We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer NO MORE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Largo
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Customer NO MORE!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

When I first gave Suburban Lodge my business (in 2010) I was treated very nicely, and was given a decent room. Went back several times and even stayed up to three weeks within any given month.
Then about a year ago, I needed to rent a room for about a week. The desk person was very nice and had a room ready that was cleaned and ready to go. How do I know? He checked.
But then he got a phone call from someone in housekeeping named Yolanda. The conversation between him and her were very easy to pick up on. She asked if the 'customer' was in the lobby and the desk person said 'yes'. Then he looked perplexed and sad ok and hung up. Well...
here comes 'Yolanda' and takes a peek into the lobby and there I am in all my glory - tote bad, hair mussed from the humid weather and basically looking withered. That was all that 'Yolanda' needed to see. And get what??? They gave me a different room from the one the desk person was going to give me. Yep, you guessed it!!! The worst room for 'Ms. Bag Lady'. Happened two more times - thanks to Yolanda the second time, the third time was probably a red flag under my name/folio. I'm stereo-typed/judged. True story.

Room Tip: Where a formal gown, a suit, and rent a limo. Oh by the way...the place isn't the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
9
14
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Don't know what the other reviews were about but this place is terrible. It's the first time Trip Advisor has let me down. The room stinks of hooker sweat (or dead body, not sure which). Filthy bedding and room, looks like it has not been washed in a month. Look like crack addicts covered in tattoos standing on the balconies drinking beer in their bath towels.

The sign at checkin says "No Sex Offenders Can Stay Here", and they ask for your ID to do a background check.

There is a 3 inch circle cut in the carpet between the beds. Think that is where the stripper pole used to be.

TV didn't work but didn't even bother asking about it.

The area is terrible too.

Probably the worst hotel I have stayed in, in a very long time. Might be ok for a trucker looking for a shower but that's about it.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank riprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Largo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Good place to flop in and get out fast. Gotta wonder what smell they were trying to hide with that machine. Wi-fi is free though and it has a kitchenette. The whole room smells like one of those urinal cakes. I had to unplug it. Sickeningly sweet mint smell. Yuck.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marconilemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is an economy hotel not meant for plushness. For my business trip it fit the bill and was nearly half the cost of the other hotels nearby. The room was exceptionally clean and well maintained. I had to look hard for any complaints. The pillows were clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had been updated with large ceramic tile floor and efficient shower unit. The A/C was good and provided white noise so that I hardly heard any outside noise. The only drawback was the thin comforter and no blanket. I guess that was to discourage turning the A/C down. The outside areas were very well maintained and well lit. I have no complaints and give credit to the management for keeping this property in great shape.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mccalla,AL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and i stayed here on a business trip,we wanted something longer term because we planned on staying for several weeks.This hotel has good and bad points:the location is really nice,you are right on the main strip so there are tons of restaurants,shops and banks nearby.You can walk to Walgreens next door,you can get food delivered from any number of places around the area and there are a few nice amenties on site like a spacious laundry room and secure WiFi.It is no frills though,so don't expect lots of luxurious extras.Extended stay hotels keep prices low by keeping a bare bones operation so there is no room service,plushy comforters or mints on the pillow.You get sheets(I always forgo this and just bring my own since I travel so much),towels(again,I BMO) and a few bottles of shampoo,etc.There is a plus in that they provide dishes,pots,pans and dish soap...just the basics so if you want to cook,make sure you have any extra necessities that might be needed.The rooms are small but clean.Also,bring garbage bags!! You have to take care of your own trash,hauling it to the can, which unfortunately stays full.I found this out when I left a bag of trash outside our door on the first night there,the next morning I am awakened by a pounding on the door.The manager(who is a complete jerk) tells me that leaving a bag outside is NOT allowed and his employees are NOT paid to take care of it! He then goes on to tell me that he will take it to the trash "just this time" but it's our responsibility.Can you say "power trip"? Ugh.The drink machines stay empty half the time,btw and you have to either bring change from the room to wash clothes or go up front since there is no change machine.There is a small fridge so if you choose to cook,take the space into account.All in all,it's ok.

Room Tip: Check in by early afternoon,if possible.If you arrive after a certain time,you have to get your towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Rooms are very small. Location is good if you're in town for business. The beds are extremely hard.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberHLargo_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Because this place looks really good on the outside, but on the inside, it is another story. Our non-smoking room reeked of smoke, the rugs were quite dirty, the A/C vent was broken so that it was always pointing down at the bed, all the furniture was scratched, and in the bathroom, wall molding was coming off the wall. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maketrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largo
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Largo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel

Property: Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel
Address: 6500 Ulmerton Road, Largo, FL 33771-4940 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Extended Stay Hotel. All of our rooms are studio efficiency and include a kitchen with a two burner stovetop, microwave, dorm size refridgederator, coffee maker, pan & pans and dinnerware. We offer free highspeed wireless internet, local & long distance phone calls (Within the USA and Canada) as well as Spectrum cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater Hotel Largo
Extended Stay Largo
Largo Extended Stay
Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing