We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked Last Minute”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caliente Club & Resorts
Reviewed 16 June 2014

So we were in Fl from Thursday - Sunday. We decided to wing it as far as where to stay. Friday was not a great beach day so i thought i would call Caliente and check on room for Fri. night. Well they quoted me $279.00 for one night (Included Park Fee) ( we are married Couple in our 50s) I thought the price was way high but the rooms MUST be special for all these $$$. Boy was i wrong about the room. It was tiny, NOT very clean and looked like it had not been painted in years. We were told we have a nonsmoking room but ash treys were provided in the room and on the balcony just in case we needed a puff ( WE DON'T) The Staff were all very friendly and helpfull although when we unpacked our car we had a golf cart pull along side us and two women watch what we were taking to our room. (they don't want you bringing any food or drink into the room coz they want you to buy everything there at inflated prices) Fri night we had dinner there which was excellent!. But after dinner we were told that they had an all male review in the dance room and that ONLY the women were allowed in and then they had to pay an extra $20. We thought this was disgusting and felt like we were headed for a nickle and dime time here. We were told that the male review would end at 10pm and we could go dance after that. So we hung around spending money in the bar as did about 200 other people. 10:45pm the review was still going ( we were told that they were making too much cash to stop yet) so many people started to drift away, many complaining on there way out (they had only paid $30 per couple after 6pm to come in without staying. We had already spent around $400 so far. Needless to say at 11pm we also went back to our tiny room disappointed. The good news was that even though we had to vacate our room by 11am they were ok with us spending the day around the pool spending money on food and drink. Lots of people there Sat. Whole load of swingers that was ok with me, They were all fun people and we got to watch people feeling each other up in one of the pools by the bar. I even got to watch a young couple having sex right next to me!!!. All in All i guess i enjoyed the people and the staff but felt like i was being ripped of all day and night long by the OWNERS. I think we would try other places before we would return to Caliente. But never say never. I don't think i could recommend this place sorry!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Hotel" room, but it is no way a hotel. Motel style all the way. Tip Dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank CandSNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

From the most honest way I mean we had very high expectations for the information of the web page, everything looked fine. However, this "Spa" is the closest thing to an abandoned house, appears to stop in time and maintenance arrangements are not made, in general, all the walls, lamps fans, etc, everything is old, broken or disrepair. But the prices of meals and drinks are extremely expensive, a small glass of orange juice is worth 3 dollars (small vessel), the Alcoholics drinks are the most expensive in Florida. The owners are earning a lot of money for the type of people we're going because there are not many choices but should be in better facilities. The pools are well maintained, staff are all friendly and know their job. And the always polite and respectful guests. So the only ones who have to change their attitude and take seriously the business are the owners.

Room Tip: No comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank hectorortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our 2nd time to visit Caliente Land O'Lakes. Once again, it may not be everyone's cup of tea, but for us, we enjoyed our several day stay. This trip we stayed Sun-Tues. The resort was sold out on Fri & Sat, which is pretty normal it seems. The facilities were being worked on during the time we were there. And being such a large resort, there are things that will always need attention. However, the pool areas and hot tubs were all spot less and crystal clear. The steam rooms and saunas were working better than our first trip. Our room (attached hotel type room) was freshly painted and cleaner than the first time. We both like the screened porch at the back of the hotel rooms. We ate several meals at the resort and it;s very good. Most likely better than what you will find off resort, without driving the 20 or so miles back to Tampa. You have a refrigerator so you can stock beer, wine or water to use in your room, just can't take those things with you to the pool. We also liked the walking trails around the resort and community. It has privacy walls all around, so you can go anywhere on the property without wearing anything except sunscreen. We will return. Haters can go somewhere else would be our advice !

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are the closest to the resort and certainly walk able. But, they do have a golf cart and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flabeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been back to Caliente twice since my first review and we plan on going back. We stayed in a two bedroom condo the second time and a one bedroom condo the third time. We do prefer the villas over the condos but they book up very fast. We talked to some people staying in the hotel and they didn't care for their rooms but we can't say first hand because we never stayed in the hotel. The staff at Caliente are some of the best people. From the front door greeters to the desk people, wait staff and the bartenders, all top notch. Our personal favorite is Colleen ! She remembered our names from the first time we were there. And for some reason, her bar was always the busiest! Sunday, before Memorial Day was very busy. There were a lot of people there just for the day. They had a great band there during the day that played some good music. One thing we didn't care for and the resort can't do much about it, people tend to "save" their lounge chairs all weekend. We got there early one day and almost everything was held. So the next day we went even earlier and there were some of the same towels in the same areas, you could tell they were there overnight. We observed some chairs weren't even use but were saved. Again, not much the resort can do about that, just selfish people hogging good spots ! So we are hooked, trying to plan our next visit there very soon! You won't be disappointed if you go to Caliente !

Room Tip: Stay away from lot 14 and the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went a week in March 2014, it costs to me 1700$ for a casita and daily fees, rather expensive and without Internet access in the casita, which is unacceptable. I had asked for it at the reservation but I got nothing, even discussing it. They say there's a Wi-Fi access around the main building, rather inside, but the speed is in the 100 Kb/s range... Unable to download my newspapers... Very frustrating considering the price we pay and how Internet is needed today. Another client from Italy has complained many times to the manager. He was located at the hotel and had no Internet access either. Otherwise, nice and exciting place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bousag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at Caliente north of Tampa twice now. Both times the resort has easily impressed us. The six tennis courts (three clay, three hard surface) and the tennis community within Caliente were first rate. The grounds are gorgeous and the facilities, from the gym and spa to the pools and restaurants were well maintained and spotlessly clean. Our first visit we stayed in a villa and the second stay was in the hotel. We preferred the villa but the hotel room was considerably less expensive. After all, with the great facilities we were only in our room to sleep. Sometimes we ate at the resort and sometimes we visited local restaurants off the resort. The resort dining was excellent and reasonably priced. Even better, the staff - from the front desk to the bar and wait staff to the security people were all some of the nicest people one would wish to meet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moocDundas_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was our fourth time at the resort. The pool and grounds are still beautiful and the service is great. From the massage therapists to the wait staff, they all have a great attitude and make sure that you really enjoy yourself. The couple’s massage is really a treat. They really understand anatomy and make adjustments to the massage to work on problem areas or deal with injuries, but I would skip the champagne and fruit and head directly to the pool afterwards.

If you need a ride from the airport, the front desk can set you up with Chuck the tennis pro that provides a car service from the airport. He is very courteous and can give you a great overview of the resort on the drive in. We hear his a pretty good pro as well.

They try with the food, but it is about on par with a Chile's. The drinks are generous, but don't miss the Friday Happy Hour in the Piano Bar from 5-7 with half price drinks. If you are a true nudist, you will appreciate that you can dine in either the sport bar or the fine dining restaurant au natural as long as you sit on a towel or cover up. About 50% of the patrons chose to be nude in the restaurants and especially on the patio. Almost 100% choose to be nude at the 3 pools and the hot tub.

This is the first time that we were there during the peak season. We normally go in the winter or early spring. It was a nice change, the large pool was much warmer and you could actually spend time in it without turning blue. The crowds were much larger and younger; especially on Sunday where they reduce the day pass to $20 if you are there before 1pm, see http://sospartymix.com/ for details. Most of the loungers by the main pool were full, but there was still plenty of room.

There were some changes since the last time we were there. It is no longer a family nudist community. The last family with children moved out of the development last year. It is truly an adult only clothing optional resort.

They have added an erotic toy and clothing store to the lower level near the spa. It carried everything from very sexy club-wear to high-end Lelo vibrators. The clothing selection was really hot and there were several women who purchase something new almost everyday of their stay, especially when the saw another woman on the dance floor in one of the outfits from the store. The store associate was very knowledgeable as well.

They have really loosened the restrictions on PDA. The signs about no sexual activity have been removed from the upper conversation pool and hot tub. There were several couples making love on the beach beds near the upper conversation pool every night that we were there. If you are uncomfortable with that it is easy to avoid, and in most cases the couples were somewhat discreet. There were couples during the day kissing and caressing in the large pool and the tiki pool.

There was a "lifestyle" group party while we were there, and they were well behaved, no one was obnoxious or a letch. It was nice to see the resort full and it made the dance floor at the disco even more fun. You don't have to worry about being hit on unless you want to be. Caliente is moving more to feel like one of the "Desire" resorts. The loosening of the rules against PDA and become "Clothing Optional" is the direction most of the nudist resorts are moving to attract younger and more diverse groups. Unlike some of the clothing optional resorts, Caliente has no restrictions on gay couples.

We always enjoy ourselves and regret the day we have to pack up and leave. The nice thing is that you can request a late check out to 1pm. After that you can store your bags and use the facilities until you are ready to leave for the airport. We need to find a way to make it down twice a year vs. just once.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are convenient because they are next to the club house, although they are a little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BeachNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
4.9 mi away
Paradise Lakes Resort
Paradise Lakes Resort
#1 of 1 in Land O Lakes
125 reviews
20.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
#4 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
795 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Club & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Club & Resorts

Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287 (Formerly Caliente Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range: £187 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Club & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of clothing-optional solitude, exhilaration and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned clothing-optional traveler and first-timer alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class sensitivity you so richly deserve.Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last but a week or two, yet the memories will last a lifetime.Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and sumptuous Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Club & Resorts Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing