We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    79
    91
    94
    175
See reviews for
181
81
56
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I have to say I was skeptical of staying here due to the reviews. I decided to give them a try, and we are so happy we did. As a retired inspector I was prepared to put this hotel thru my own personal scrutiny. We received a room with tiled floors, it was spotless! I had to keep in mind that this was an older hotel and it has been awhile since I had stayed in an exterior entrance hotel. The price was an amazing value for all that we received.
It's location is perfect, the staff treats you like family, the bartender makes great mixed drinks.
We even received a personal invite to the hotel barbecue. We have our hotel for all our wrestling tournaments in the central Florida area!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrestlingNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear WrestlingNana,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for giving us feedback about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your stay during wrestling tournaments. Thank you for giving us a try. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Chris and Justice, front desk, were most helpful and courteous during my week long stay. They deserve special recognition for their efforts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about Justice and Chris and will pass that on to them. We really appreciate all of our business travelers. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The staff was very, very helpful (especially Leandra, Chris, & Ray), breakfast was pretty good. Problems with someone having smoked in the 1st non-smoking room we got and no internet connection in the 2nd, but the staff worked hard to fix things & we did get a good room (although the tile floor was a bit dirty) by the morning of the 2nd day. We stayed for 10 days and had no problems after we got the 3rd room. They probably ought to put all the non-smoking rooms in one section & the smoking rooms in another tho, as I could still smell the smoke from the room above when I opened the door. Nice pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st floor by the pool & guest laundry room - very nice, more quiet, lots of palm tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Victoria B,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate you telling us about your extended business stay. We are very sorry if your were inconvenienced at all. We will pass your feedback on to our staff.. We really value all guest feedback, because it allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have always stayed at the Howard Johnsons But with all these bad reviews why would I want to take 5 rooms for 8 days? I am hoping before booking my rooms that I can get an answer. And all the good reviews are only for a one time visit we come 3 times a year with our group.Thank You for anyone that may help us out. We have a large group and have to make reservations ASAP.
Melissa Manee

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lakeland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#21 of 33 in Lakeland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 33 in Lakeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites
TownePlace Suites
#18 of 33 in Lakeland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Property: Howard Johnson Lakeland
Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lakeland Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing