We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed and frustrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed and frustrated”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Let me first say we have been coming to the Sea Lord yearly for the past 10 years. We have always loved this property with its old charm flavor and excellent location. But this time we noticed many changes that Im forced to warn people about.
It seems to me the management is putting a lot of money and time into the common areas which are beautifully done, by the way. The pool and breakfast buffet very nice. But the Rooms are a disaster and thats where the money needs to be seriously put. We had one problem after another. First the previous occupants toiletries were still not removed from the bathroom upon our checking in and it looked like it hadnt been touched. The refrigerator ran lukewarm. There were no spoons in the kitchen but some were delivered prompltly upon reequest. The beds were very old and uncomfortable similiar to camp cots? I also found the bed linen cheap and questioned its cleanliness. And why does one bed completely block a dresser rendering it unusable? The rooms are sorely in need of a face lift. I cant say that enough. All the furniture is clearly very worn and circa 1960. The lamp in the bedroom flickered on and off. Towards the end of our trip the bathtub clogged up and water filled half way. My husband tried to see if something was jammed into it but nothing. We left it that way upon checkout. One day we found the maid's cleaning equipment in our room but NO service?
I do want to commend highly the front desk though. All our complaints were taken seriously and we could really tell they were trying very hard to remedy all the problems but quite frankly it just got ridiculous. We spent a lot of money to stay here for 2 weeks at a pricey 1 bedroom suite. Just simply not worth the money or hassle.
Sadly we will be taking our business down the street to the Costa del Sol next year to try them. It is with much sadness and fond former memories that we leave the Sea Lord.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebMarCur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    85
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
76
98
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice location lovely beach easy to get to town.....great little community. I was not super impressed with the beds(they were hard and cheap) and the room being in front of the elevator was noisy. The sheets were kind of dirty. But the place was clean and rebuilt. Also the breakfast was good and the pool was nice too. The grounds were lovely. Was just dissapointed with the beds and the dirty sheets.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PalmBeachNative77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Olmsted
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is our third time here, once as the day guests of dear friends, who recommended the Sea Lord. It takes us back a little in time as it is not as modern as the new, big box hotels, and that is not all bad. They attract a very nice clientele and we enjoy meeting new friends here.

My only suggestion, as it was last year, is to install safety bars in the baths, as this is an elderly crowd and with nothing to hold onto, it lends itself to unnecessary falls. I do believe the building code in most states now requires this. The baths have been renovated in some rooms and this was left out - easily corrected.

The housekeeping could be a little better with more attention to detail, but is overall OK.

Room Tip: Serving snacks etal in the afternoon would be a nice addition to the restaurant, which is only open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceW425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I'll make this quick and easy. We stayed here 4 nights over a busy holiday weekend.

Things we liked:
-view,
-on the beach,
-clean

Things we didn't like:
- No heat on chilly evenings and mornings - we froze in our room. When we tried to prop open the heavy hurricane glass door on the balcony to let in the warm morning sunshine, staff came and told us to close it. They said the doors had to remain shut to keep out the salt from the Atlantic. I did notice that many other hotels along the beach had sliding doors on the balconies that were open all day! Bathroom and bedroom windows opened onto a noisy, shady, cold sitting/smoking area.

- We love fresh air in our room when we stay in florida near the sea...hard to do in room 102!!

- Parking issues. They wanted to charge us $25/night for second car after I had asked and was told it was not a problem for my husband to bring his car. The staff were argumentative and rude.

- No pots or pans in our kitchen and very limited glasses and dishes, no dish soap and maid doesn't do dishes

- Staff abrupt.

- Drains in bathroom did not drain well. We reported them but nothing was done.

- Mattress saggy and uncomfortable

- No sun on patio or balconies after about 11 am, which I realize they can't control, but you have to pay for beach chairs to sit in the sun after that

**For the price ($300/night) this was quite a disappointing experience. The staff do not seem to realize that some people staying there have saved and sacrificed for a special retreat and vacation. They need to try to make it a little more magical rather than frustrating! Need to work on customer service!

Room Tip: Room 102 is in a cold dark corner. It is supposed to be handicap accessible, which we did not need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AggyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My sister recommended my husband and I stay here. We planned a last minute road trip without any hotel reservations, so we drove from MI straight to the Sea Lord and luckily we had a room there for our entire stay which was 8 nights. The hotel is right on the beach which is perfect and there's a nice little downtown area which is less than 10 minutes walking distance. Emile and the staff are super nice and friendly! We've never felt so comfortable and treated with such respect in a hotel besides when we took our honeymoon trip to bora bora. The rooms are nice and clean and the lobby has a beautiful cafe in it with a bar as well (I highly recommend a frozen frappe with a splash of vodka, Nina the bartender was great!) we will definitely be back if we travel to the lauderdale area. Thanks for the hospitality!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our room was not overly fancy but it was clean and had all the essentials including a comfortable bed, small fridge, microwave and safe. Unfortunately, the safe did not work - it said low batt. but I never reported this issue. By choice we had one of the smaller rooms with a view of the beach but no balcony. We had been at our timeshare condo for several days prior to checking in here. We own timeshare in Sunny Isles and often venture to this area to eat plus I love the Christmas decorations by the pier. This beach is less crowded and the water appears calmer. Would have been much better for my young grandson. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! You simply couldn't ask for a more perfect location. I really prefer the relaxed easy attitude of Lauderdale by the Sea vs. Sunny Isles. The Sea Lord is on the beach, walking distance to several good restaurants/ bars, souvenir shopping, Ice cream shop etc... I love this area but this is the first time we have ever stayed here. We were scheduled to be here for three nights, unfortunately, we had a major family emergency in Houston and tried to get a flight out a day early. Due to the crazy weather in the rest of the U.S. it was impossible to change our flights as early as we would have liked. I actually checked out a day early and headed to the airport to see what I could make happen. No such luck but the sweet girls at the desk held our room and all items we left as we rushed out. Thank goodness because I so needed a glass of wine after the crazy day. I have already recommended this hotel to friends as well as my daughter and son-in-law. We will certainly be back! I'm thinking this is the perfect place for families and even a girls weekend. Next time we'll reserve the larger suites with a balcony and separate bedroom. The employees are top notch. I can't thank them enough for their compassion and understanding in dealing with my tears and frazzled brain. Elevator was a bit scary but we never got stuck...

Room Tip: Look online at the map to choose the perfect room for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tym2Pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here with family for a few days before going on a cruise. The hotel was clean and the rooms spacious, with a small kitchen area. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and it was lovely to eat breakfast looking out on to the beach. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great, so we didn't get a chance to sunbathe, but we enjoyed our stay in Fort Lauderdale and would definitely stay at the Sea Lord again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windjammer Resort
Windjammer Resort
#3 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Property: Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5419
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing