We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you are desperate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Reviewed 1 April 2012

First of all, I check in at about 5, pay the extra for wired Internet. I get to my room and try to connect, but the log-in credentials they gave me didnt work. I went to the front desk, just to see they have closed for the day. I called the 500 number for after hours but only got a voicemail whose box was full. I called about an hour later and the maintenance man answered, but told me he knew nothing about the Internet, that I would have to wait until tomorrow. Well I went back to my room, laid down on their idea of a bed (a futon mattress on a piece of supported plywood) I was going to start looking for a new place the next day. Well the next night, I had laundry to do, I went to the laundry room where you have to purchase these cash cards from this machine but they were out of cards, and I'm at work when someone is actually at the desk so I'm screwed. Please stay somewhere else

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustangGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIPgdyer, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Value Place Guest,



Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experiences at our property. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.



At Value Place, we strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart, and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issue promptly.



Sincerely,
Value Place Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Can't say enough good things about this extended stay hotel. Staff was great and check in was easy. Centerally located in Lakeland and lots of places to shop and eat. Internet sometimes hard to connect so took laptop to Dennys on two occasions but work fine the rest of the time at the hotel. The room was very clean and the refrigerator was full size. We had brought a few plastic shelves and a conventional small oven with us and ate in the room most of the time. We had the room right by the door and it was very peaceful and easy access to the parking lot. We will be closing on a house in Florida in the near furture and will stay here again.

Don and Cindy C

Room Tip: Any room would be good as there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disney753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIPgdyer, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Value Place Guest,



Thank you for posting a review of your experience at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and I assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.



Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!



Sincerely,
Value Place Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I spent 28 days here as part of my relocation. I arrived late at night, after the office had closed, but a single phone call got me all checked in. I had initially booked a studio with with the sleeper sofa, but apparently those were all taken, so I was upgraded to a two twin studio. The room was very clean and spacious enough for one. A full size refrigerator, two burner stove and microwave made the room very functional for a long-term stay.

As has been stated, the internet service is very lacking,however, in speaking with the staff, they know the issues and they said that there were plans to upgrade the service in the near future. While the building was very full during the majority of my stay, it was quiet and there was very little wait for the elevator. There are only a couple of things stopping me from giving a 5 star: The aforementioned internet service is the primary reason. Also, while i had a credit card reservation for my entire 4 week stay, each week I had to have my card key recoded to work. Being that I would get back to from work after the desk had closed for the evening, this proved to be a bit of pain because I would have to call the night manager (who lives at the hotel) and he would have to come, open the office and re-code my key card. I reserved the dish pack as well, but it was not presented when I checked in. Being that I left for work before the office opened and arrived afterwards, I had to leave early from work on day to get to the desk before it closed to get my dish pack as well as my internet access codes. Another issue is they use a rechargeable smart card system for the laundry facilities. There was no notice that you had to get the actual smartcard from the desk. Again, my work hours meant I had to either wait until Saturday or leave early to get what I consider a basic requirement. The machine used to charge the smartcard only accepts denominations greater than $5. The machines charge $1.75 per load (or $3.50 for wash and dry). I ended up leaving money on the laundry card since I had to put $5 in when I only need to add $1 for my final dryer load.

The staff may want to consider having the additional items (internet access, dish packs, etc) that are reserved with a credit card ready to give to the guests when they check in or at least give a printed notice explaining these things.

Overall, my stay was excellent. The staff is great, the hotel is very clean and while nobody likes living in a hotel for a month, the Value Place of Lakeland proved to be an excellent value. A few changes to processes the value will be even better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIPgdyer, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Value Place Guest,



Thank you for posting a review of your experience at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and I assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.



Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!



Sincerely,
Value Place Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed in this place several times and everything management says is great BUT EFFICIENT HIGH SPEED INTERNET.. I intended to go there again for a extended stay this winter but was informed by some friends I recommeded to this place that the internet leaves much to be desired. They stayed there two weeks in Nov 2011 and said the staff and service was great except online service. Since I need a reliable network connection I have changed my plans and will stay a the Extended Stay in Lakeland.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIPgdyer, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Value Place Guest,



Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experiences at our property. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.



At Value Place, we strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart, and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issue promptly.



Sincerely,
Value Place Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My wife and I needed a place to stay in Lakeland until we could move into a new apartment. I chose Value Place because the price was right ($699 + 12% tax for four weeks for a studio), and because it was in a good location from which I could easily get to work. The room was fine -- it was clean and well-kept -- the fixtures and furniture showed no excessive wear. The bathroom was clean, and there was plenty of hot water. There is a full-sized refrigerator/freezer, a microwave oven, and a two-burner stove. My wife enjoyed the cable television. What made this an excellent (as opposed to an adequate) stay, however, are the people who work there. To a woman, to a man, they were all genuinely (as opposed to phonily) pleasant and friendly, every day. We stayed there for 30 days -- if anybody who worked there had been unpleasant or unprofessional, well, we would have seen it at some point, and we did not. The few times that my wife or I had to make requests, the response was always to the effect of "no problem, we will take care of it". At least a couple of the members of the staff live in the building, and there were a few times that I had to have my electronic room key reactivated at night, which required contacing the onsite personnel after work hours -- but again, it was not a problem, and the gentleman took care of it right away.

If you need a good price for a place to stay for an extended period, and prefer to deal with regular people who know how to do business the right way, then may I highly recommend the Value Place in sunny Lakeland, Florida.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard1380211242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIPgdyer, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Value Place Guest,



Thank you for posting a review of your experience at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and I assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.



Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!



Sincerely
Value Place Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I am on a month long stay, I was looking for a clean, quiet, convenient proximity wise, economical place to reside. I booked this based on price alone last September and have been disappointed only slightly during the first 10 days of my stay.

The good:
The price, location, appearance, amenities are all perfect. I have not had a problem with the internet like a previous review reported, mine works fine on my laptop as well as my Blu Ray player. I was able to 'piggy back' off of another WIFI source to operate both at once.
The staff is overly friendly, they were able to accomadate me checking me in two days early, that was huge to me then.

The Bad: Not much, they have issues with some of the entrance doors, they seem to operate when they want to. Two of them, at one time or another, were not working, never at the same time.

The indifferent: I have not used the laundry, I don't have an opinion. i do see people in there quite often though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catmandoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIPVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

.
Thank you for posting a review of your experience at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and I assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.



Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Well lets Start with rooms. Yes nice 2 burner stove and full Frig.

Bedding is a matress on a plywood frame. no boxspring.

Internet. Well lets put it this way with managment not knowing what a port is let alone how they operate. Saying they have "high Speed internet" it should be listed as. "Slow Speed port 80 access only" After 15 days of trying to explain how ports operate. Aswell the need for buisness travellers to have access to them I find myself looking for another hotel.

Reporting a problem with the door. (batteries in the door that reads the card dying). Multiple yellow flashing lights. 5 hours later after going to the office/Front desk was the door fixed.

The sad part is the employee's do a wonderful job. very friendly and helpful.

The managment on the other hand. Unless its important to them on a professional or personal level you get next to zero service.

Wait im incorrect you get eye's rolled at you. You are told "it's working for other people so it must only be in your head"

So Valueplace is nice as long as you are not required to speak to the manager or request and services that is advertised.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dezeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP-Clean-Safe-Simple, Public Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the management team at Value Place Extended Stay Hotels, we are grateful to have had you stay with us and appreciate your candid feedback. We take all customer comments seriously so that we can serve you better; your satisfaction is our top priority. This property has recently come under new management and received wonderful reviews from our guest check-out surveys.

We hope that you will continue to chose Value Place for all your lodging needs so that you may save money without sacrificing comfort.


Sincerely,

VP Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.4 mi away
Ecco Suites
Ecco Suites
#13 of 33 in Lakeland
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#20 of 33 in Lakeland
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodSpring Suites Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodSpring Suites Lakeland

Address: 4000 N Florida Ave, I-4 & Hightway 33, Lakeland, FL 33805-1925 (Formerly Value Place Lakeland)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WoodSpring Suites Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. Kitchens in every room. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Free wi-fi and access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. - Daily housekeeping included in nightly rate. - Private bathroom in each suite (ADA and ADA w/ Roll-In shower available) - Guests can book by the night. Weekly and extended stay rates also available. - Front desk opened and staffed Mon. - Fri. 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM | Sat. - Sun. 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM - Pet-friendly Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WoodSpring Suites Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing