We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Years Escape at the Great Escape Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Escape Inn
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great New Years Escape at the Great Escape Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our visit to GEI was nothing short of fantastic. The owners were very kind and accommodating and the cleaners seemed to be mind readers. The walk to the beach was quick (under 2 minutes) with 3 kids in tow and we could walk to the shops/restaurants in under 10 minutes. Need groceries... the Publix is walk-able as well. In fact, we didn't touch the car until it was time to leave. The rooms were very clean and, in our opinion, rivalled the comfort and decor of most modern hotels. The pool was in excellent shape and served as a great place for a family swim after the beach and before walking to town for dinner. NYE was fantastic with bands, food drinks for kids and adults all out in the restaurant district. When our kids were tired out, we returned to the Inn where they enjoyed a quiet sleep while my wife and I sat right outside the door beside the pool chatting with other parents until the ball dropped. The whole experience reminded me of the old road trips I'd do with my dad before the proliferation of the large resorts and timeshares... you know, where you'd find a great little motel and enjoy the community rather than hunkering down in a resort facility. Only advice... enjoy every minute, it will be over before you know it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    43
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
68
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, fresh, and very quiet and relaxing! Couldn't of asked for a greater weekend in Lauderdale by the sea! The staff was accommodating and the hotel had everything from beach chairs to sun block! Also properly is very well lit and has many video cameras so I felt safe for once in lbts

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We loved this cute motel like place, rooms are immaculately clean and on the large size. The cleaner was so proud of her job she showed me three other rooms! It's ideally located near the beach and there are some good cafes and restaurants nearby. All that plus parking and free wifi, what else could you need? Perhaps quieter AC?!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I went on a three day get away at the Great Escape Inn towards the end of august 2013. The experience was superb with friendly staff willing to help guest in any way possible. I was marveled by how the room was spacious,elegant,quiet,and spotless. I noticed a lot of restaurants by this hotel are within walking distance. This place is highly recommended for a relaxing stay and it is only one block away from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isaac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Hill, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed with my daughter and granddaughter the night after our cruise. We arrived too early to check in, but they allowed us to leave our luggage in the office. Located close to the beach and some shopping and eating establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

we spent the last week of our vacations in Great Escape and it was unquestionably good choice
the room was clean and spacious just enough for our four, the beach just minute away, the staff friendly and helpful
on strong side - quiet surroundings, well equiped kitchen, pool and laundromat :)
on weaker side - bathroom's limited space

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 71asmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to Key West to break up the journey.
From the outside it does not appear to be much but it is a secret gem of a place.

We found the outside of the motel clean and the staff very friendly.
The rooms are very clean and obviously recently updated. The motel has beach towels for you to use and a fridge and decent sized and very comfortable double beds.

We had reserved a double bed room and it is adequately sized for a short stay for a family of four.
The tv would not display channels but this was fixed within a minute of mentioning it. The staff are excellent and helpful. The air conditioning was a little loud but worked fine as it was such a hot night.

It is 2 mins to the beautiful beach where our kids played for several hours with fish swimming all around them. Restaraunts and shops are walking distance and there is ample parking.

We stayed here on our return trip and were very happy to do so.

Don't bother with more expensive apartments or motels in main Ft Lauderdale. This is the place for a relaxing stay on a road trip to the keys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clandunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape Inn

Property: Great Escape Inn
Address: 4620 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Great Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block away from the beach, the Great Escape Inn is conveniently located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, a picturesque seaside village nestled between Ft. Lauderdale and Pompano Beach. Guests at the Inn enjoy a heated pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, and TVs with cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing