We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat place!”

Armed Forces History Museum
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Largo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome! Step inside our award-winning museum and take a journey through Pearl Harbor, the South Pacific, Germany, A French Village and more. Immerse yourself in 50,000 square feet of space boasting extraordinary sights, scents and sounds that envelop you. Take a ride on an authentic WWII M8 Reconnaissance Vehicle, ride the Virtual Voyager motion simulator time capsule, similar to those found at Universal Studios, and submerge your senses. Witness an extensive array of animated dioramas, unique displays, authentic memorabilia, equipment, artifacts, vehicles and rotating exhibits along with audio/visual effects with the utmost quality and accurate representation. It’s always evolving, educating and electrifying for all ages!
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very neat place!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place was amazing. I never would have guessed that the inside would be as cool as it was. My children loved seeing all the military memorabilia and the staff was very friendly. However, I wish the tank ride and helicopter simulator were thrown in with the admission price. It was a little costly. All together, I would recommend this museum!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    49
    5
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience and Displays”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything from Tanks, Aircraft, Weapons, Ordnance. Great Dioramas. There is a lot to see if you are into military history

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a day”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have been to this museum with my Father as a Father's day outing. We all enjoyed it and also learned alot about the war experience and saw many artififacts and some video footage that was educational and the whole experience made you appreciate our soldier's sacrifice and imagine in a way what it may have been like to have lived through that. It was neat looking at the equipment that was used and machinery there also. There was even a virtual experience there. I also went there one time with my family and young son and he learned alot and grew to appreciate our soldiers as well. Well kept and nice displays.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank seagirljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good museum and awesome tank ride!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We did a day trip from St Pete's to Clearwater and visited this interesting museum on our way back passing through Largo. With road construction we had to struggle a bit with the gps to get to the address, but once there it was great. With our two boys 11 and 16 who are very interested in the 2nd WW the exhibition was great. As we are from Europe it is also interesting getting the American version of history. The museum had a lot of donated real uniforms and weapons. We finished off by taking the tank ride outside, it was the greatest!! Must do (50 dollars), it was worth it!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accommodating, friendly, and professional”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My friend is getting married in Feb. her fiancé was a Marine and they wanted to do a vintage military pin up engagement photo shoot.

Frank Corea was very kind and accommodating to them. He allowed them clearance to take pictures on the grounds, told us lots of facts about the artifacts, and even let them ride the tank while he drove it for a photo op!

We would definitely return again!

Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armed Forces History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Armed Forces History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing