We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with beautiful views!”
Review of Southern Seas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Seas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Had a great time at the Southern Seas it is the perfect location for families, couples, and friends! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the grounds clean and well kept, rooms spacious and comfortable, and the best part for me was the location right on the beach! Every morning we would walk to the grocery store, have breakfast on the patio out front which looks onto the ocean, and then walk right onto the beach for the day (they also provide lounge chairs on the beach which was great). You can also walk into town from the resort which is super cute and has great shops and restaurants. Overall great experience and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor with a kitchen and it was great we used the kitchen everyday!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaitMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Southern Seas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

I just got back from staying at the Southern Seas resort with 5 of my girlfriends in Unit 23 & 37 which are connecting rooms and it was an amazing/relaxing weekend.

I listed my favorite things about staying here:

1. The room has a nice kitchen and big fridge so you don’t have to eat out for every meal
2. The room has an outdoor patio that you can have breakfast or cocktails while looking at the beautiful ocean view
3. The pool is so nice - they keep it warm and very clean so you can enjoy at night and day!
4. The staff is very friendly and helpful - just visit the front desk! I stayed in unit 23 & 37 with 5 people and I was able to get a nice cot and/or blow up mattress which was perfect! They also provide beach towels and have kitchen supplies in unit 37 which was so nice to not have to pack
5. This hotel is 5 min walking from Publix the grocery store and 5 min walking from bar's and night life ( I suggest Aruba or The village.)
6. Saving the best for last – THE BEACH IS HEAVEN…you literally walk out your door on to the beach which is so nice and not too crowded. The resort has free lounge chairs if you don’t want to lay in sand!

Overall this was quite the gem and I would definitely go back! Thanks Southern Seas!

Room Tip: unit 23 & 37
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meghanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Loved our stay here. Beautiful views of the ocean and great walking beach.
Ocean front efficency was very clean and new. Great service and the resort manager Lily was very helpful and accommodating. Very convenient for walking to town and restaurants
Cannot wait to return!
Florida resident

Room Tip: Loved the full oceanfront efficiency room 36.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank delray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was our first time at Lauderdale By The Sea and at this hotel. We were a family of four adults and a grandchild who is not quite two years old. We had room 115 and 117 which were adjoining. The rooms directly faced the ocean and the pool and had a full kitchen and living room and dining room. We couldn't have been happier with the rooms, the vicinity and the management. Everything we needed was a short walk away. We stayed here prior to cruising out of Fort Lauderdale and it is not too far of a shuttle ride from the airport. We had a great time at this hotel and would definitely go back and refer our family and friends. One thing that needs to be addressed in the rooms are the air conditioners. They are not kept very clean. We thought that there was mold on one of them but it was just a build up of dirt and grime. Other than that, it was great

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ficklefemale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed with Lily, the manager, for the 3th time in a row and we loved it. The resort has all kind of rooms with or without kitchen, small or large, whatever you need.
You live directly on the beach and the pool is really nice and warm.
Restaurants, Publix, Walgreens in walking distance.
Every morning we got a newspaper. Rooms were all tidy and clean. The maid does a great job.
Would not recommend this place (Lauderdale by the Sea that is) for people with children. Mostly elderly couples and the surf is pretty rough. Watch out for riptides. No life guard on duty in this town.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DutchNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Location was fantastic! Friendly staff (and guests!) Spacious room with most everything you could need. Room was dated, but was fine since we were constantly in and out from the beach and pool. Nice walk to everything in town and beach was close (right outside our door) and clean. Wonderful to have towels and beach chairs provided. Quick maintenance and a newspaper every morning! Only thing I have a complaint about is detail cleaning (under bed, bed frame, glass on pictures) could be done more often. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elenvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have going to Southern Seas (formerly Souter's) once or twice a year for well over 10 years. Each time we pull up to the resort we feel as if we have arrived home. The location in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is perfect...a very short walk to terrific restaurants and little shops. It is directly on the ocean with a fantastic view of sunrises and a lovely pool that is very private and extremely well maintained. The town also keeps the beach very clean and does a sweep of the sand every morning. The resort itself is peaceful, and as my husband says, we look forward to our 10 day visit every September because we "fly down and plop." In addition to the restaurants there is a Publix and CVS within walking distance. The resort itself is clean and a nice size, not one of the high rises that are located in surrounding towns. The entire staff is super...compliments to Rae and Jackie who fill in for Lily who is a terrific manager. She is so competent and takes care of anything we may ask right away. Her smile is a ray of sunshine on even a cloudy day. Through the years we have become acquainted with some of the owners of a few of the units and just love the friendly atmosphere. We always feel welcome and relaxed. Located just north of Ft. Lauderdale, we frequently drive in there for dinner and have found many restaurants that we love especially in the Las Olas area. However, after dinner we are always happy to return to our peaceful room on the ocean. I am also a big walker and love walking the "Galt Mile" in the morning watching the sun come up. Obviously from the length of this review I cannot say enough good things about Southern Seas so...head on down and give it a try, you will love it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank siralex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#10 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Seas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Seas

Address: 4520 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: £89 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Seas 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Seas is located directly on the ocean with one of the largest beach frontages in Broward county, including over 150 ft of private beach overlooking the Atlantic ocean. Close to fun & yet far away from the crowds. Start the day relaxing by the ocean under our palm trees. Enjoy a nice swim in our heated swimming pool, or walk our expansive beach. We can assist you with connecting with many of the activities in the area, like snorkeling, diving, exploring our revered treasure, the three natural living coral reefs, just 100 yards off-shore. We offer free parking, beach chairs, wi-fi. Many have made their stay a tradition. Join us at this beautiful piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Seas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Souters Hotel On The Ocean
Southern Seas Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing