We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this resort”
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Love this resort”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is truly a gem it was our first stay here and not our last.The location is excellent and the beach is beautiful.the rooms were on the smaller side but they had everything we needed.Daily maid service was nice for a timeshare.The bathroom was small for sure but everything was clean.the staff were very friendly and willing to help answering any questions.Nice small pool areas and bbq area was excellent.A block or so to 3-4 restaurants,stores ,shops on a quaint quiet street.
Small two story building seems to make everything low key and we really enjoyed that.
Morning sunrises and evening sunsets were enjoyed on the deck and a short stroll out the gate and you are on the beach.the pier is a five minute walk so overall it is a very nice beach location and the property is very well kept

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    61
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
194
173
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Such a nice surprise! The one bedroom unit we had was neat and clean. There is maid service every day. It was so nice to come back to the room to fresh towels and a very neatly made bed. We had unit three. There is a pool almost right outside your door. Right past the pool is a gate that goes to the beach. It doesn't get much better than that. This is a great place for people who like to go out at night. There are several very good restaurants in the area. Windjammer also participated with our RCI timeshare. This made a nice trade for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicottville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We are choosy customers and research our accommodations through Tripadvisor. We just reluctantly checked out after three nights' stay. I knew our room would be spotless since they've earned several White Glove awards. However, we didn't expect plush bath towels, a very comfortable mattress and numerous cable channels, and being literally a few feet from the beach. No need to cross the street here to reach the beach. The Windjammer lends guests beach chairs and umbrellas and also has two pools and laundry facilities. Guests have a special key to access the pools and laundry. The motel is walking distance to a 7 11 and three ice cream stores, liquor store, Walgreens, several restaurants and souvenir shops along with a Publix. We ate at the Aruba restaurant bar which has a great happy hour. Try a loaf of the Aruba bread for $3 with your cocktail while watching the ocean and sipping coffee from the deck of the Windjammer! Life is good. On Friday evening about a block away in town, the road was closed for a jazz band which was really good. Lots of locals and tourists with a decent police presence. We felt safe walking any time day or night. We're planning to return and this time we won't be researching accommodations. By the way, the staff were helpful with questions about the area, and housekeeping greeted us each day. Thank you, Windjammer and to Francine and Jim at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjtravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here two times...never will go back. The first time was ok...so we gave it a second try. My purse was stolen from our room on our first night the second time. It was a nightmare...imagine starting your trip with no credit card, id to get back with on the plane, cash, etc. The management and staff didn't think that it was a big deal that the sheriff was there investigating the theft. It was staff that did the stealing. The management never came to our room to ask what happened...very shady place! And don't jump in the pool...you will be grounded by the staff and their cameras will see you, but can't see the theft.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michellefig360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnboutin, Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
It is disheartening to read this review. Windjammer has been a family business for over 30 years and to have an individual resort to name calling and accuse our staff of stealing is deplorable, mean spirited and hurtful. Never in our history has an incident like this ever happened.

Our record speaks for itself and yet because this individual, who has the freedom to write whatever they want about us, chooses to publish a review that is contrary to what they stated in the police report they filed, it undermines the reputation of both our establishment and our Town in the eyes of travelers who are researching locations and lodging properties on Trip Advisor. To those individuals who are reading our reviews and considering us for their stay, please consider all our reviews and know that Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, because of its size and police presence, is one of the safest places and has some of the fastest emergency response times in the Country.

We do not deny the fact that this individual’s purse is gone, but we do categorically deny that a break-in into their room occurred or that a staff member took the purse. It is clear from the police report that she lost track of her purse and could not remember bringing it into the room when they retired for the night.

We are saddened that michellefig360 lost her purse and belongings but we cannot stay silent when uncorroborated accusations are made against our establishment and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This was a last minute decision by my parents to trade in their timeshare week for the Windjammer. They aren't huge fans of FL, but they knew how much I frequent and love south FL so they were willing to give it a try. My boyfriend and I joined them for part of the week. and we all had an absolute blast. We stayed in unit 9, which has a pleasant patio and view of the ocean from there. The room was great - it felt more like staying at a friend's house than a condo. It was incredibly clean. A housekeeper comes by daily, trading in towels and linens, running the dishwasher, and ensuring no sand is found on the floors from our prior beach day! The kitchen was stocked with everything we could have needed for our time there. My parents said their bed was more comfortable than the new one they have at home, and my boyfriend and I slept very well on the trundle bed in the living room. When heading to the beach, an umbrella, towels, and comfy beach chairs are available - an awesome perk! The resort is on a quiet side street and only a five minute walk from the town's restaurants, bars, and shops. Needless to say, my parents were extremly pleased and have fallen in love with Lauderdale by the Sea. They are already planning their next trip back to the Windjammer - I don't think they'd come back to the area and stay anywhere else! We'll be sure to join.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I use to live in Lauderdale by the Sea and as I was looking for a residence, I happened to come across Windjammer. Guests who came to visit me who I did not have enough room for, I would always use Windjammer. Since I moved and the 3/4 times that I came back to the area I have used Windjammer. It is a GREAT place to stay, centrally located and Guest friendly. 2 pools and right on the beach. I have stayed in a studio all the way up to the suites facing the beach and I have not had a bad room. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Lauderdale by the Sea area. Aruba's, Blue Moon, Village Pump, Seawatch are all places to drink, eat and look at the Atlantic or Intercostal

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Windjammer has spectacular hospitality! The room was great and the patio was even more magnificent!! Your staff was so nice and couldn’t have helped us more!! The grounds are kept so clean and meticulous, and had everything we could have wanted, chairs and umbrellas for the beach, toys for kids, bbq, swings, 2 pools!! A very family-oriented resort!! The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed, including a cork screw to open our wine!! The beach was kept very clean and had places to shower off the sand! We were thrilled with our stay!! We will be telling all our friends, both from Florida and out of state, to come stay at this cozy resort!! Thank you for a great stay!!

Room Tip: The room with the magnificent terrace overlooking the ocean is spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronni4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Property: Windjammer Resort
Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing