We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“maybe I shouldn't encourage more people to come here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Pond Restaurant

Silver Pond Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“maybe I shouldn't encourage more people to come here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Real Chinese food. And although one of the other reviews said the waiters are brusque, I got ours to laugh when I refused the fried noodles and told them my wife and I were Chinese. (We're unmistakingly Caucasian.) The food is terrific-particularly the seafood-lobster with ginger/scallions,XO shrimp, clams with black bean. Whole fish can be very good, although the only live (swimming) fish is tilapia, not a particular favorite. Noodles are also quite good, as are the soups. Vegetables like chinese broccoli or pea shoots are great. Even the complimentary perfunctory oranges offered at the meal were excellent. Decor is fine, almost like one of the midsize semi fancy Sunset Park restaurants in Brooklyn. Weekends are not a great time to be here-lines out into the parking lot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmikey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    16
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Have eaten at Silver Pond 4 or 5 times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The only thing positive is the food. It is a bit pricey for Chinese. Service is hit or miss. Don't expect much. The place is packed on the weekends. The last time I was there they sat people that came in after us. If you want to experience asian cuisine stick to Thai. There are many more Thai restaruants in S. Florida offering better service, food, value and cleanliness.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank talldkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
281 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Like Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

this isn't your average Chinese restaurant. at dinner, there are no egg rolls, steak on a stick, etc. they were packed last night. we had reservations, but had to wait a bit. host is a bit surly, wait staff never a smile. we ordered the soup with scallops, chicken, pork - bland, but put mustard in it and was tasty. all dishes we ordered were good - peking duck, spicy chicken, shrimp in garlic sauce, beef with eggplant and the hit seemed to be the sizzling veal. dishes were a little light on the protein. first time ever that the oranges at a Chinese restaurant weren't delicious. would go back knowing how the dishes are and how to change ordering. we had 7 dishes for 8 people and there was nothing left over - also a first.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food in Lauderdale lakes,Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have been to Silver Pond Restaurant many times over the 5 years,the food is always quite consistent and served hot as appropriate. Service is very good and attentive.

Last time I went with my wife,and friends for lunch we had:

Hot and Sour soup
Clams with black bean sauce
Shrimp in Lobster sauce cantonese style
Chicken,vegetables and cashews in a wonderful light sauce.
Egg rolls

If you are looking for excellent Chinese Food NY Style,come hungry and often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidZuckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
286 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“PRETTY GOOD - FAR FROM SENSATIONAL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

One reviewer said EXCELLENT FOOD JUST OK SERVICE. My experience was just the opposite. EXCELLENT SERVICE JUST OK FOOD. After all the mega-magnificient hype about this place I found it a bit disappointing. It was not bad but it was not as sensational as some folks make it out to be. It was far from the five stars that some reviewers gave it. I'll give it a three and a promise to try it again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLLSTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Pond Restaurant also viewed

Tamarac, Broward County
Lauderdale Lakes, Broward County
 
Lauderdale Lakes, Broward County
Tamarac, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Silver Pond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing