We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe another time.........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Lakes Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O Lakes
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Maybe another time.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We tried Paradise Lakes before taking a crusie out of Tampa. We liked it so much we came back for a few days after the cruise. Our experience was mixed and we will attempt to explain.

It took us about 30 minutes to drive to the resort from the Tampa airport. The resort is located within a clothing optional community. The community is gated although nobody was manning the gate area. The community consisted of homes, condo's, a small trailer park, and the resort / pool area. The setting was relaxed with allot of retired people around.

We stayed pool side at the resort both times. The rooms were adequate, both rooms entirely mirrored on the walls and ceiling, making the room feel larger that it really was. We saw that there were other rooms in different themes that people could try. The male half would rent a condo next time. The female half loved being pool side and would prefer going back to one of the resort rooms. The bar is located center of the resort area and was a great place to watch the super bowl.

The pool, hot tub, and sports pools were clean and well taken care of. Daily water polo was fun to watch and play. The poeple were more than accomidating and actively recruited you to participate. Employees were making repairs around the pool area as it some areas showed neglect.

Check in and out was easy and the staff helpful. Food from the bar was good for bar food. Food from the restraunt was average. We were not impressed with the male bar staff as they actively verbalized their want for tips. At one point after not tipping the man for a single round of drinks he puffed indignantly with a sour look on his face. Our tip for them is "If you have to ask for a tip you are probably in the wrong line of work". The women wait staff never did this, were very professional, and did receive a nice tip at the end of our stays.

The resort will not allow you to bring any food or drink into the resort and keep a sharp lookout for it. Anything wanted to eat or drink must be purchased from within. We understand but were extremely put off by the militant enforcement. We over did it (drinking) one day at the pool and into the evening at the super bowl party. We spent a considerable abount at the bar and were paying for it the next morning. When we awoke nothing was open at the resort so the male drove to the store and purchased power aid for his wife. He did not conceal the bottle and was abruptly stopped and told not to bring the bottle in. The man complied and asked where he could buy it at the resort and was told that he could not, but when the bar opened they would have something available. This event very nearly made us never come back here.

We did enjoy and evening at Club Reveal. The music was great, drinks were mixed well, and fun was had by all. We are in our 40's, are in shape, and like 70's - 80's music. We had a blast even though we were on the youger side compared to the rest of the attendees. There were a couple of unattached males with fart breath running around but were easy to shoo away.

The retirees exercise every morning in the pool then a group plays a form of bocce. It was fun to watch and talk with these people.

We will try this resort again sometime but may also look at Caliente just to compare. Although allot more costly Desire Resort was well above Paradise Lakes.

Room Tip: He would rent a condo next time. She would stay poolside again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A62chv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    31
    15
    17
    19
See reviews for
1
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I went back for another Halloween experience and a few more days. We continue to see the improvements, enjoy the staff and the patrons of Paradise. Since our last review the food has improved and a new menu is to be out soon and am looking forward to that as we have already booked New Years. We continue to see improvements in the rooms and just about everywhere, it is nice to have owners who care and are visible/accessible if needed. Are there things that could still be improved - Yes, do we believe that they will be addressed - Yes, Rome wasn't built in a day either!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funj_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baxter, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have come two years in a row for their Halloween party. I love the relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. I love the option to dance poolside to a band or to go inside for the club atmosphere. All around a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

First of all, I was torn between rating Paradise Lakes "Average" or "Very Good". We really liked the resort but there are areas of it that definitely could use some attention. When we first pulled into the resort we weren't too sure what to expect because the first impression we had was that this place was maybe not exactly what we were looking for and we wouldn't have a good time. But... we were wrong! We stayed in a studio room in the Fountains area and we loved our accommodations. The room was very nice. The owners lived next door and they were the nicest people. They even let us use their golf cart to get around. Everyone we met at Paradise Lakes was very nice.

We arrived on a Tuesday and departed on Thursday. The resort was not busy at all and there were plenty of lounge chairs available at the main pool. We were surprised to find that the main pool area was super nice and a lot of fun. We had a few beers and ordered a burger one evening at the Key West bar. The Key West bar is centered in the main pool area which consists of the main pool, conversation pool, hot tub, volleyball pools and the gym. The beers and food seemed to be priced about the same as what you find outside the resort. We did not try anything at the main restaurant.

I believe their club was called Club Reveal and we happened to go on karaoke night. The club was actually not bad but we don't really do clubs so we did not stay too long.

Anyway... I decided to give it a "Very Good" rating since we had such a good time and we found the main pool area and accommodations to be very good. We were glad we visited Paradise Lakes and would definitely return.

Tips: If you have never been, schedule a tour (took about fifteen minutes) and they will waive the day fee. Don't go to the pool area that is in the back of the resort. It needs some updating.

Room Tip: Our studio room in the Fountains area was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DRINDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have the luxury of having this and other resorts in my town, I can offer a perspective on the amazing changes that have taken place at Paradise Lakes. I am a young and fit, single female in her 40s and I would never hesitate to go to Paradise. I have read the reviews that say it is all seniors (which, by the way, who cares? they are fun and friendly, clothing or not). But, you'll have to figure that out for yourself. There is a wide range of people there and you are free to be yourself. That is a great thing now days. Anyway, the changes have been amazing. The pools, rooms and grounds have been restored from the disrepair that they were in. "New Owners/New Attitude" is the motto now and it shows. If you check out the reviews, nearly all from 2013 (when the new owners took over) are positive. I don't understand the issue with pricing as it is quite a bargain for what you get. I can't go out to dinner in a nice restaurant (except maybe fast food) and not pay less than $7.00 for my meal. Plus, I get to be in a fun friendly atmosphere. There are complimentary entrance fees on some nights, and day passes that are at least 50% less than the club down the way...and drinks? Have you seen their all you can drink for $20 deals. Club Reveal is such fun with all sorts of events and evenings. This is my go to place, I always suggest it to my out of town friends that are looking for a clothing optional resort. I hope to see you there :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We visited Paradise Lakes over the Labor Day weekend. We stayed two nights and don’t imagine ever going back.

There were good and bad parts to our visit. We will list a few of those and maybe offer a little advice to the management if they read this.

You are warned not to bring ANY food or beverage including water on to the grounds. This is so you have to purchase everything there. We found that to be a little concerning but we gave it a try. A mixed drink at the bar was $7. Very expensive and not strong, plus the bartenders where slow even with it not being very busy. We did not eat the food but it was around $7 for a burger cooked out on a gas grill. Seemed expensive for the value, we left and went elsewhere to eat and drink for a while.

The grounds are nice, the place is well kept, the pools clean and in good repair. Our room was as to be expected from other reviews, a bit outdated but all we did was sleep in it anyway.
The nightclub/disco was fun on Saturday night but it felt a bit like watching our mom and dad dirty dance in skimpy clothes. We are in out mid 40’s and were probably the youngest or close to the youngest guests. We are also in pretty good shape, putting us in yet again another minority category.

All the guests seemed very nice, we just move at a faster pace. They had bingo on Sunday afternoon… (remember this is a holiday weekend) so you can tell the crowd they are catering too. We had breakfast at the restaurant on Sunday morning and it was terrible! We waited forever, for an one over easy egg and muffin and it was over hard and cold.

Overall just not a place for us… maybe the prices for food and drink are lower when it is not a holiday weekend…

As for advice, keep your prices reasonable then people wont think about sneaking in beverages to their rooms (some did we saw it, we did not). Keep the food reasonable and tasty, like $2 for a burger, you don’t want people leaving the resort to get food. Consider making clothing a requirement in the restaurant. I don’t want to eat a Prime Rib dinner and have some naked old man sitting at a table next to me. Kind of strange and it cheapens the experience. Also, find a way to attract a more diverse crowd… we don’t mind older guests, but you have to have a better mix.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Land O Lakes hotels

Brooksville Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We see some negative photos up here. What folks need to realize is this. The resort was in limbo until about 1 year ago (September 2012). New owners (Jerry and Patti) took over at that time and have done so much to improve the facilities, atmosphere and overall appearance of the resort. We love it. We are members there and we spend 2 or 3 days a week there and sometimes a couple weekends a month. The negative photos posted in the reviews are a result of a long duration of inattention. Rooms may not be of the same quality of a large Hilton or other big property, but they are very nice, very comfortable. We have found that if we identify a concern, that all the staff is very quick to offer corrections and address the problems. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to stay there. It is 100 times better than other similar resorts. The pricing (while not considered "cheap") is very competitive, the membership is so friendly, and the staff are among the best you can ask for. (Elizabeth, Tony, Robert, Heather, Rene, Jesse, Tom, Rosie, Amanda and the list goes on.....are friendly polite, and sociable!), There are nights where it is a wild crazy place and other nights that are laid back. It is a good place for all to make friends, socialize and watch events unfold as they naturally happen. According to management, a convenience store, suites and other improvements are on the list for the near future. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great....but they do rent condos on site and in the condos you can have food, bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DC60BShift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wesley Chapel
BEST WESTERN Wesley Chapel
#3 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Suncoast Parkway at NorthPointe Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lakes Resort

Property: Paradise Lakes Resort
Address: 2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558-5426
Region: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Lakes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Resort & Spa...We have over 100 hotel rooms; many of them are situated poolside, an upscale restaurant, a rocking nightclub, our Key West Bar at poolside, a fitness center with a gym. a day spa & a boutique featuring the hottest in clubwear, an RV park, tennis, sand volleyball, water volleyball, hot tubs, a heated conversation pool and huge all-season pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Lakes Hotel Land o Lakes
Paradise Lakes Resort Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing