, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing