We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION!!!”
Review of Southern Seas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Seas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed here for one night, with my two small kids. The location was amazing, right on the beach. We walked to everything. The pool was clean and nice. Our room was HUGE! It was perfect for what I needed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tgreist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

I am so happy that I found the Southern Seas Resort. Thanks to all who had posted reviews here to help me find bliss. I stayed in an efficiency with a wonderful view of the private stretch of beach. That room is now a happy place in my head. Clean, well-appointed, and beautiful view. The office staff is helpful and caring. You can also tell that they take pride in the resort! They provide beach towels and you can drag lounge chairs down to the water for freeeee. The pool is a little small but warm, clean, and has a great view. The pool area is cute and has plenty of umbrella-tables and lounge chairs. Easy walking distance to Lauderdale's dining/shopping/nightlife. My entire stay was Lovely, Lovely, Lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LisaLisa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

First time visiting the area and this resort. We had an efficiency on the street side. Room was comfortable, and large enough for our family of 3 ( 1 being a 15month old). Hotel staff was very helpful and accomidating, rooms were cleaned daily and any request were promptly taken care of. My one minor complaint was that the pool florr was very rough, i would suggest aquashoes if you have sensative feet. the beach was clean and the plenty of chairs were available. THey also have a few boxes filled with water toys that people have left behind, check this before you buy some of your own, we didnt see them til afterward. If you need toys there is a dollar store in the same plaza as the grocery (which was considerably higher priced than what i am used to in the philadelphia area) Very quiet area almost felt bad having the crying baby on a few occasions, but no one seemed to mind much. Town was just a few short blocks away with plenty of dining, we walked there twice daily, supermarket wasnt far either. Make sure you try out Alexsandra's Caribbean Cafe just a few blocks out of town, excelent jerk chicken, and Keese's Simply Delicious. Both are very reasonably priced and excellent food, not for a fancy sitdown meal but great for a family.

The surf was fairly rough while we were there so i cant comment much on the ocean but we did enjoy the sand (courser than what we are used to in NJ, but very clean and almost had the whole area to ourselfs, and the ocean being just a minute walk from our room was a huge advantage and a main reason we chose this area as opposed to Ft. Lauderdale itself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamonk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times. No complaints! Rooms are always clean, staff is wonderful, and the beach is pure heaven. You can't go wrong staying at this property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bahamagirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is our third time staying at this hotel. We stayed in room 32 this time which had a slight view of the beach but the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in at a motel (if you like a soft bed). Some of the furnishings could be replaced as they are showing their age but it was clean and having a full kitchen is always nice amenity. We love this hotel for its location, beach, and the fact they provide free lounge chairs for use on the beach. You are within walking distance to restaurants and ice cream, gotta love that! The beach is wider north of the pier and there is less of a crowd at this section of the beach. The hotel is quite, the grounds are well kept, and the small pool is refreshing. Well be back next year!

Room Tip: Room 36 has a fantastic view but book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marayga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

large comfortable room (we had an efficiency) perhaps not the most modern or glamorous, but clean and reasonably priced. good location for walking to the modest shopping and dining on the beach. more options just a little further. located on a rare couple of blocks of El Mar without mammoth, unappealing condos to block the sun. staff was very helpful and friendly. warmest heated pool I've ever been in, and it was terrific. highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2012
6  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I went here with a group of girls and stayed in 23 and 37 and we had such a great time! It's a wonderful location: it's on the beach, close to all the restaurants and shops, and walking distance to the grocery store! Everything was very clean and the staff at the resort were very helpful! I would recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: I would recommend 23 and 27. They were connecting rooms and we coud fit 6 girls here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#19 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Seas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Seas

Address: 4520 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: £59 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Seas 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Seas is located directly on the ocean with one of the largest beach frontages in Broward county, including over 150 ft of private beach overlooking the Atlantic ocean. Close to fun & yet far away from the crowds. Start the day relaxing by the ocean under our palm trees. Enjoy a nice swim in our heated swimming pool, or walk our expansive beach. We can assist you with connecting with many of the activities in the area, like snorkeling, diving, exploring our revered treasure, the three natural living coral reefs, just 100 yards off-shore. We offer free parking, beach chairs, wi-fi. Many have made their stay a tradition. Join us at this beautiful piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Southern Seas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Souters Hotel On The Ocean
Southern Seas Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing