We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Motel with Far Eastern touch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Mailman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barefoot Mailman Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lantana
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean Motel with Far Eastern touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I am coming to the area every year from NYC and stayed in all kinds of "better" and far more expensive hotels over the years, some of them I found mildly depressing. I wanted to change it up a bit this year. The clean, simple experience here gave me a fresh look at the area which I could appreciate a lot more this time. The manager even helped me set up the patio BBQ for my steaks. big plus: bicycles are available for rent, also free & fast WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefanowitsch212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
36
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I really loved staying at this motel, and I really wish there were more motels like it in the States. It offers a clean, safe place to sleep for a good price, which is all I'm looking for in a hotel. What really pleased me was how clean everything was and that the owner obviously put their attention in the details of the place.

The room was definitely the smallest I've ever stayed in (the photos show every part of the room), but I think it would be fine for one or two travelers for a couple of days. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. The room smelled (pleasantly) of cleaning fluid. The bathroom was recently remodeled and everything was modern and worked well. Also, there was a full-size fridge in the room. I didn't need all of the room, but I was able to re-freeze my ice packs because the freezer was separate (unlike a mini-fridge). There was also a large microwave and a good-sized tv in the room.

The grounds were well-manicured and again, there were thoughful details, like a white picket fence separating the parking lot from the area in front of the room doors, which creates a nice visual break.

The only recommendation I would make is to bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper because the motel is separated from the adjacent train tracks by a road, so you'll hear the trains comign and going.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management138, Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We try our best to make each and every stay a pleasant and economically favorable experience. I just wanted to remind people that the room where you stayed is our Single Traveler Room that was designed for the budget-minded visitor renting for just $45 US per night (Full Price) and they are even less expensive per night for longer stays. They are very popular with our European visitors who are often looking for the "youth hostel" type of accomodations with the maximum level of comfort and amenities when they travel. We do have more spacious accomodations available for just a little more per night.

We thank you for taking the time to tell of your experience.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I stayed there for a week just to get away. Met some awesome people everywhere I went . I got to know the whole staff. Had a small room with a/c fridge, and microwave. Great deli and other cuban Jamaican and party bars nearby. I rented a Huffy bike from them and it was great. I traveled all over the area, and had a ball. I still keep in touch with Bill Evans, and he's a great guy, and very smart. It was fun to have strangers you just didn't have to make small talk with. GO. Stay. ENJOY!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muskie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida Keys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I needed a place to stay for one night and found this cute little motel just around the corner for Ocean Blvd, the heart of Lantana, FL. As a single female traveler I felt safe, the room was super clean and there was even coffee brewed in the outside sitting area that also had a microwave, ice and filtered water. The grounds were carefully manicured with an almost zen-like feel about it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_Charters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

I was staying in Lantana for a few nights and wanted something very affordable (as I would basically just be sleeping there - and paying a lot for that made no sense). I searched and searched and then finally came on Trip Advisor and found out about the Barefoot Mailman Motel.

Not only is it VERY affordable (around $50 a night for something other hotels would charge $80+ for in the area), but the staff were very courteous and kind. They didn't just feel like "employees" working at a job - but rather people who truly care about the property and guests.

They had beautiful outdoor patios to sit in with lovely garden decor - filled with tourist information (bus/train schedules/local dining establishments) and utilities for guests (microwave/fridge/washing machines/etc).

The rooms were very spacious indeed - and although they might not be the most modern you will find, they were very well cleaned and maintained.

Lastly, the location is SUPERB. It's right by the inter coastal and just a few minutes walk from the beach and ocean.

If you are looking for a very affordable night in a great location in Lantana, you HAVE to stop here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianeables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I can not say enough about this motel! My husband and I had to traveled to Lantana (where he grew up) for a family event and we decided to stay the Barefoot Mailman mainly because it has been there since he was a kid and because he had never been in it. We were completely and happily suprised by the entire facility! Our room was spotlessly clean and even smelled faintly of cleaning liquids when we arrived. There was ample room for hanging clothes and relaxing around the room (we stayed in the $50.00 room). The bathroom was snug but ample and was incredibly clean. The surrounding grounds contained a community area, with delicious coffee available in the morning, and plenty of seating to enjoy the Florida sun. The staff was tremendously helpful both in person and by email prior to arriving. Don't come here if you are expecting the Ritz, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and super convenient location...this is the deal of the century! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etcthatisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

The Barefoot Mailman sports a great location to explore South Florida. Close to all major attractions in the area and the beach! The staff is very accommodating, prompt and friendly.
The rooms seem to be newly renovated and are clean.
Amenities include free Wireless internet, A/C, TV, Breakfast area, Outdoor seating and parking.
The reservation process was easy and the Mailman staff reacted promptly.
All in all a good choice for the budget minded traveler.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjpweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lantana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lantana - West Palm Beach South
4.0 mi away
The Inn At Boynton Beach
The Inn At Boynton Beach
#9 of 14 in Boynton Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boynton Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lantana
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
3.3 mi away
Sun Dek Beach House
Sun Dek Beach House
#1 of 1 in Ocean Ridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Mailman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman Motel

Property: Barefoot Mailman Motel
Address: 138 S Dixie Hwy, Lantana, FL 33462-3211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Lantana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lantana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17-unit family-owned family-run motel just one block from the Intracoastal Waterway in Lantana Florida, the Barefoot Mailman has rooms for the budget traveler up through families on a vacation. All rooms are "Non-Smoking", No Pets, Air Conditioned, Tiled Floors, Color TV, WiFi on premises and so much more. Check us out for your next visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Motel Lantana, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing