We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Reviewed 22 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Owner at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Lakeland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Cathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2013

1. Check in and Check out was quick
2. Not very clean room (saw few cockroaches)
3. Average bathrooms with some drainage issues.
4. Location is good.
5. Free breakfast is great. (includes fruits and hot breakfast)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank LT2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear LT2938,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The front desk was very nice but the rooms were so gross. Walked in the room, looked around and immediately left. Stains on the comforter, stains on the chair, dirt in every corner and you can see right through the sides (edges) of the front door. All set with bugs and lizards just coming right in although I'm sure there were already cockroaches and bugs in the room. RUN FAR AWAY from this place...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Owner at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

In October of 2013 the Howard Johnson Lakeland made changes to the management staff; the change was done to enable us to once again be the place where our guests find a hotel offering great value, guest centric customer service, and clean/comfortable rooms. We take all of our guest comments seriously and the feedback provided on this site was a critical piece in allowing us to make the necessary changes. Moving forward we welcome future guests to try us out and let us know how we are doing, and for those who stayed in the past we welcome you to give us another try. Regards, New Management Howard Johnson Lakeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were pleased with our stay here. All staff @ front desk were very accomodating. Our room was always cleaned and, room service made sure we had all that was needed everyday. The pool was very clean, cool in the daytime & looked lit up @ night. Lots of entertainment also, A bar with pool tables and a live Dj on weekends, I've even seen a comedy act there. There's something for everyone, even Church too! Rates are VERY reasonable & worth it. I will deffinently rent rooms there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Havaii.nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear havaii.nguyen,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Lakeland. We value all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

well let me start by saying all the workers treat u like a friend and are very helpfull !!!!
this has been one of the best times i have had and it make me fell like im right at home from all the pretty ladys to the cool waters of the pool to the good games of pool at the bar its a great place and the owner is the most big hearted person in the world god blees u

Room Tip: just ask the front desk and trust me they no best just let them no any worrys they have and the will...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank layyadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear layyaddown,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We hope you all enjoyed your stay in Lakeland. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#20 of 33 in Lakeland
574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#17 of 33 in Lakeland
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range: £35 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lakeland Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing