We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
North Olmsted
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ocean Paradise”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was our first stay, although we visited friends here in 2012, and we loved it. The weather in March was cool but the stay was all we could want. Our beach front room was lovely but the palm trees obstructed our view.

One suggestion is in the renovated shower, it was not handicap outfitted as there were no bars to hold onto - would not pass Federal inspection. Small item so easily fixed and must have been overlooked by the contractor. As others have reported, Internet was spotty and limited to two devices per room. But we were not here to surf the internet as the beach was right at our doorstep.

What a lovely hotel and such a nice time to relax and enjoy the escape from cold Ohio winters!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceW425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Bruce,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us last month. I am happy to hear we were able to provide you with an exceptional stay at the Sea Lord Hotel & Suites and that you thoroughly enjoyed our location and amenities.

We have improved our internet network since you stayed here. It is still limited to two devices per room but the speed is much faster now. Also, we have handicap rooms on the ground floor that have bars installed. It is not a requirement to have them in all hotel rooms, but just handicap suites. However, we have been installing them in other rooms to accommodate our guests’ requests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Olga Monson
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    86
    25
    18
    12
See reviews for
80
100
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed 4 nites in Room 500. Just enough room for everything. But wouldn't stay in this room for a long stay. Parking can be a challenge in the hotels lot, but they are using one across the street if the hotels lot is full. Pool area is small but nice, they have lounge chairs available for the beach (small fee required). Also provide pool towels, no charge. Continental breakfast is provided & I was pleasantly surprised at what was offered. More than the usual. They also have an inside lounge/bar area where you can get drinks or espresso. Will be back in Oct, & have reserved a larger,ocean front with balcony.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the ocean. Can negotiate a slightly better rate when calling direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us at the Sea Lord Hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast, pool amenities and your room. You will be blown away by the view from the direct ocean front suite with a balcony. I'm glad you chose it for your stay in October. We are looking forward to see you again in few months!

Best Regards,
Olga Monson
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I just returned from 7 nights at the Sea Lord and will definitely be returning again next year. The location is great as it is close to the restaurants, shops and center of Lauderdale by the Sea, the room (2nd floor King with kitchenette) was immaculate with a great view, the morning breakfast was a great way to start the day in the clean and well furnished lobby and dining area and the people were attentive to your needs and promptly took care of any concerns.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micknavy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We arrived early and were able to check in but later that evening while climbing into bed we noticed that the sheets were dirty. We requested new ones but then had to replace them ourselves. When booking the hotel we also wanted one that was nonsmoking and one that had a restaurant on site. According to their website their restaurant was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast was good and was complimentary but it was not open for lunch or dinner. The website has since been changed to be accurate but it was not accurate for our booking and arrival which was disappointing. Regarding the smoking it was allowed on the pool deck and on other guests decks that were above the pool just not inside or so we thought. One of the evenings the owners(so we were told) were inside smoking in the same room with a sign that said "thank you for not smoking" While booking it I was informed that it was a nonsmoking hotel so of course were not happy with it being a smoking hotel. I sent an email to them and they had excuses for the smoking and blamed the dirty sheets on our early check in when we weren't hurrying to get in our room. We were just fine hanging out in the lobby or on the pool deck while the room was finished. Those were the bad points. However the view and access to the beach was incredible and the front desk staff were very nice and helpful. I was just expecting more for what we paid

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all guest feedback and welcome constructive criticism as it enables us to improve our service and accommodation. Please allow me to apologize for your disappointment over your stay. We hold ourselves to the highest hospitality standards and strive to ensure guest satisfaction. I’d like to take this opportunity to address and hopefully alleviate some of your specific concerns.

First of all, we apologize about the housekeeping issues in your room. We always make sure that every room is inspected thoroughly before the guest checks in. We work on improving the housekeeping service by having regular trainings and rooms’ inspections to guarantee the highest hotel standards.

We certainly don’t do any “false advertising”. Our restaurant was opened, but limited to breakfast only at that time because of some permits delays that were simple out of our control. Our restaurant is now opened for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily from 8am till 10 pm.

Regarding smoking, there are no regulations that would restrict people from smoking on their balconies. Smoking is not allowed on the pool deck or inside the lobby, however we can not catch every smoker. People don’t always follow rules and it is the matter of bad manners and lack of respect to each other. All we can do is give a warning. And I will assure you that the people smoking in the lobby were not the owners of the hotel.

Thank you for compliments on our front-desk staff. They will be happy to hear that!

Again, we are just as disappointed as you that you did not enjoy your stay. I hope you will contact me directly, if you so desire, to discuss these matter further in hopes that I can make this right for you and your fellow traveler. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Best wishes,
Olga Monson
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

we recently booked 10 days at this resort. on the third day my father died suddenly. we had to make immediate arrangements to fly home. sea lord did not charge us for the unused days. i wish us airways was as accomadating. this speaks highly for the management and their customer service. this is what you look for in a place as anyone could have been in our situation. beside their being a class act, this is a top notch facility rooms are attractive and a good breakfast. we will be continual loyal customers

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perk722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We spent three nights during high season; the hotel was sold out. Despite it being so, it was mostly quiet and we enjoyed much more privacy than expected. The room was immaculate when we arrived; bedding was top quality. A bathroom window for daylight was pleasant, older hotels like the Sea Lord are less cookie cutter and have more character. Enough updates have been made to feel plenty comfortable in 2013, though. Plenty of space, as we were in a junior suite with small kitchen. The terry robes came in very handy for a beachfront stay.

Since the hotel is right on the beach, the prices were above what you'd expect to pay if it were located anywhere else for this level of hotel amenities. But we opened our french doors to a small private terrace with straight chairs and a small table, beyond which was a public (but mostly unused) terrace with lounge chairs and small tables, fitted in between palms and foliage; beyond which was the beach sand, and of course, the ocean. So if that sounds appealing to you, then it's worth every penny.

The outer windows (an entire wall of them!) are mirrored on the outside, so during morning hours we could go about our business getting dressed or otherwise preparing for the day while watching the sunrise or the joggers or the beach raking equipment out doing their thing. And it's nice to hang out on the beach but have everything you need (including private bathroom!) just a few steps away.

Sunrise was spectacular; laying in bed and there it is, in its full glory. Through the palm fronds. Nice.

Continental breakfast is included, but nothing to brag about. If you're ok starting your day with carbs, sugar, fat, and caffeine, it'll suit just fine. If you want protein or a good fresh fruit or juice selection, you might buy some supplies for your refrigerator and use them to supplement what is available.

On the third day, no one came to clean the room while we were out. Hotel staff did offer to take care of this when we sought out a fresh supply of towels, but we declined. Sometimes maid service every day is wasteful anyway---but it is included in the price of the room nonetheless.

Didn't use the pool, didn't use the exercise room. No other amenities to speak of. So when it's time for lunch or dinner or cocktails, unless you're working out of your refrigerator, it's a ten minute walk along the beach or along the sidewalk (very little traffic and quite safe for pedestrians) to the pier and center of all things food, drink, and souvenirs. We skipped the rental car on this trip and were very glad we did. Parking issues would have detracted from our enjoyment. Tough to get a wifi connection at night, even in good reception areas. They must limit the number of connections. Had no problem at all in the mornings.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 101, very quiet, very easy beach/pool access,Norht corner of the building. Nice terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheHollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed in one of the large suites that sleeps six. The accommodations were excellent with an incredible view. Right on the beach - could walk for miles. We also enjoyed the ability to walk to numerous restaurants. Lauderdale by the sea is quiet and geared more to families so our teenagers were a little bored. The hotel has seemingly gone thru some upgrades in the main lobby but other areas such as fitness room need a complete overhaul. Breakfast is adequate but the staff cold not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.8 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windjammer Resort
Windjammer Resort
#3 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Property: Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5419
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing