We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”
Review of Southern Seas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Seas
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Recently spent a week between Christmas and New Years at Southern Seas and the overall experience was incredible! The room was spacious and conveniently located to the pool and the beach. The staff and management were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating at all times. The restaurants and nightlife were all within walking distance and we always felt safe walking there and back.

I plan to go back later this year and recommend Southern Seas to everyone! Check out the pictures that I have uploaded below...That was the view from our front door! A big thanks to the staff at Southerns! We will see you soon =)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmickey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
44
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Visited Southern Seas Resort this past March and had a wonderful time. The pool was clean and the room had a great view of the ocean. I also really enjoyed how clean and low key the beachfront was...without the congestion you do find a bit south in Lauderdale. I truly enjoyed my stay here and already booked another week for early September! The value was right-on and the manager really helpful in making my stay comfortable. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMcConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I have had the privilege to stay at the beautiful Southern Seas Resort (formerly Souters) for the past several years. Each visit has been very pleasant. This past year was exceptional. Lily, the manager and the staff were all very kind and helpful with whatever may have been needed. I can't thank you enough for your fine hospitality! :)

The new landscaping is just beautiful. A special thank you to Duke for taking such great care of the grounds. :)

The condo I stay in every year is #36. The best view ever, "Smack Dab" on the beach, no kidding! The interior is very nice, updated in decor, and very clean, wall to wall windows looking at the ocean, a beautiful sunrise every morning. You need to experience this for yourself. You won't be disappointed! :) :)

Thank you again for such a wonderful stay.

Sincerely,
Joni Vernier :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterfly1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Although management was friendly and cooperative our room left much to be desired.
The wall air conditioner blew cold air on the bed. Some of the bathroom fixtures were falling off the wall. Although some of the windows had screens, we were unable to open them. We also found ants in the kitchen area. The outdoor pool was so warm it wasn't refreshing at all. It was almost like being in a hot tub.
In all not worth the money they charge. The room needs some TLC.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieAnn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Just returned from stay at Southern Seas Resort and could not have been more pleased. Stayed in room 15 with a great view and VERY large accommodations. Extremely clean and updated room with full fridge, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker and kitchen dishes so we could eat breakfast and lunch in. They also have gas grills and they lend you all utensils. The staff/owners of this facility are the most accommodating of any place I have been and we travel extensively. The other guests who go there each year treated us like family as well. If there was anything we needed, they offered it. Price was very reasonable.

The beach is wide and clean and right out the door. Beach proximity is so key when you travel to the ocean so this place is perfect. For divers and snorkellers, there is a reef that is about 100 yards offshore and very easy to swim to.

Location is within walking distance of restaurants, shops and pier. Both Aruba's and Seawatch restaurants plus Kilwin's ice cream shop are not to be missed. No need for a car here, even the Publix is only 1/2 mile away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesunCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed in room 36 which had a beautiful view of the beach from every window and from the bed. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable, not hard nor too soft. Though we could have used more vanity space in the bathroom the large shower, no tub, made up for it. The kitchen had everything needed to prepare a meal, there was even an oven. This room also had its own little patio area with table and chairs. Management was friendly and the grounds are well kept. Great restaurants are within walking distance. Note that the beach is wider here than south of the pier which made it feel a lot less crowded.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marayga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12 Buckout road west harrison new york
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2009

we stayed at the white caps before wilmer ,Kay Lanni advised us about Souters, and my wife and myself are ver glad she did recommend it to us.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Seas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Seas

Property: Southern Seas
Address: 4520 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Seas 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Seas is located directly on the ocean with one of the largest beach frontages in Broward county, including over 150 ft of private beach overlooking the Atlantic ocean. Close to fun & yet far away from the crowds. Start the day relaxing by the ocean under our palm trees. Enjoy a nice swim in our heated swimming pool, or walk our expansive beach. We can assist you with connecting with many of the activities in the area, like snorkeling, diving, exploring our revered treasure, the three natural living coral reefs, just 100 yards off-shore. We offer free parking, beach chairs, wi-fi. Many have made their stay a tradition. Join us at this beautiful piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Seas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Souters Hotel On The Ocean
Southern Seas Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing