We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachfront Paradise in Lauderdale By the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropic Seas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropic Seas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beachfront Paradise in Lauderdale By the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the moment we stepped out of our car and were greeted by Eleanor asking if we were ready to check into "paradise", we knew this was going to be a pleasant vacation. The breezeway at the entrance is welcoming, but the view beyond of palm trees, dune grass, beach and ocean really beckon you to enjoy this comfortable resort. We found it advertised online and chose to stay there after exchanging prompt emails from the owner and reading the favourable reviews. We only spent 4 days there( would have stayed longer if work allowed) but in that short time we felt very familiar and comfortable. We will definitely be back.

Our efficiency apt was bright clean and very roomy. The inside is up to date, the TV is too, and the bed and pillows absolutely heaven. We could wake up and immediately see the sun coming up over the Atlantic. The patio area and pool are well maintained and welcoming and the chaise lounges and chairs are all new in blue and white and very comfortable. This area is great for families, complete with your own grill if you wish.
And for more room, a 50 ft walk to the beach gives you space and great access to the LBTS pier via the beach. The "four corners" of LBTS are only a 10 min walk, if that, and just the right distance to digest your dinner at one of the many fine restaurants. LBTS can be exciting and buzzing or quiet, whichever you choose. This is why it is so appealing to so many people. The community has just redone the "downtown area" with a square complete with pastel adirondack chairs.
Please see some of the photos we took in our short time there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    40
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
81
93
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week at Tropic Seas. We had a spacious, comfortable one bedroom apartment, that was clean and pretty. We appreciated all the little touches, beach bags and towels to use, coffee and Danishes each morning, pool toys for the kids. Everything is well cared for and attractive. It is also perfectly located a couple of blocks from the grocery store, an easy walk to restaurants and three steps from a spectacular beach. We enjoyed every minute. And when we accidentally left something behind, Linda went above and beyond to get it back to us. We can't wait to return.

Wendy C.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having stayed in other hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea, we found this to be the best yet. Congenial host, lovely room, beautiful grounds. As well, the location is close to many restaurants and shopping.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is our 14th year at the the Tropic Seas. Its a great place to relax, feel safe and be catered to by a friendly staff. Each year there are noticeable improvements to the grounds and the individual rooms. The convenience to fine restaurants, a drug store and grocery make this an ideal location.
Eleanor Parker and her staff always provide a professional and yet a homelike atmosphere for all their visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gettyuptogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We just returned from almost a month at
Tropic Seas and as usual, it was great.
We have been going there for over 20 years and have never been
disappointed. Eleanor and Linda really take care of all the guest's needs
and are so helpful. Each year there is a little "upgrade" that makes
Tropic Seas more enjoyable. Also in February there are many repeat
guests making it a sort of winter reunion. Lots of fun.
The only improvement that could be made would be to make the
resort totally "smoke free" or designate a smokers area.
We have already booked our return for Feb.2015 and are looking forward to it.
Another big plus was the great weather we enjoyed while there--mostly 80+ degrees
every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dharm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great small hotel directly on the sand - Beautiful landscaping and charming rooms. Reminded me of a hotel you might have found years ago - Loved our bed! Staff was wonderful -could not have been more helpful!! Having an evening beverage outside our room looking out on the ocean was wonderful!! Everything you need was within walking distance. On Sunday found a great farmers market nearby! Will definately return!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a slightly better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieburg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Found this hotel by driving past. There are many hotels in that street and we would have been spoiled for choice if there would have been vacancies! This one was almost the only one with a room available and therefore my expectations weren't great.
The room was small and to be honest not all that clean. Bed was good and the yellow décor made us feel comfortable. The small garden with pool is very pretty and through a gate you have immediate access to the huge beach. It is wonderful to sit on the veranda overlooking the sea. In the morning you can help yourself to delicious coffee and wrapped pastries.
The pier, restaurants, bars and shops are a 10 minute walk away. It's a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood. We only stayed one night but I would have been happy to stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet try to stay away from family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windjammer Resort
Windjammer Resort
#3 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Seas Resort

Property: Tropic Seas Resort
Address: 4616 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself in an intimate ocean-front villa. Tropic Seas Resort offers brightly decorated efficiency and one-bedroom apartments, complete with kitchenettes with breath taking ocean views. All of our rooms feature 32" Flat Screen Televisions, Free WiFi and Free in Room Safes! Tropic Seas is situated directly on the beach in the charming seaside village of Lauderdale By The Sea where you can experience the delectable tastes of sidewalk cafes, groove into the evening's nightlife, shop at the various boutiques and souvenirs stores. Free WiFi available!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Tropic Seas Motel
Tropic Seas Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing