We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than the posted reviews....had too much fun.....will return.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caliente Club & Resorts
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited on the marketing special but had read the poor reviews on food, staff and fun overall. Yes, we had to be open minded on the adult nature of the resort. We found it delightful. Staff was great and helpful, food was delish, and entertainment was great! The parties were great.. and fun.. and boutique too exciting. Stayed an extra night.. and will return soon... lose your inhibitions... re-discover your partner.. and sit under palm trees and enjoy sunsets..what's not to like. even a rain shower & thunderstorm became more romantic..
don't miss the conversation pool and jacuzzi late night after the parties and dancing >

Room Tip: were never in the room to form an opinion.. for 4 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank travelfanfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel room is very basic but who needs to stay in with so much going on at the clubhouse and pools . The sports bar is a good place to get sandwiches . The conversation pool is so nice , drinks are served poolside .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacksonville-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited Caliente through a marketing special. We had read the reviews, and this helped us prepare for our visit a lot. Many of the reviews were negative, and few made it sound like a fun adventure. We visited with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised, especially where the aesthetics of the resort are concerned. We booked a hotel room for two days, but we actually stayed part of three days. After you check out after the second night, you can stay the rest of that day. We were there on Tuesday thru Thursday. Our room was great, just missing a closet or wardrobe area for me to keep clothes and personal items in private. It was roomy, clean, and nicely decorated. It had a coffee machine with coffee, refrigerator and hair dryer. It had a TV, no DVD player or channel for adult movies which was quite surprising for the type of resort it is. The special room rate was great. However, the rooms are not worth the site price. They are over priced about $30 nightly. This is during down season, so imagine how over priced special events are. Hmmm??? Everyone there was so friendly and helpful. The front gate people, check-in people, waiters and bartenders and anyone we met there were fun and friendly for the most part. There was only one older check-in white-haired guy that took his position too seriously on a Wednesday. He basically frisked me (Yes, I was nude), took out all contents of my beach bag...only to find no alcohol.The guests were very casual and represented every age and size and race you can imagine. This was to my surprise. Also, to my surprise is that we never encountered more than 8 guests at a time. For the most part, we had the pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves the entire stay. The place was deserted. We noticed a few more bodies surface late afternoon on Thursday. The entire facility was clothing optional, and so everyone wore whatever they wanted. In the bar, restaurant and dance club, many people still had minimal outfits, The dance club was open from about 8 PM to about 10. We were actually asked to leave at 10, because that was closing time for the club. Before 11 PM, we tried to get drinks from other resort bars while still enjoying the pool and hot tub only to be told that all bars were closed. What a bummer! No drinks and you are at a resort on vacation. The drinks were also wayyy over priced. The food was decently priced and of good quality. We were pleasantly surprised here. We do take issue to the fact that we lodged at the resort and was unable to take part in the "Blue Plate" food specials. Those were only for members. This was not a way to entice us to membership. The DJ in the club was great, and everyone had a real fun time. They have a waterfall, and lots of different lounging and seating options, especially since there were only eight others at the resort during our stay. They had tennis courts, walking trails, a sexy clothing shop (extremely over priced), four different places reported to us to get food and drinks( only one was ever open), a conversation pool, beach volleyball, water volleyball and very attentive staff. Everything went very smoothly. It had potential to be so much fun, and very romantic for us .The absence of others during our stay, the immediate week after the 4th Holiday, played a big part in this. We made our own fun and did not want a full to capacity resort, but we were literally in a ghost resort. We encountered more staff than patrons. Thanks to everyone who works there. You made us feel at home. Although there were at least two people in the resort, one being too serious security and the young lady bartender in the sports bar who had no personality and displayed no smile, who did not extend hospitality, many others did. They made it for us. We especially like Kim, I think is her name, she was the waitress during lunch at the sports bar, our server for lunch and pretty much there at all of our meals. She was great and had a beautiful smile. She's an older blonde.

The resort is beautiful, one of the prettier ones we have visited. There is some upkeep needed for the grounds, but still a beautiful place. The resort focuses solely on bringing in money, and not ensuring that potential members see the best. The club should have brought us in on a weekend. I think they would have had two new members.

Room Tip: We asked for a view of the pool and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank SMiracle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited over the 4th of July. Have been coming here a couple times a year for 5+ years. We had a great time as usual. Don't see the chair issue being a big deal, plenty around. Food in the sports bar was outstanding, had a seafood pasta dish that I will order again. Stayed in a 2 bedroom Condo, which was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the place was spotless. Service especially at the front desk and guest relations is the best. Have suggested Caliente to numerous others and everyone always has a great time. Will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

1st of all the place is great! We go as a couple every weekend. Management recently announced "We're Listening to you!! They did, but really screwed up!
Over the past couple of months people were holding many more chairs than they could use by laying towels on top so nobody would sit by them.... Really stupid on their part - cmon... So management started an new policy the weekend of July 4th. They are now charging for front row lounge chairs...Really that's "listening to us"?? One of the stupidest things I have ever heard! How about a deposit and leave your license or something to hold each chair but charge an extra $20 for two chairs on top of entry fees?
Last weekend right by the free standing bar an employee pulled away two chairs with all of their belongings and left them right in the middle of the walkway with a large note saying "these chairs are reserved. Please find someplace else to sit or pay for these." Now that's class!
Since the Saturdays are so expensive to get in we decided to go to Paradise Lake instead - we've never been there. It's no Caliente that's for sure. But the funny thing everyone there was talking about the chair rental fee at Caliente! Some were Caliente regulars.
Management reverse this, yeah it was a holiday weekend some people bought them but I don't think that's going to last....The front rows will just sit empty now that's really helping the situation????
Drivers license per chair & pick it up when your leaving and the next person can use the chair. Stop $raping$ us...The place is great don't ruin it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I attended on the 4th of July week, at the recommendation of some friends. I decided to go with two other girls, both of full figures. First, the older gray haired manager, made a joke that we overheard about my friends having a whale of a time. Forgive me for thinking that women of all sizes could be accepted at a nudist resort. Most of the patrons were older and over weight. I am not sure why he singled them out. They were so upset I wanted to cry for them. Second, my credit card was changed double what I left by a shorter, youngish male bartender. I will not be returning EVER.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
27  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is very different than many of the places we have been to in the past. It was clean and well taken care of - we enjoyed lounging by the pool and enjoying the company of the other nudist visiting or that lived in the place. So seemed to be a bit snotty of us - visitors. I understand they spent tons of money to own - but those of us who come for the day mean no harm. Enjoyed the fact that we were not crammed into one small area. Plenty of room to just hang out alone or with a few others. A great place and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be similar and I think they are all owned by other people. It would probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HappyNudistCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
15 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
4.9 mi away
Paradise Lakes Resort
Paradise Lakes Resort
#1 of 1 in Land O Lakes
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
#4 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
815 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Club & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Club & Resorts

Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287 (Formerly Caliente Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range: £178 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Club & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of clothing-optional solitude, exhilaration, and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned clothing-optional traveler and first-timer alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class respect and sensitivity you so richly deserve. Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last a weekend, a week, or even more. And yet the memories will last a lifetime. Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and relaxing Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. Come enjoy music by the pool, drinks with friends in our Piano Bar, a game in our Sports Bar, or dance the night away in our sexy night club. From theme parties to fitness classes, from karaoke to tennis, you can do it all at Caliente Club & Resorts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Club & Resorts Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing