We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reference Stay Away Review By Tina P.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JoJo's Tacos - CLOSED

JoJo's Tacos
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reference Stay Away Review By Tina P.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Tina,
I happened to be dining at JoJo's Tacos the night you and your party came in. My wife and I were sitting near the center of the bar area. What you wrote in your review in not what I saw and heard.
When your party came in,(party of 7, including 4 women with 3 small children), one of you asked if staff could put 2 of the 3 large tables together, you were at that time informed that was not possible due to limited seating at the only 3 tables for parties of 4 or more. Your party then proceeded to move the tables themselves. These tables are very heavy and difficult to move, Also seating at these 3 tables is 4 chairs and a large bench which would have easily accommodated your party. When the Chef saw what you were up to he asked you not to move these 200 pound tables because it would scratch up the painted floor. That's when it got ugly! Someone in your party got nasty and loud about what you folks wanted, you were politely asked by the owner several times not to move the tables. NO ONE YELLED AT YOUR GROUP AT ANY TIME! As you all left I did here someone in your party state that they would be writing a bad review of the restaurant. I do not understand a bad review when you are the problem and you did not eat or order anything. By the way, this place has the best food in Lauderdale by the Sea, you folks really missed out.
Glenn S.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    17
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gourmet Tacos at a Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

What can I say but delicious! Incredible food, wonderful service and you can sit at the taco bar and watch the chef make your food. The guacamole is smoothe and addictive. The sirloin tacos were wonderful. Biscuit tacos and fish tacos rock. The chips are served warm!! Don't miss this gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsetchaser21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fan-FLIPPIN-tastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Ohh...MY...gosh!
I can't believe I waited so long to go. I LOVED everything we had. Hands down, the best guac in town. The chips are awesome - fresh and salty. The tacos genuine and divine in not being anything traditional - full of flavors. Trust that the ingredients that make each are meant to go together and fresh as can be. All tacos are soft shell so know that if you have a preference.
I don't know about the reviewer who had a bad experience; each staff member was friendly! I cannot even imagine that occurring there. We were greeted outside by someone who held the door for us as they walked back in; the gal that took our order was sweet as can be, the guy who brought over our food and the other who cleared our mess were all pleasant, friendly and seemed to be having fun. I couldn't find anything less than an A+ in the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Seven of us walked in to this local place, looked around and saw two empty tables that we could push together so we could be accomodated. Employees saw us walk in, noone offered to assist. We proceeded to put the two adjoining tables together and heard, "what do they think they are doing", and from the cooking area, one man yelled out, "Now you have scratched the floor".
At this point an employee came running over and stated, " we don't put tables together here", and proceeded to pull them apart.
Is it just us, or do you ask the question also, "why not"? And, who has a floor in a neighborhood restaurant/bar that is so precious that a patron cannot slide two simple tables together. The two or three employees proceeded to yell, I mean yell out at us.
Of course, we left right then and went somewhere friendly, good food and no hassles. Try any number of the places in the area, just not this one. One last note. we were all talking about what just happened, and a lady overheard us and said she had had a similar experience there. Again, stay away. You can get good tacos without the attitude, somewhere else. Oh, if you are ever in Hollywood Beach area, the " Taco Beach Shack" is great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The tacos are outstanding and you can sit at their bar and watch the cook work his magic. Don't be fooled by the apparent size of the servings vs the price - you will leave there full and happy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KuhRAHLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JoJo's Tacos also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing