We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here if you're in Lauderdale by the Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stay here if you're in Lauderdale by the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This is a great place to stay. We have previously stayed at another place in LBTS in December and it seemed old and worn. Not the Sea Lord. We had a regular room for one night and it was really nice--soft sheets, great plush comforter, a separate vanity area from the bathroom, there was a microwave and small fridge. Everything was super clean and looked new. My husband liked that there was a safe that was easy to figure out. I would have preferred the TV across from the bed but it was fine. The pool was also very clean and delightful, and of course, the hotel is right on the ocean and the private beach is lovely. I did not even know until we were there that breakfast was included, and that was convenient--the fresh fruit was that--fresh. There was some noise from our neighbors, but it was after 8:00 AM and we were awake, so that was all right. One point off for the somewhat snarky guy who checked us in, making it obnoxiously clear we had to check out by 11:00. Ok, we got it! I might have sensed that people who stayed for one night weren't appreciated as much as people who stayed four nights. On the other hand, the woman at the front desk who printed out directions to the restaurant we wanted to go to was very helpful. We live in Miami and enjoy a getaway now and then. We will be back.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank needmorevacationdayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    83
    23
    17
    10
See reviews for
75
94
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Checked in, hotel was under construction, and lobby was not clearly marked. Check in was a breeze, very friendly desk people. Room was small, but ok. For the most part it was pretty clean, the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner though. The price paid definitiely did not equal what I thought the room was worth.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingVet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandwich,ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

recently back from the sealord. nice little hotel right on the beach that is within walking distance of several restaraunts/bars. had a great time. the staff was very helpful and friendly. always a smile on their faces. booked a king standard room with no ocean view or balcony. this was fine for us as usually we spend all day on the beach. the bed was comfortable and the room was clean and modern.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on your recent stay at The Sea Lord Hotel & Suites.

We are delighted to know that our staff provided you with attentive service and that you also admired our beautiful property. All our rooms are updated, clean and tastefully furnished, extending the utmost comfort for any type of traveler. But, what makes us so special is an amazing location. 150 feet of private beach lay in front of you when you step from the pool deck. I'm sure that's where you had been spending most of your time. We are looking forward to see you again!

Sincerely,
Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Recently my husband,myself and our 8 year old daughter decided to take an overnight trip to the beach 30 minutes from our home. We wanted to spend time in the sun and on the beach. So we chose this hotel based on a recommendation from an older friend of ours who heard about it. Unfortunately she did not see it, so we booked it based on the pictures from the website.However, they only showed large rooms or suites and when we booked they only had a deluxe standard room available and normally rents out for 4 nights minimum, but they said we could have it for the one night (Sunday) that we would be there and charged us $180 + tax. The hotel itself was not glamorous but it was clean and we felt it would suffice for one night. That was util we saw our room, that was when we found it. It was tucked in a corner behind a door that said 403-404 but did not have the card key lock so we asked for help and the housekeeper opened the door for us and we were in a tiny little alcove with another door to room 403, we were 404. When we entered the room we were majorly disappointed ,it was smal dark and smelled.We had no balcony and our only windo looked out on the public walkway for hotel guests. The people next to us (snowbirds) had full kitchens and everything they cooked seeped into our air vent into our room. In the morning we heard the people on the otherside of us go to the bathroom, brush there teeth, we could smell the mint, make coffee we could smell that also and then came breakfast all of the smells from both rooms. We left that room at 8:30 am and never returned! Our recommendation is to ask to see the rooms before signing anything and if they try to put you into room 404 say NO.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fla1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share such valuable feedback as we find this to be a most useful tool in our efforts to continuously improve the service we provide to our guests. We have reviewed your comments and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

We have rooms of different sizes, ranging from standard rooms to oceanfront suites. While our guest rooms, the room type you reserved, are indeed smaller than our suites, we often receive positive reviews on the spaciousness of our accommodations. Indeed, our guest rooms are larger than most comparable hotels in the vicinity. Our guests have different needs during their stay and usually for shorter stays like yours they are willing to sacrifice space and views for just being able to walk from a pool deck right to the beach. Considering the difference in price between guest rooms and oceanfront rooms, it’s really worth it. How much time do you really spend in the room when it’s 80 degrees outside and the ocean awaits you? If we had had any oceanfront apartments available at that time, you would have enjoyed your stay more. I regret that it wasn’t a pleasant experience for you. I have noted the areas we can improve on and have addressed them with our entire management team.

I hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and will look forward to having you stay with us again. Kindly, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at (954) 776 1505, or at reservations@sealordhote.com, when you need another beach getaway and I will be happy to take care of all of your arrangements. I’m sure you can have a better experience with us.

Regards,
Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

If you want total relaxation, location,beachfront, friendly atmosphere, breakfast complimentary, and sharing conversations with people whom many are returning guests year after then I would highly recommend this facility. It is remarkable everything is spotless. The hotel has gone through a complete renovation. Hospitality from the owner Emil and his staff is terrific. You are only a few short blocks from the Town Square of Lauderdale by the Sea with an impressive array of restaurants and shops. The town is quaint and vibrant every Friday evening with a closed down square with musical entertainment.
During our stay the maintenance staff was always checking hallway lights, watering plants, or attending to other areas of the hotel. That is impressive. Everyone takes pride in their role. Breakfast include fresh eggs,fruit, bagels, waffles. and sausage.
The pool is relaxing and is kept at a temperature where you can just step in. More improvements are going on with a brand new lobby. Finding something this nice was truly a blessing. I will return.
We hated to pack and return home to winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobcatTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I totally agree with all the excellent reviews and comments on the high quality of the Sea Lord Hotel ( Location, staff team, rooms and cleanliness).
My Husband and I just came back from our 3rd journey there since january 2010.
We have been staying in many very good hotels around the world for business or vacation in the past 30 years, and the Sea Lord still comes one of the first in all aspects.
The guests we met at the Sea Lord seem to be as happy and charmed than us.
We highly recommend it to our best friends for their next trip to Florida.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soleil094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Sealord 5 times now, most recent for four days ending New Years day 2011. The place is perfect. It is clean, quiet and the rooms are wonderful. We stay oceanfront where the ocean view off the balcony is breathtaking and so peaceful. The Sealord is a 10 minute walk to several outstanding restaurants, bars and shops. It is a very safe area to walk around any time of day. We also enjoy sipping our morning coffee on the balcony as the sun rises then making breakfast right in our room before stepping outside for a relaxing day at the beach. All of the staff is super friendly and always available, although Olga and her smile greeting us each time we arrive is our favorite. The Sealord is the best place on the beach in Lauderdale by the Sea. We plan to stay whenever we need a fun time at the beach that makes us feel like we are right at home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you for your terrific comments about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is always gratifying to hear our repeat guests give such glowing remarks.
All I can say is we are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Property: Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing