We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Spray Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Windjammer Resort(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Harbor Inn(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Beach Apartment Motel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Horizon By The Sea Inn(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Strawberry by the Sea(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa del Sol(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Resort(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Beach Club(Lauderdale by the Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
162
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streethome away from homewonderful managermet marywonderful restaurants and shopsa short walking distancewaiting listblock partybig hearta great weekheated poolwedding guestspleasure of meetingideal locationfull kitchensmall hotelsliving space
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

When I was looking for a nice quiet spot for us to stay in and around Fort Lauderdale for a few days after arriving on a cruise ship, I checked hundreds of sites on Trip Advisor as I normally do. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea looked to us to be a quiet, relaxing area with lots of beach to walk on and a good base to also do some shopping. The Sea Spray Inn had exceptional reviews from a lot of guests who had stayed more than once. Based on the location and the reviews I booked with the Sea Spray.

We arrived by cab and were met by Franz, the owner, at the curb. He greeted us and took our luggage up to our room (number 4). As we did not have a car, he immediately offered to drive us to a local supermarket so that we could get some provisions for our stay, and we took him up on that offer. On the way he gave us a bit of a tour to familiarize us with the area. He dropped us off at Publix and arranged to pick us up about an hour later. By then we were feeling like we had really made the right decision to stay at the Sea Spray - great location and extremely helpful owner.

The hotel itself is quite small (7 rooms) but this is a real advantage as far as we are concerned - a nice quiet place where you are treated as people not as part of a herd. It is located right across the street (very easy to cross as there is a stop sign right in front of the hotel) from a marvelous sandy beach that stretches for miles in both directions. Our suite was a very clean unit that consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and combined kitchen/living room/dining room. There was also a very large walk-in closet that was great for storing all of our luggage and clothes. The kitchen was fully equipped with good quality dishes, cutlery and cooking equipment (not a lot of cheap stuff like you often find in hotels). The sheets and towels were also good quality. We had a wonderful sleep each night and woke up to beautiful views of the ocean from our front window and balcony. The balcony was a nice sunny spot for the first few hours of the day and later provided some shade for reading or just sitting.

The town of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is only a short (2 blocks) walk from the Sea Spray and there you will find a few shops and restaurants. There are also many more restaurants and stores located only a short walk away. For those without cars, bus transportation is close and is easy to use.

The hotel itself is really nice and the location is also unbeatable but what made this vacation special for us was Franz. He went out of his way for us from the moment we arrived right up until we left. Our visit was not without a problem or two but, without going into details, the key point to be made is that these issues were addressed promptly by the Sea Spray, and one of them (phone service) was beyond their control entirely. It is difficult to imagine anyone who could be more responsive and apologetic than Franz. He did his utmost to look after us (provided a lovely teapot on request, loaned us his cell phone when the landline was being repaired, drove us all over town, chatted with us each day as if we were long-time friends and took us to the airport on our last day). You can never expect things to work out perfectly; all you can hope for is to stay at a place that treats its guest properly, and the Sea Spray did this for us in spades. As a result we would not hesitate in the least to return to the Sea Spray or to recommend it to anyone. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. As you indicated, we had a couple of "hiccups" during your stay, but we very much appreciated your patience and good cheer. We take great pride in our personal service, and are very happy that you were satisfied with our service, location and accommodations. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again some day soon at the Sea Spray Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

It must be our 6th or 7th stay at the Sea Spray Inn, and we keep coming back! The inn is just across the road from the beach and offers well-appointed rooms and kitchens with all the conveniences ones could wish for, friendly atmosphere yet plenty of privacy. We have known the owners for some years now, and they have always been very attentive to us the returning guests, adding nice touches to our stay. Carroll, the Manager, has been great in all the respects! We are still here, enjoying our relaxing beach vacation and are looking forward to coming back again some time soon.

Room Tip: Over the years, we have stayed at all the rooms: efficiency, 1 bedrooms and the upper floor suite, and loved them all.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

What a nice surprise that you took the time to write a review before you even left! We have enjoyed your company each year and hope to contunue to host you every April for the forseeable future! Thank you for your lovely comments and we wish you a wonderful summer in Switzerland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Sea Spray Inn!

SERVICE: After reading many reviews of nightmarish service at hotels in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, we chose the Inn because of the rave reviews of the manager. We were not let down! Carroll (the property manager) was a delight and made us feel welcome for the entire week.

LOCATION: The Inn is literally across the street from the beach. I was worried it would be a hassle to lug everything to and from the beach (I'm a big fan of oversized beach bags, bringing coolers to the beach, etc.), but it is such a short walk! Also the road you have to cross is a very easy one--Google maps made it look like it was a large road, but it actually has a four-way stop right in front of the Inn and we never had any trouble crossing. The Inn is also a VERY short walk from the downtown area of L-B-T-S, which has lots of nice restaurants and ice cream shops. (Do yourself a favor and give Jojo's Tacos a try. It's around the corner from the main square, but it was by far the best meal we had on our trip!)

ROOMS: We stayed in Unit #1, which is on the ground floor. It is a great size for a couple. We had everything we needed in the kitchen, except paper towels/paper products. I think most people stay longer-term at the Inn; we were there such a short while that we did not buy any, but that is easily fixable. The Inn is definitely not brand new, but it has a lot of character. There were a few minor flaws (some of the baseboards appear to be missing in the hallways) but nothing that made the room unpleasant.

SLEEP QUALITY: We actually had a bit of trouble sleeping most nights - probably a combination of being somewhere new, and the fact that if you want to sleep with the windows open (it was very pleasant during the evenings), you'll hear every little passerby on the street, not to mention the constant clicking of the blinds. After two nights of that we gave up and used the air conditioner at night. Much better sleep then!

There is no pool, but you really don't need one with the beach right there! The Inn provides beach chairs (though they're not chaises, they do the job), free Wifi which worked great (we didn't use our laptops too much, but it was nice to be able to reload my Kindle on the network!), and assigned parking. Really great amenities.

We will definitely consider the Inn when we plan our next beach vacation, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a casual, really enjoyable stay at a beachside Inn!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room at the Inn!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustALawStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasprayinn4245, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Sea Spray service and amenities, and hope to see you back again for your next getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Sea Spray Inn was wonderful, comfortable and clean. Totally relaxing and in a perfect location to walk to shops, restaurants, drug stores and the grocery. Locals in the area are friendly and security in LBTS was very good. Carol was a great hostess and provided anything requested and went above and beyond. I stayed a month and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendolyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

We appreciate your taking the time to write Gwen! It was a pleasure having you here for the month and we are glad that you enjoyed your summer getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Sea Spray in is your perfect get away!! Location, location location...what more can I say. It's directly across the street from the beach and a very short walking distance to restaruants and shops. Carroll the Inn keeper is amazing. She's there to make your stay the best it can be; who could ask for better customer service. The units are very nice accomadations with everything you need; and the bedding and linens are not your normal hotel quality---quite upscaled from what you normally get. I'm a travel snob going all over the world for my work and I have to say I was pleasantly surprise with this little inn.....so much so that I stayed the whole month and it felt like home! I will definately be back! Thanks for such a great time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect location and equally as nice....of course the if you can afford it the Penthouse in the way to go!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlan_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We are so glad you decided to extend your stay with us and that you have enjoyed your getaway at the Sea Spray. It has been a pleasure to host you and are very happy that the Sea Spray provided the break you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews