We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aerospace Discovery at the Florida Air Museum at Sun 'n Fun
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.99*
and up
Admission to Aerospace Discovery at the Florida Air Museum with Optional Tour
Ranked #10 of 53 things to do in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Aerospace Discovery at Florida Air Museum is the Official Aviation and Aerospace Education Center of the State of Florida. Our mission is to honor the past while inspiring the future with state of the art technology. Interactive learning stations for part of the exhibits to educate visitors from al lover the world. STEM based station allows visitors to interact and participate in real world environments that immerse them in the subject and enhance an understanding through hands on applications. Unique areas of interest are the Howard Hughes Archives, Air Racing Simulators, Florida Aviation Hall of Fame, Innovations in Propulsion Exhibit, Pilot Briefing Stations, and over 20 historical aircraft on display.
Madison, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit of nostalgia!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This isn't exactly Oshkosh, but you would enjoy the history as you walk through the various examples of airplanes. We went on an off day so there was virtually no one around...which actually made it even nicer for us in a way. One odd thing was that when we walked into the hangar, got inside via the wide-open hangar door, looking for a place to pay, someone made us walk back out and around to a side door entrance. Shame on us for walking through that wide-open big door:-) Silly people management. But, the overall experience was what I expected and wanted. Aviation buffs will enjoy this!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarvinB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    54
    27
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Avation Buff's Dream”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Wonderful collection of vintage aircraft spanning a century many of which were experimental and/or racers spanning a century








Interesting collection of aircraft spanning a century many of which were one offs. The museum is laid out nicely and the exhibits well curated. Especially worth seeing is the Howard Hughes exhibit which includes his custom flight suit as well as one he had made for Katherine Hepburn. There also are outside exhibits which are not to be missed. Admission is very reasonable.




.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We got a great deal for an annual membership through Groupon, since our son loves science and airplanes, and we planned to be in the area for a day trip we thought we'd check it out. Wow what a mistake! Even at a price the basically pays for itself after 1 visit, we regret being members here. This museum is a small handful of old air planes with a few hands on exhibits (most of which were not working) and not much else. So disappointing!

We have been promising our son a visit to Fantasy of Flight and thought this might suffice for this year. No, it just has wanting for more and ready to go for a visit there even more now. Our membership doesn't expire til next year, but thinking we may never return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathiewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice museum off the beaten path”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a great museum to sample aircrafts - if you aren't sure you want to invest money & time in going to Fantasy of Flight. Glad we went here first to see if our family was interested in more airplanes. Really liked the building were airplanes are being repaired and restored, interesting volunteer workers to help explain the process. Other hangers had a nice variety of planes. We used our reciprocal museum pass for free admission. This was a nice diversion from the larger theme parks nearby. This has a back to basics feeling. It was good to see the student activity throughout the buildings from the aircraft school next door.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

While not as big as some air museums, they have a nice collection with several planes in flying condition including a few I've never seen before in person (like the Lysander). Many aircraft are parked outside so plenty off room for the kids to roam. We had a pass to attend but I think the museum costs $10 and there are senior/military/student discounts. Call and ask about scheduled flyovers-they had some during our visit but unsure if those occur daily or we just got lucky. They also have a restoration area where they work to rebuild planes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MoBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aerospace Discovery at the Florida Air Museum at Sun 'n Fun also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Aerospace Discovery at the Florida Air Museum at Sun 'n Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing