We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Dinner Review”
Review of Frescos

Frescos
Ranked #35 of 450 Restaurants in Lakeland
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Local. Unique. Refreshing. Downtown Lakeland's original Gastropub & Craft Cocktail Bar serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch. Live music on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. The Perfect Mix!
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pre-Dinner Review”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We arrived at 4:30 p.m. and were informed that the dinner service begins at 5:00 p.m., but the starter and salad menu was available. The bistro has a full menu and serves an extensive bottled beer menu, a nice wine menu, and (recently) cocktails. We had a "signature" hamburger and the BBQ chicken pizza. Both were excellent. We will go back for the dinner service as the menu looked intriguing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WGVRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    59
    23
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the food - not liking the new change in decor”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Not sure why they put a carpet down when they opened the new bar area?? The feel of the room has changed and not sure we like it at all - good thing the weather is changing and we are able to sit outside. Booth seating (instead of the high tops) not a good idea - especially in the front windows - watched several people not want to sit there and be moved last Wednesday night. New rectangle four tops instead of square - so strange. Everything felt more like a DINER instead of a BISTRO now...who thought of these changes - not a good idea. The bistro had something wonderful going after all these years. The food is wonderful - as always - don't lose the chef 'cause someone needs to pay for these bad changes and ideas in décor. Carpet when you had tile - makes no sense and sitting right next to others if I wanted to dine with others I would make friends and not adore my furry daughter.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great lunch menu: salads, soups, sandwiches. Nice dinner: duck, risotto, chicken picatta. Music on the weekends. And, Sunday brunch can't be beat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“An OK meal for the money”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Five of us ate at this downtown restaurant prior to going to see "Grease". We were told to sit wherever we wanted, so we picked the corner booth. The atmosphere and surroundings were nice, except it was very loud. We had a difficult time hearing the waitress, and she had a difficult time hearing us. The waitress was nice, but got things a bit mixed up. She tried, she really did. My wife and I ordered Unsweet iced tea. After getting it, we put sweetener in it only to find out it was already sweet tea! So we sent it back with a request for Unsweet tea. It came again SWEET. So, we sent for the tea a third time, and the third time was a charm. She mixed up our friends order of wine. My soft-shell crab was chewy and I could only eat half.
Once we placed our order it took about 35-40 minutes for our food to come. Finally we had to ask about it. The service was slow, and it was not all that busy. All in all it was just an OK meal for the money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresco's: A great meal, fine wine, and great music”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Herb-encrusted Pork Tenderloin is amazing, good wine selection and live music and nice ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frescos also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Frescos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing