We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters weekend”
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at this adorable resort for a short weekend and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and nice the room was. The grounds and pool area are beautiful and right on the beach! The girl in the office was friendly and helpful and i enjoyed my stay so much that I can't wait to come back. The area is great too. Lots of shopping and entertainment within walking distance of the windjammer. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Windjammer Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent place to stay, very clean and modern rooms.Staff is very receptive.Had room facing ocean, very beautiful view.We love vacationing in Lauderdale by the Sea and this hotel is only 2 minute walk to restaurants and all other attractions. Cant wait till next year so we can stay there again.Has full kitchen if you choose to eat in!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the ocean view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My first time at Windjammer was spring 2013. Back again in fall the same year. After my fall trip I immediately booked a spring trip for a whole week. The cleaning staff is excellent and quick to pick up on peoples schedules. Very clean rooms and they're right on the beach. Only a block away from the downtown area too. For a few day trip I don't even rent a car.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Hherzog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

WE have been coming to the Windjammer Beach Resort for 31 years. Every year it get gets better. Always clean. Friendly Helpful Improvements every year. Close to many resturants one block away. Quiet. Safe. Good walking. Biking.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A very clean, quiet and easy place to stay & relax for my wife and I. No need for a car unless you need to run around the area for other reasons. A short / maybe 2 minute walk to the village, which has enough to keep you occupied for a week when you're not at the beach or by the pool. The 1 BR unit was more than adequate for just the 2 of us. More bodies would definitely require more room / BR's. The unit was very clean, well appointed. You could basically show up with your clothes & a toothbrush and be all set! They supply beach chairs & umbrellas too! Definitely would & probably will stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a fantastic property. Right on the beach, accommodating staff, great housekeeping. They provide chairs for the beach, towels, etc., and the units have furnished kitchens. On site laundry if you need it, literally a block from the center of town, Walgreens nearby that has pretty much whatever you need. Still a quiet and really intimate place, even all the guests are incredibly friendly. Great value also for being right on the beach. Very safe to walk around in this area and at this property. I will totally come back here. Just fantastic.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the map on their website for views, floors, etc. Website was really helpful...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aimee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We just had our second visit to this great property. The first time was excellent and this stay was just as good. I think this is probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed in and the staff is absolutely great - very friendly and helpful.

There was nothing lacking - the location on the beach is perfect, the room had everything we needed and it is located close (walking distance in many cases) to many great restaurants and stores. High quality beach chairs and umbrellas are also available and free to use. It is also just a short drive down A1A to get to the Intercostal Waterway Water Taxi which I highly recommend.

Since we last stayed at the Windjammer they have done some upgrades including new beds which are very comfortable. I also noted while we were there that they have begun to replace/update some of their other furniture. They definitely take maintenance very seriously.

We love the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood area and we are very pleased that we have found the perfect place to stay when we visit. No need to consider staying anyplace else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but we prefer rooms on the South side of the building for their views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KuhRAHLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#10 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: £119 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing