We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, right on the beach and great neighbourhood”
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I've been to Windjammer many times over the years and I continue to come back. The main reason is business, but as a northern European I do appreciate the weather in Florida this time of the year :-) I bring my family about every second year for a combined business and sun vacation trip, and this year we "did" a week in Orlando before coming down to Lauderdale. Windjammer's location on the beach and in the small village of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea just north of Ft. Lauderdale makes it an especially great place for families. You can walk to everything you need - restaurants, shops and grocery stores, and the local street has no passing-through traffic which makes the area more safe. Yes, I know, it's a European habit to actually walk now and then :-) The hotel has units for 2 to 6 people and the rooms are clean and tidy and have everything we need. There are a main larger (south) pool and a smaller (north) one. The free wireless internet worked acceptably in our unit. Night sleep was somewhat disturbed by the rather loud AC in the bedroom, while the one in the kitchen/living room was quieter. The staff were, as always, friendly and helpful and the maids were doing great. As you might understand from this review, my family and I really like Windjammer's and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms with view to the main pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

This place is awesome; right on the beach; has 2 pools and it is clean, clean, clean. You can walk to restaurants and shopping, we did not even bother to rent a car; just cabbed it if we wanted to go off the beaten path; staff are friendly and helpful; plenty of beach chairs to use; lots of towels; kitchen has everything you need; beach cam is a blast - wave at your friends back home!

Room Tip: They will hook you up with Gold Coast Scuba
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veggiehotdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My 4th stay at the Windjammer. I stumbled on it by accident 5 years ago and love the place! I am treated and feel like family. John and his staff are so welcoming and helpful with everything. Although it is a time-share; it does rent as a hotel with many types of accomodations. The staff will help you find what best fits your needs. It is safe, quiet and friendly. I am totally comfortable traveling alone and staying there. Can't wait to go back..

Room Tip: Keep checking their website and then call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The Windjammer Resort has a great location on the beach. Very relaxing, clean & friendly atmosphere, and very accessible to stores and restaurants. We spent a week there and would go back in a heartbeat. Loved, loved, loved it!!

Room Tip: There are only 2 floors so all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattypeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Great service and the location is the best spot in South Florida. Two blocks from the town square with many shops and Eating places. .............on the beach. It gets no better, period.. Been going for years . Been all over Fla. Just a great spot. Also have outdoor entertainment every friday night in the town square.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This is our 6th year at the Windjammer and we can't say enough good things about it.
The rooms are immaculate and the grounds are very well kept. The management and staff are helpful and friendly. We would recommend Windjammer to both family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmh815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I can imagine many guest travel through the Windjammer and you don't remember our family in particular however I just wanted to write one more time and thank you for the amazing time our family experienced at the Windjammer. The rooms, pools, ocean, grill, housekeeping and hospitality far exceeded our expectations.

When we arrived, the greeter from the front desk came out and met us on the sidewalk and took us directly to our rooms. Amazing hospitality!

The housekeeping was great. My husband and I needed supplies and they were readily available. On the other hand, my girls needed their room cleaned everyday and they were grateful for a clean, dry bathroom.

The kitchen dishes and supplies were ample and we were able to cook all of our meals which saved us (a family of eight) a lot of money. We used the grill every night and I was impressed with the cleanliness of the grill area.

Everyone was so helpful...housekeeping, gardener, maintenance and owners...
So again, thanks for a very special family memory.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#24 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: £135 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing