We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak in the area”

Texas Cattle Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Texas Cattle Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 450 Restaurants in Lakeland
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Main Street & S Lake Ave
Description: For over 40 years, Texas Cattle Company, a family owned and operated restaurant, has been a local favorite serving only select USDA Prime and Choice, three year old grain-fed beef. We steer clear of fancy cooking methods, flame-broiling our steaks over a natural wood-burning fire made from Florida citrus and oak wood. At Texas Cattle Company, our pledge is to exceed the expectations of our guests by providing highly personalized service, signature steaks and the freshest seafood prepared to perfection. We ensure the most exceptional dining experience, leaving our guests with a desire to return for more!
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Steak in the area”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Although popular with birthday folks for its free steak offer, we love it for the steak - even at full price! High quality raw ingredients, attention to detail when cooking over real wood fire, and a decent wine list make this a great local steak house. Our favorite is the Rib-eye, but the Cowboy Porterhouse is always a winner and enough for two to share. The Escargot is always a winner, but the potato chips with bluecheese and garlic is an addictive treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    156
    87
    60
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as great as we were told”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Texas Cattle Company on the recommendation of friends. While it was nice, we felt it was greatly overpriced for the quality off food and dining experience. There are many places to get a better steak at a lower price. Not as great as we were led to believe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank waitintoretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a cheap night out, but worth every dollar”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have tried to make it a tradition to get to this amazing steak house at least once a year. The food is top notch and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. It is better to make a reservation if going, they will take you as a walk in, but you may have to wait a little while.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Disappointing....”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stopped in Sunday evening to be greeted by a hostess who seemed like she wanted to be elsewhere, no smile no eye contact. Our waiter was lacking any kind of energy you would expect from someone wearing a cowboy hat. The salad was horrible, the worst I have ever had, although they did replace it. My steak was flavorful but under cooked and a bit fatty, the potatoes were excellent and robust with flavor. The place was nice but outdated and the section we sat in was very dark. Overall I will not be going back to this place again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faloughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse in Lakeland”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

TCC is a reliable choice for well cooked beef, great chicken, and amazing endless salads. While it is not as upscale as some of the steakhouses in the rest of central Florida, it is a great convenient choice if you are in Lakeland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WesBEnterprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Cattle Company also viewed

 
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Texas Cattle Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing