We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun experience”
Review of Safari Wilderness

Safari Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tours daily BY RESERVATION ONLY. Have you ever dreamed of going on an authentic safari? At Safari Wilderness, you will enjoy fresh air year-round as enormous birds soar overhead. Our knowledgeable and experienced guides will tour you through 260 acres, interacting with huge herds of wetland exotic species, Watusi cattle, and Haflinger horses in custom safari vehicles, fitted with shade canopies and stadium seating. Or book a camelback or horseback game viewing safari tour. A llama trek is also available. Indulge your senses in a ring-tailed lemur feeding. Safari Wilderness is a Florida agritourism project. Located 6 mi. north of I-4 between Orlando and Tampa in an expansive and pristine wilderness area.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Safari Wilderness Ranch is a very tranquil setting. All of the animals appear to be healthy and well cared for. One and a half hour camel ride provided us with the opportunity to view zebras, springboks and other creatures in a natural setting. If you have never ridden on a camel before it can be physically challenging but well worth it. Guides were friendly and informative. A hidden gem off the beaten path.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    47
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“Really Cool Place with Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First off, we did the Pumpkin Safari which was offered over the Halloween holiday season. This is an abridged version of the normal truck Safari but in the evening (4-9) with a campfire/bonfire at the end and the other +$ activities (camal rides, lemur feeding, guinea pig feeding). This was a perfect event for our family since we have a a 3 yr. old who probably wouldn't have wanted to sit through a 2+ hour regular safari.

The grounds of the place were very nice for a farm type environment and our hosts were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The safari tour had a lot of animals to see and watch. Our guide explained all of the animals with great detail and was happy to answer questions. They are working on getting approval for rhinos and hippos in the future, so it sounds like it will only get better. We paid the extra $$ for the camal ride at the end which the kids loved. They were excited to go to school the next day and talk about it. Our 3 yr. old was even looking forward to returning before we had even left. We will defininitely book again in the future as time and money allows.

My only advice to the owners/operators (and they may already do this) is to offer the evening abridged tour throughout the year for the little ones (and because Florida summers tend to be hot and muggy). It was the perfect length for kids and allowed them time to do the other things at the end. Thank you for a great experience. We look forward to coming back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Day”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a great place to visit. The people are very friendly. They really know about and care for their animals. This is a working ranch Not a zoo so don't look for cages just open area. Tour guide was great and informative it was nice to feed the animals on the tour all very gentle in taking the feed out of your hand. My wife rode the camel a little extra in cost but she said it was worth it. She loved it. Last but not least by far these animals are all African and some from India. It was really a good day..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
“Neat Safari ranch for the family!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had an amazing time here! We did the full tour and the lemur feeding. The tour guides are very nice to everyone stopping and taking time for all to get pictures and feed the animals. Very informative. Kathy and Kala were our guides. A mother/ daughter duo that made our trip worth it! they explained every animal in detail and answered all the questions. Our 4 yr old loved every minute. After the tour we fed the lemurs. They are so gentle. Again, our 4 yr old loved it! All the animals are very well taken care of. We are going back soon to do the camel ride. Highly recommend this place for families with small children. The ranch has several animals they can see and pet. Great experience for our family!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hump day adventure”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a hoot riding a camel choice of Dromedary or Bactrian camels..like riding a horse but legs hang, no stirrups...beautiful ranch and an excellent variety of animals, not one or two but herds, which makes it more special..camel ride is about 90 minutes 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. Do the 10 a.m. animals in full swing. By 1 p.m. too hot and animals are resting and not out as much...ride all out in the sun so make sure you have a hat, sun block and bottle of water...no place to put anything on camel, so have some kind of carrier..staff very knowledgeable and friendly and very good with the camels. A little pricey paying full price, search for Groupon or the like. They have a 10 minute ride for $20 which I would like to take my 5 year old grand-daughter on..would be long enough for young child to experience...overall great fun and something different..Wednesdays are becoming very popular day since that commercial on TV...weekends crowded in season

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Metrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Wilderness also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Safari Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing