We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel needs LOTS of work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Little Inn By The Sea
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel needs LOTS of work”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed here several times over the past years, and my parents stayed for their annual March vacation for 7 years.
The hotel has gone downhill since new owners and new management about 5 years ago. My parents now stay at a different property. I decided to stay this past weekend, fully knowing the room will be old, badly in need of repair have a sparcely supplied kitchen and we cover all furniture and take the bedspread off the bed.
The location is the best in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, right on the beach.
If you want a hotel on the beach the location can't be beat. Read the other reivews on here and make your own decision.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    58
    26
    30
    86
See reviews for
63
93
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, MA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Although a little leary of past negative reviews, we were in love with the pictures of the lush, tropical setting as opposed to just a concrete building. Let me say, it was heaven! We requested a king bed room and early check-in, no problem. Beach nearly on the property, awesome. Pool sparkling clean & refreshing. Dean went out of his way for us and was constantly cleaning & repairing. Breakfast plentiful, free parking, other guests friendly & happy. No, its not the Ritz but we prefer smaller, older resorts. This one is loaded with old Florida charm and I can honestly say we used nearly every amenity they had. Bed very comfy, best sleep I had in months! Two blocks walk to the supermarket, liquor store & dollar store made it easy to cook on the gas grill every night by the pool & having breakfast on the patio with the beautiful sea breeze blowing, so wonderful. Friendly folk every place we went. The first night, there was an outdoor concert in front of the greek restaurant with dancing, so fun! The only negative I can recall were the two "real estate people" nosing around and asking questions of us and other guests, which was out of management's control, as they stayed overnight. Brent, Renee & Rachael were all very professional & accommodating. Can't understand the negative reviews. Yes, the sliding door to our balcony was hard to manage: thats salt & sand. Welcome to the beach! And yes, Mary cleaned our room & switched out the towels EVERYDAY. Including Sunday. Do not believe everything you read. They are making improvements but the location & "right at home" feeling cannot be beat. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back in October!

Room Tip: Room 302 very nice, but you learn to plan your trips with all the stairs! The view of the ocean from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, ma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was very hopeful that this would be a nice place to start our 10 day vacation in Florida. Thank goodness we were only booked here for only two nights of the 10! The only positive, the location is wonderful, being able to walk right out to the beach, to Arubas and the other outside activities going on there. We should have looked at the room before we paid because we never would have stayed. We had Room 204 over the office which did have a nice view of the pool and the ocean. We were told it would be more expensive to have an ocean front room which is unbelievable considering what they charged for the room we were in! There was black mold on the bathroom window and floor. The bathroom light fixture was rusted and probably there since the 50s. The slider to the "deck" was broken and hard to open. The curtains in front of the slider where threadbare and shredded on the bottom. The airconditioner did work but leaked. There was a towel below the air conditioner to catch the leaks which tiny ants were running around. The safe did not work. I was told the batteries were dead and could not be replaced. (Then get rid of them!). The refrigerator was very old and the door was crooked. Do I need to continue?? The ice maker was broken at The Little Inn but it's sister property which was closed for renovations (The Little Inn Too) had an ice machine that was working so had to walk over there. If they are smart, they will close down The Little Inn also and gut/renovate it! I was told by the afternoon desk manager that this property was a "palace" compared to another property the same owners had down the street that was closed. I can only imagine what that looked like. The owners should be ashamed of themselves. Until this place is closed and rehabed, skip it.

Room Tip: Well, if you don't mind a dirty room, ask for an ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segseg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The management is horrendous and RUDE. I have never been spoken to so rudely by anyone let alone a "manager" of a local business who is supposed to help the customer. Rachel or Anyone who could be of service to us was unavailable for days and only after a weeks worth of phone calls and after we wasted our money did I finally get a hold of Rachel. Almost wish I never had considering how abrupt and disrespectful she was. How can a place that is barely hanging on, is run down as it is, treat their customers that way and hope to survive in this economy?
SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
I will let the public know what the actual complaint was since you as a guest could only personally attack an employee- not the business.

To whom it may concern: This very unhappy person made a reservation with A Littlle Inn with our on-line service. When making the reservation he signed an electronic approval for his credit card to be charged a one night deposit. A standard cancellation policy was attached to his reservation confimation. 72 hours notice is required with cancellations in THIS respect. This guest called within a 24 hour period to cancel. As per his signed contract- it could not be refunded. Guest was very rude threatened to "slam" us on TripAdvisor Reviews and "humiliate us publically". It is a shame that someone that did not get their way, found the need to personally slander a hard working employee rather than follow the contract that he himself signed. Rachel is a very hard working employee with extensive customer service skills. We apologize to you the reader that you had to even read such a horrible farce! Read the past reviews, we cant wait to have you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have recently returned from a trip where we stayed at the Little Inn, all I can say is I am so saddened that the place has been allowed to run down to this awful condition. The hotel has a perfect position, right on the beach and a short pleasant walk to shops, eating places and bars, at first it looks ok, but very quickly you find dirt, almost everywhere, the whole place needs closing down for a deep clean, staff skim the surface and some days not even that, the plumbing needs ripping out and reinstalling, same with the electrics which are in my opinion only just legal, small repairs would make such a difference, new towels, the existing ones are threadbare and smell bad, even when " clean ", shutters in room 213 are damaged, these could be made into a feature in the room, but right now are nothing more than collectors of dirt and flies, sand on the floor I know is a hard thing to keep on top of, but the cleaning staff dont even seem to try,the bathroom was home to an army of ants, we had to leave the bathroom light on all night to keep them at bay, the fridge in my room was left open from the previous guest, there was a dirty towel on the floor, the ice box was full of ice and frost, in fact the door wouldnt close because of this, now in any other hotel this would have been taken out of the room till it was put right, but not here, the toilet didnt work properly, and instead of a toilet brush at the side of the loo which would just about have been acceptable there was a large, over sized plunger ??, why ??, I never did find out.
On the positive side, the views from the room were amazing, and its just a crying shame the owners dont cash in on this, but then maybe they do as the prices they charge are in no way realistic for the state of repair the hotel is in.

Room Tip: room 213 has best views, as long as you dont mind ants, room 103 is dark, side view, no wild life th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Agnes,
I am very happy to see you took the time to leave a review. However, it saddens me to know that you left dissatisfied over something as easily corrected as housekeeping. At no time of your stay did you ever mention anything to me or any other staff member that there were any issues of any kind. If mentioned I am sure you can see by the previous reviews that we would have handled any issue you had immediately. Yes, sand is a constant cleaning issue on an ocean front property, and when food is left unattended and opened , yes- ants due tend to find it –no matter that we have the property treated 1 time per month- religiously. I know that you did book your room through a third party agent and maybe the pricing was high through that particular party. Our pricing here is actually lower than most other ocean front properties – and we have many more amenities to offer than they do, eg. Bicycles, bbq grills, beach chairs, beach towels, breakfast. But, again we appreciate your opinion, and will address each concern you have brought to our attention. Thank you for staying with us!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great value. This is an old Florida hotel...nothing fancy and needs updating, but held everything we needed. Location is great! Shops, restaurants just a short walk away... but this is the place to stay if you just want a quiet place right on the beach, away from the crowds. Kitchenette didn't have sufficient equipment to actually cook, but the microwave and refrigerator worked. There were a few little surprises, like that continental breakfast wasn't as depicted on the website, nor was the suite we stayed in. However, loved just walking from the room onto the sand in barefeet, the lounge chairs, beach towels and bicycles which were provided without additional charge and the nice, clean swimming pool. A problem with the plumbing was fixed within hours of being reported, and Rachel did everything she could to make our stay a good one.

Room Tip: definitiely get a room with an ocean view - we loved the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were a little hesitant to book this hotel due to some of the previous reviews, but we are so glad we took a chance on it. Yes, the hotel could use some fixing up, but overall it is a charming place. The location on the beach is perfect, and there were plenty of lounge chairs available at all times. We had an oceanfront one bedroom which was quite spacious, and the view from our balcony was so beautifu- we spent a good deal of time just sitting and watching the ocean. The location is also good because it is a little farther away from the town area and therefore the beach is quieter and less crowded. I have stayed at High Noon in the past which is also nice and in pristine condition, but that hotel does not alow you to take lounge chairs on the beach which is a disadvantage. This is not the place for those looking for something like a Hilton, but perfect for those who like funky, laid back charm. There are 2 pools- one unheated and one heated, which was good for cooler moments, even though it is next door at the hotel that is being renovated. It was a nice option. Liked the art deco old Florida feel of the place. The kitchen was not at all well equipped but it didn't matter to us, as we only needed it for cold drinks and snacks, and it was adequate for that. Trying to really cook lots of meals there would have been challenging. Will definitely return in the future. We stayed there in March 2012.

Room Tip: I think oceanfront is worth the extra cost. We loved 310 which was a corner room and had lots of wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are so glad you chose us too! Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed your visit very much!
Can not wait to see you again! Welcome to the Little Inn family!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.6 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Seas
Southern Seas
#18 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little Inn By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little Inn By The Sea

Property: A Little Inn By The Sea
Address: 4546 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3608
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little Inn By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run small European Mediterranean Style Bed & Breakfast in a landscaped garden setting directly on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A Little Inn By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little Inn By The Sea Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Little Inn Sea
A Little Inn By The Sea Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing