We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ribs, tasty potato salad and great service.”

Granger and Sons BBQ
Ranked #85 of 446 Restaurants in Lakeland
Price range: US$2 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Description: Cash only.
Pooler, G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful ribs, tasty potato salad and great service.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After reading all the reviews we decided to arrive a little early for dinner on a Saturday in April and we were the first to arrive. Only ribs were ready although the owner said that steaks would be ready in about 45 minutes if we wanted to wait. We decided to go with the ribs and it turned out to be a good choice. 2 racks shared between 3 adults and 2 kids together with fixings. The ribs were quite superb and a mention to the potato salad also, which was really nice. The owners were super pleasant as well. As we ate, people began to arrive and by the time we had finished the place was filling up fast. Will definitely go back here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always too good”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I drive over to lakeland 4 or 5 times a year. Best BBQ, we found this place 9 years ago, never dissapointed always great smoked flavor

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moltonalnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BBQ AT IT'S BEST”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Real BBQ smoked over wood the old fashioned way. Nothing fancy about this place and a limited menu. But if you like BBQ ribs, you will find none better. Every trip to Florida from Wisconsin includes a stop here. They only make so much and when it is gone it is gone. Limited hours.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SURESHOT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going back tomorrow...”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We visit every time we are in area, multiple times if possible! Can't find a friendlier group, food is fantastic and well priced. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and plan your return trip. Don't be late though, when they run out of food, the menu is limited!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, and great people”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Granger and family have been around a long time, wish I could make potato salad like that, and love the sauce. Plenty on the plate to fill you up.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granger and Sons BBQ also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Granger and Sons BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing