We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to watch new movies!”

Silvermoon Drive-in
Ranked #1 of 15 Fun & Games in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place to watch new movies!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I love the silver moon. We've been going there over ten years now and it's always been a great experience. There's nothing better than enjoying a movie at a drive in. Low admission fees, great food, and an awesome time. Love it!!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    43
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is definitely worth the drive! We are about an hour away, and try to get there several times a year. It's a great bargain for the tickets ($4 or $5 per person for 2 movies!) and the concessions are reasonable too. In the cooler months, don't forget some blankets. When the warm weather moves in, don't forget the mosquito repellant! We bring our camp chairs and sit behind the car with the stereo on. It's great family fun!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank believeangls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lucky we have one in town!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

From what I know there are very few Drive-Ins left in the States so when we found out we had one here in Lakeland we had to try it. That was like five years ago and we're still regulars. Where else can you watch two brand new movies for less than the price of one at your local mall theater. $5 each for two movies and if you go early in the week it's buy one get one free with the local Lakeland coupon (found on small coupon booklet you can find even on local gas stations). They use digital projectors so the movie quality is really good. Audio through your car stereo but they do still have a few rows in the back with the old fashion window mount speakers. Nice snack bar. Just remember to bring mosquito repellent just in case.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MariRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It is an experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife, dog and I went to see a double feature last Saturday. The place was packed, I would suggest getting there early on a weekend night to get a good spot. This is an old drive-in that has been updated some but retains most of it's "rustic charm". You are paying $5 per person and $1 for kids to get in so realize you aren't at the local cineplex. That said it is a great family fun night out on the cheap. You can bring in your own food and drink. They do have some decent pizza at a cheap price. They have a great dog walking area and the staff is very friendly. The speakers in the areas where they have them work ok but just tune in your radio and you are all set.

Yes, you can see some lines in the "screen" and the trains going by during the show can disrupt things sometimes but that is all part of the experience. A fun place at a good family friendly price. I wish we had one in Orlando.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gatorfan1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Great value for the money. You can't beat it. It is a little harder to enjoy in the summer because of the heat and Mosquitos but as long as you keep your windows rolled up in the air on you'll be fine.

Helpful?
Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silvermoon Drive-in also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Silvermoon Drive-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing